We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great value accommodation with great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
Ranked #140 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great value accommodation with great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights over Easter. We knew we were on a budget but also that we didnt want to spend time in a luxurious hotel as. Wanted to see the Melbourne sights. Kingsgate was a great place to get our value for money as well as a clean and well presented hotel.

We asked the manager Rob to place us in one of the renovated rooms. He kindly upgraded us to a room with a queen bed and a sofa. This meant we had plenty of room. Our room was clean and presentable, and the hotel reception staff were extremely accommodating (also helping us with an extra room for a late member too our traveling party)

Rooms had foxtel on the tv which was a nice surprise. Got to watch a live rugby game one afternoon inbetween sight seeing

Our criticism with the room was that the window blinds weren't installed badly This allowed morning light to come right in over the bed. I was actually woken up each morning by the light.

If you want a great location and affordable accommodation I would definitely stay here. General Manager Rob seems to be serious about accommodating his guests requests and keeping a hotel running within its means. It's no crown towers or Langham, but for value for money this is right up there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Pedro400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    328
    426
    242
    196
See reviews for
251
327
222
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Catania, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Very central location for city trip and close to train station, but...fused lights, broken window curtains, dirty fridge and completely empty( neither a single bottle of water), the hairdrier has to be required at the reciption desk, damaged carpet moquet, windows glass unbelievably dirty. In addition to this, we got a letter from managment which mentioning that if we continue to smoke inside the room we will get a fine of 100 aud when both of us (myself and my husband) are not smoker. i will never reccomended this hotel

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peste1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKingsgate, General Manager at ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear traveller,

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at the ibis Styles Kingsgate. We’re disappointed to hear that you were unhappy with your time with us.

I’m sorry that you found our rooms of a poor quality. Our Superior rooms were refurbished in 2010 and have brand new furnishings and features. We are looking into the furnishings of all of the Standard rooms to assess your complaints.

Please accept my sincerest apology in regards to the miscommunication with the smoking letter being placed in your room. This is unacceptable and I will be talking to my staff and retraining them in the right procedures and the steps that should be taken.

I appreciate you sharing your concerns and I hope that you will give the ibis Styles Kingsgate the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Rob Unson
ibis Styles Kingsgate General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Pretty normal rooms, but good for a budget hotel. Wifi not available in the room but can access in the lobby for limited time .. rooms were clean and beds were good ..location is great and easily accessible .. Family room is spacious.. value for money..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank naheemu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

The hotel was to our expectation for economy accommodation on the Grand Prix weekend. The room was clean, the old air conditioner kept us cool and dry. The water was hot and the linen was fresh and clean. I particularly liked the cafe/bar/lounge on level 1. The meals were good value and the staff were friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Nakko_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We knew that we were booking a budget hotel but this was the worst budget hotel we have visited. The room had frosted glass (one cracked) which when open looked out onto a particularly grotty dirty internal courtyard and fire escape. The room was adequate and clean although I could only just squeeze between the bedside and wall and so there was no bedside table. Wifi was free for 30 minutes a day per device and worked well but only in the lobby and lounge above. You could pay (a lot) to use it in the room. But worst of all, there was a nightclub close by that was very loud and intrusive. The only way to get to sleep was to shut the windows, turn the air conditioning to maximum and wear ear plugs. This stay followed booking the Ibis Styles Hotel in Auckland only to arrive to find it boarded up for renovation. We were not happy campers!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catho2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

there was No toothbrush .
there was No slipper .
there was No city view .
However, the Breakfast is just okay .
the Location is good .
the King bed with single bed room suits couple with kid, I think .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Runlai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed 3 nights during Easter holiday:
Con:
the double bed room is extremely small-smaller than some hotels in HK!
tea cups were dirty and we received different dirty tea cups for 4 days, we had to rinse the cups again to get rid of tea/coffee stain
toilet/bathroom dirty. Mold visible around basin
no hair dryer available in the room
no free wi-fi
weak lighting

Pro:
affordable price--spent $295 for 3 nights during Easter
Location okay. 10~15 min walk to Melb CBD, also close to Southern Cross Station, Woolworths, Outlet centre, 7-11, and restaurants.
Staff were friendly

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Celiawho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKingsgate, General Manager at ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us at the ibis Styles Kingsgate, I’m sorry that the hotel did not meet your expectations.

I have alerted housekeeping of your complaints about bathroom being dirty and having mould around the basin. This is unacceptable and I sincerely apologise. We are looking into the fittings of all of the Standard rooms to assess complaints and the need of replacement.

I once again thank you for your comments as it allows us to better improve our hotel for you and for our future guests.

Sincerely,
Rob Unson
ibis Styles Kingsgate General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#111 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Central Business District
The Great Southern Hotel
The Great Southern Hotel
#128 of 157 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Hotel Sophia
Hotel Sophia
#144 of 157 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel

Property: ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
Address: 131 King St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly All Seasons Kingsgate Hotel)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1926, the ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, like Melbourne, provides a traditional European charm and service, together with modern facilities. Comprising of 171 rooms, equipped with in room Free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
All Seasons Melbourne
Accor Kingsgate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing