We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for the money.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
Ranked #134 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Brisbane
Level Contributor
55 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Value for the money.”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I had fairly low expectations of this hotel for the price I was paying, and found my stay above expectations. The room was warm and clean, bed comfortable and shower/toilet fine. While the room could have been cleaned a bit better (there was toilet paper covering the smoke detector and airline luggage tags stuck to a column in the middle of the wall), it was quite (I was in the back part of the hotel)

Breakfast was included and fine, with a nice basic selection, I found the staff at checkin to be courteous, efficient and helpful, with prompt service when leaving a bag as well as picking it up. The hotel is very handy to public transport including the skybus. I stayed mid week and was very happy overall.

Room Tip: Book online at the hotels website for free breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markis100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    355
    443
    252
    203
See reviews for
264
344
239
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Our stay was ok, staff (reception) weren't very friendly and helpful, Max who worked in restaurant (level 1) was great!. This type of accomodation i would classify as no frills, for example no biscuits with tea & coffee, no mini bar ( which is probably good anyway), no inhouse movies which would've been nice. Also there was no directory on phone to ring reception (Room 435). The room was slightly dusty, also location of room was loud ie banging of doors, humming of an A/C i think, it doesn't make for a good night's sleep!. We could hear outside noises (we might've been next to a laneway of some sort, noisy especially on the weekend! Continental breakfast could've included pastries just to add some variety but was ok.
I have to say Shampoo smells horrible ( cheap dishwashing liquid smell! ).Location was OK. Overall personally i wouldn't pay anymore than the rate we paid.

Yours sincerely
Fabrice Gautier

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bebop75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsgateHM, General Manager at ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Fabrice,
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at the All Seasons Kingsgate Hotel. We’re disappointed to hear that there were parts of your stay that left you unhappy.

We are a three star hotel and we aim to provide the essential services and amenities our guests need and we’re sorry if you felt this was a bit basic for you. I apologise for any problems that you had with our reception staff; we employ friendly, diligent and helpful people but there are some occasions when the hotel is busy where service can be slow and below average. This doesn’t happen often and I’m very sorry. I also apologise for the noise issues you had; we are working at ways to reduce both the external and internal noise at the hotel that can disturb our guests in the evenings.

I appreciate you sharing your concerns, and I hope that you will give the All Seasons Kingsgate Hotel the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Sincerely,
Rob Unson
All Seasons Kingsgate General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Best thing about this hotel was walking out the door. Room was revolting, no shower pressure (my pet hate). Noise from street relentless. Done a bit of plastering in my time and was pretty sure a dodgy repair job on what appeared to be bullet holes. Bed rock hard and i could hear the dude next door clipping his toe nails. Look if your on a tight tight budget for 1 night maybe ok but bring a Valium (maybe 4) and some ear plugs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DritzzDourdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsgateHM, General Manager at ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear traveller,
We’re sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your recent stay at the All Seasons Kingsgate Hotel. We hope that your feedback can help us to improve our hotel services.

I’m sorry to hear that you thought your room wasn’t up to standard. Our refurbishment of 2010 has tried to retain the elegance of the 1926 building while also modernising our rooms. To ensure you have the most up to date room type I would recommend booking one of our Superior rooms or asking reception whether a room change is available. I apologise for the holes that were plastered in your room and I can assure you they were not bullet holes.

I also apologise for the extra noise from within the hotel and outside of the building. We do our best to keep hotel noise to a minimum but appreciate that this can sometimes affect guests’ stays.

Thanks again for the feedback and I hope that if we do welcome you back to our hotel that we are able to provide a more enjoyable stay.
Sincerely,
Rob Unson
All Seasons Kingsgate General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I stayed for one night in order to caught an early flight.

Reception wasn't very friendly when I arrived - didn't offer any information about the area or room. You got the impression from them that they didn't enjoy or like their job. Not very approachable.
The room was small, bed very uncomfortable (you could feel the mattress springs), heater didn't work. From my check in experience - I couldn't be bothered calling Reception and ask about getting the heater fixed or requesting a room move. Only good thing about this room was the size of the bathroom!
I had a continental breakfast included with the rate however when I arrived at the breakfast room which was only half full but the spare tables still had dirty dishes and there was no staff anywhere to be found to assist.
Approached Reception for a map of the area ( I was going shopping) and Reception again didn't provide any additional information and when I asked for directions, Reception was hopeless.
Even trying to check out was hard work. Your receptionist was standing to the side of the desk talking to her friend. After a 5 minute of waiting I finally got to check out and pay my account.
I don't recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLS_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsgateHM, General Manager at ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear traveller,
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at the All Seasons Kingsgate Hotel. We’re disappointed to hear that you were unhappy with your time with us.

I apologise for any problems that you had with our staff at the hotel. We pride ourselves on our staff being friendly, diligent and helpful but there are some occasions when the hotel is busy where service can be slow and below average. This doesn’t happen often and I’m very sorry; we have made a note of your comments and will address them with staff at our next front office meeting.

I’m also sorry that you found our hotel rooms too small and uncomfortable. Our hotel does encompass a range of different room types and if availability allows our staff are always happy to discuss the option of a room move with you so that we can find a bigger room which is more to your liking.

I appreciate you sharing your concerns, and I hope that you will give the All Seasons Kingsgate Hotel the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Sincerely,
Rob Unson
All Seasons Kingsgate General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morwell
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This was a very old building. Rooms have been updated. Plenty of room good set up low outside noise levels. Great location for night club football and shopping. Free/parking at Casio short walk to Southern Cross railway station and airport bus transfer centre

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saintlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsgateHM, General Manager at ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear traveller,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the All Seasons Kingsgate Hotel, we’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us!

Your review touched on some of the key points of why we are such a great accommodation choice. We undertook a refurbishment in 2010 to modernise our rooms and make them more comfortable for our guests so I’m glad you found them to your liking. Location is also a key factor for any hotel and we believe we are ideally situated close to shopping strips, transport hubs, sports venues, restaurants and nightclubs.

We’re already looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel, thanks again for the positive review.
Sincerely,
Rob Unson
All Seasons Kingsgate General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#112 of 159 in Melbourne
1,150 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Central Business District
The Great Southern Hotel
The Great Southern Hotel
#133 of 159 in Melbourne
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
YTI Garden Hotel
YTI Garden Hotel
#138 of 159 in Melbourne
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel

Property: ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
Address: 131 King St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly All Seasons Kingsgate Hotel)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1926, the ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, like Melbourne, provides a traditional European charm and service, together with modern facilities. Comprising of 171 rooms, equipped with in room Free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
All Seasons Melbourne
Accor Kingsgate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing