We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
Ranked #131 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed April 5, 2013

The hotel was to our expectation for economy accommodation on the Grand Prix weekend. The room was clean, the old air conditioner kept us cool and dry. The water was hot and the linen was fresh and clean. I particularly liked the cafe/bar/lounge on level 1. The meals were good value and the staff were friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Nakko_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,402)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

753 - 759 of 1,402 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013

We knew that we were booking a budget hotel but this was the worst budget hotel we have visited. The room had frosted glass (one cracked) which when open looked out onto a particularly grotty dirty internal courtyard and fire escape. The room was adequate and clean although I could only just squeeze between the bedside and wall and so there was no bedside table. Wifi was free for 30 minutes a day per device and worked well but only in the lobby and lounge above. You could pay (a lot) to use it in the room. But worst of all, there was a nightclub close by that was very loud and intrusive. The only way to get to sleep was to shut the windows, turn the air conditioning to maximum and wear ear plugs. This stay followed booking the Ibis Styles Hotel in Auckland only to arrive to find it boarded up for renovation. We were not happy campers!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catho2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

there was No toothbrush .
there was No slipper .
there was No city view .
However, the Breakfast is just okay .
the Location is good .
the King bed with single bed room suits couple with kid, I think .

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Runlai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed 3 nights during Easter holiday:
Con:
the double bed room is extremely small-smaller than some hotels in HK!
tea cups were dirty and we received different dirty tea cups for 4 days, we had to rinse the cups again to get rid of tea/coffee stain
toilet/bathroom dirty. Mold visible around basin
no hair dryer available in the room
no free wi-fi
weak lighting

Pro:
affordable price--spent $295 for 3 nights during Easter
Location okay. 10~15 min walk to Melb CBD, also close to Southern Cross Station, Woolworths, Outlet centre, 7-11, and restaurants.
Staff were friendly

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celiawho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKingsgate, General Manager at ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Traveller,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us at the ibis Styles Kingsgate, I’m sorry that the hotel did not meet your expectations.

I have alerted housekeeping of your complaints about bathroom being dirty and having mould around the basin. This is unacceptable and I sincerely apologise. We are looking into the fittings of all of the Standard rooms to assess complaints and the need of replacement.

I once again thank you for your comments as it allows us to better improve our hotel for you and for our future guests.

Sincerely,
Rob Unson
ibis Styles Kingsgate General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We travelled up as a couple, and were expecting something with a little bit more quality for the price we paid. The walls were very thin and it felt like we had no privacy, not to mention the noise from the air conditioning at night. The bathroom also was quite ordinary. Basiicaly it felt like a backpackers hostel. the positive things we found were: the front desk staff were polite, and it was a good central position to everything to the city. We won't be staying there again however.

Room Tip: be wary it doesn't have a car park there for you have to pay $25.00 to park your car a block awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodaa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKingsgate, General Manager at ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear traveller,

Thank you for your feedback and I’m sorry that your stay at the ibis Styles Kingsgate didn’t meet your expectations.
I sincerely apologise for the noise from the hotel that you experienced in your room during your stay. Unfortunately with the building being constructed in 1926 means we still have some piping and exhaust fan noise issues. We are currently working on a way to keep this noise to a minimum.
Unfortunately our CBD location means that we are unable to provide onsite parking. However, we do have a deal for our guests with the car park at Southern Cross Railway Station so that affordable overnight parking is available nearby, and you are more than welcome to leave your luggage here at the reception while parking your car.

Thanks again for the feedback and I hope that if we do welcome you back to our hotel that we are able to provide a more enjoyable stay.

Sincerely,

Rob Unson
ibis Styles Kingsgate General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

What is great about this hotel is location - directly in Melbourne CBD´s. It is close to everywhere. We booked the cheapiest room they offered and were satisfied. The room was quite big and clean, just a bit noisy at nights (air conditioning). The doors did not caulk well, there was a lot of light transmitted through. Would welcome larger breakfast with more variable offer - fruits, yougurts, cornflakes, jam, toasts are OK, but not so attractive for 6 consecutive mornings. Overall, good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorka_Z_Homolky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

First of all, do not forget to add an extra $25 for each day of staying here because this hotel has no parking. NO PARKING. Isn't it ridiculous? You will have to park a few blocks from the hotel and pay $25 each time you leave the parking lot.

Secondly, well I can assume that the cheapest room wouldn't be renovated and woudn't have a nice window view. But come on, people stay in hotels to het some sleep! Why to place your guests in a room with some giant fridges or something by the window which make a terrible noice all night long?

Also, thank you very much for the chance to carry our heavy suitcases on stairs to our room. Is it so difficult to make a ramp?

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKingsgate, General Manager at ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Marina,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, I am sorry to hear that it did not meet your expectations.

As an establishment built in 1926, unfortunately car parks were not the necessity they are now, but like most hotels around the CBD, we have attempted to have a parking option best suited for our guests. The $25 is actually per exit, as opposed to per day, so whilst most of our guests come to stay for multiple nights and take advantage of Melbourne’s fantastic public transport they find the option of great value, alternatively there are many other parking garages in the area that have casual rates.

I am also sorry to hear you struggled with the entrance, having a heritage listed facade, we unfortunately can not alter the front of the building. We have looked into installing a ramp to assist guests with heavy luggage and or physical challenges but unfortunately the grading of the steps is such that a ramp would create a greater hazard, that said the reception desk is manned 24 hours and the staff are more than happy to assist.

I once again thank you for your comments as it allows us to better improve our hotel for you and for our future guests.

Sincerely,
Rob Unson
ibis Styles Kingsgate General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Central Business District
The Great Southern Hotel
The Great Southern Hotel
#134 of 161 in Melbourne
671 reviews
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#115 of 161 in Melbourne
1,225 reviews
Central Business District
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel

Address: 131 King St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly All Seasons Kingsgate Hotel)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: $76 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1926, the ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, like Melbourne, provides a traditional European charm and service, together with modern facilities. Comprising of 171 rooms, equipped with in room Free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
All Seasons Melbourne
Accor Kingsgate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing