We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the Vic markets”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Ranked #66 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed July 6, 2014

The rooms are quite, even with the road works right in front of the hotel. Very basic though and slight damage and dodgy repair work to the plastering. Its in a prime location with the Vic markets only a short walk away, and tram stops just down the road. The buffet breakfast was excellent and the staff friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Dear Nathan,

We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel and we are glad to hear that the roadworks that were on during your stay were not heard from your room.

We will have our Maintenance Manager check through the room you stayed in to be sure that any repairs are to the highest standard.

On another note, great to hear you enjoyed the breakfast and the service provided by our wonderful staff. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Tim Gibson
Hotel Manager
ibis Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,751)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

633 - 639 of 1,751 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2014

I was upgraded to the 1 bedroom apartment for a 4 night stay. The bedroom itself was larger than could be expected for an ibis, large bathroom and then there was the lounge / kitchenette. Plenty of space! Beds really comfortable too.
The kitchenette had a microwave, toaster and kettle, large fridge. Nothing to cook a meal really but perfect for making breakfast or bring takeaway back to the room Location was good - walkable from town up Elizabeth street - 20mins or so, or nearby the Elizabeth tram stop outside the markets. A little construction noise during the day but nothing to really impact the stay. Big heavy door kept hallway noise away. Friendly staff

Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank geeijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JadeIbisMelbourne, General Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Hi Geeijo,
It's great to read that you enjoyed your stay in one of our one-bedroom apartments. Those beds you were sleeping on were our new Ibis Sweet Bed; very comfortable indeed! We hope to welcome you back to Ibis Melbourne soon.
Tim Gibson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

If you are looking for a great value for money hotel that is ideal for families then this hotel is great. Walking distance from the best coffee in Melbourne at the Queen Vic market and easy walk to the museum station it is ideal for location. My hint would be to spend a little more and get an apartment room which has a great sitting area that converts to a bed, has a tv and a microwave etc. Although this hotel does not have its own parking and it is limited underneath there are heaps of easy access parking locations around the hotel. The breakfast was good and generous, especially when it comes to kids and hash browns! There is no gym at the hotel but their is a great facility at the Melbourne Baths and a bit of history whilst you are working out is always fun.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra and go for the apartment style room if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerrivv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JadeIbisMelbourne, General Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Hi Kerriw,
Fantastic to read about your amazing stay in one of our apartments. Thank you for commenting on your experience and mentioning how good our new breakfast is! We look forward to welcoming you back to Melbourne on your next visit.
Tim Gibson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Leanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Definitely a great option for a short stay. The hotel is clean, comfortable and the rooms, although a bit basic, have everything you need. Good location for Carlton and the university and surprisingly quiet, this is a good option for a hassle-free stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cass C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We appreciate such positive feedback! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay along with our fabulous location to lygon st, Melbourne Uni and the Queen Vic Markets.

We hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Tim Gibson
Hotel Manager
ibis Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Ended up here when a flight I was on was postponed. Got in late and left early. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet. The bed was comfy, the shower hot and the towels soft and new. The staff were welcoming and efficient, and made an awful travelling experience more bearable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatB65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear KatB65,

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay even under the circumstances of a delayed flight. We hope to see you again, this time for longer.

Sincerely,

Tim Gibson
Hotel Manager
ibis Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

My friends and I really enjoyed our stay here. We stayed for a couple of nights. The place looks like it has been renovated and is looking good. The service was also quite friendly and helpful. The room was of a decent size compared to other Ibis Hotels I have stayed at. The bed was also quite comfortable.

There was quite a bit of construction going on but luckily we were at the top floor so did not hear too much of it.

Location wise it is close to the Queen Victoria Market and about a 10-15min walk to the new shopping centre Emporium and Bourke St.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheTravelBug6753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the top review of our hotel! Its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us along with our fantastic location and friendly service.

We love the beds too, ibis Suite beds they are so comfortable.

We hope that you will come back to stay with us again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Tim Gibson,
Hotel Manager
ibis Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#39 of 161 in Melbourne
3,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Jasper Hotel
Jasper Hotel
#76 of 161 in Melbourne
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments

Address: 15-21 Therry St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#64 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $89 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Melbourne is well located within easy walking distance of the famous Queen Victoria Markets, the legendary Lygon Street restaurant precinct and the Melbourne Central Shopping district. Fully refurbished and boasting a fresh new look, ibis Melbourne features 250 rooms, including one and two bedroom apartments, a vibrant restaurant and bar, plus internet access and conferencing facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Accor Melbourne
Ibis Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing