We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean hotel well situated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Ranked #67 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Ibis always have clean rooms and helpful polite staff but what they can't seem to get right is their wifi service which is terrible. We travelled all over Australia and stayed at small and large hotels. The smaller ones all offered free wifi but the larger ones like Ibis all want to charge and the limited free wifi that they did offer hardly ever worked, funny that!!!!

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Wrights22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovani S, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear Wrights22,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently. It is always a pleasure to receive a positive feedback and I am glad that you overall enjoyed your stay with us.

Your feedback regarding our WiFi is very important, please rest assured that I will address your concern to the Management Team. Our service is our benchmark and it is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to monitor our service levels and hotel facilities to ensure we are maintaining and meeting our guest expectations.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,


Giovani Sayuti
Assistant Manager
Email: h1564-dm05@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,761)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

731 - 737 of 1,761 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed at the Ibis for 5 nights, it is a good location but nothing amazing. We arrived rather early so dropped our bags at the hotel, went for a wander around town and used the free internet at the computers downstairs until the room was ready. We were given a room with a double and a single bed, though clearly we were a couple and had booked a king. There was an issue with our breakfast being included daily, but they we were quick to get it sorted and did apologise on check out. There were a few small details which remind you you're not in a 5 star hotel, for example we had to go to reception to pick up extra towels, and I needed a band-aid but they didn't have one to give me. All in all it was adequate, and fine for a short stay, but I wouldn't rush to stay there again at the price we paid.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank budxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovani S, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear TheGunthers,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and taking the time to post your feedback.

Our service is our benchmark and it is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to monitor our service levels and hotel facilities. I do apologise for the inconvenience caused due to the issue with your bedding configuration. I am glad that we were able to quickly rectify the issue with your breakfast.

The comments you made regarding your stay with us are most appreciated. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from guests who have enjoyed their stay here at the Ibis Melbourne.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,


Giovani Sayuti
Assistant Manager
Email: h1564-dm05@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

What I need, as usual, is a quiet room, comfy bed, convenient location. Got all of the three! Was quite hapy there in general. The one and only downside was that I was not informed clearly that had I joined their advertised agency, the in-room wi-fi would have been free for me. I found the check-in a little too fast to process all information, and it seems I was not the only one - newly-arrived customers wondering about how to operate the lift (you have to use your room card) seemed a common site.

Room Tip: As how to get a free in-room wi-fi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OziExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovani S, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear OziExplorer,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Melbourne. It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I would like to apologise for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. Please rest assured that I will be addressing your feedback with the Reception Teams.

Our service is our benchmark and it is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to monitor our service levels to ensure we are meeting our guest expectations.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,


Giovani Sayuti
Assistant Manager
Email: h1564-dm05@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We needed a good night's sleep in a convenient location and our experience of the Ibis Melbourne made this a great decision. The hotel is a freshly renovated budget hotel in a great city. The rooms were clean and the bed comfort was outstanding. The bathroom was spacious, clean and well-appointed. There was no view from the room other than into an inner city light well - but that was fine for us. Service at the hotel was good and under hotel parking available at a fee.
The location is very good - right on the fringe of the CBD with a close walk to the historic Victoria Market and City Baths, trams down Elizabeth and Swanston Street and easy walking to key city attractions.
If the experience of the hotel itself is part of your requirement this might not meet your needs but is certainly a great base for exploring Melbourne.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovani S, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear Vicki S,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at the ibis Melbourne on Trip Advisor. It is pleasing to read that you had comfortable and enjoyable experience.

I have shared your positive feedback with all of our team here. It was great to hear that you enjoyed our central location and had the opportunity to visit the famous Queen Victoria Markets.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and I trust you next stay will be as enjoyable as your previous one.

Sincerely,


Giovani Sayuti
Assistant Manager
Email: h1564-dm05@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Hotel Ibis for 3 nights and enjoyed being so close to Queen Victoria Market and many restaurants.

Early bag drop off is welcome and lobby is comfortable. They also offer free wifi for 30 minutes a day per device.

Rooms are clean and comfortable.
Staff is helpful and pleasant!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank LizaKline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovani S, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Dear LizaKline,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Melbourne. It is pleasing to note that you enjoyed your stay and found the team friendly.

I have shared your positive feedback with the team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,


Giovani Sayuti
Assistant Manager
Email: h1564-dm05@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We did not expect much and were positively surprised. Yes, room is somewhat spartan, but for an Ibis it is a good size, enough space to unpack your luggage for instance. Comfortable bed and large bathroom. Knobs for hot and cold water should be done something about - lots of water wasted while adjusting the water temperature. Close to Victoria market, walking distance to central Melbourne and a block away from major car rental places. If the price is right would certainly consider next time in Melbourne.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PINELights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovani S, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear PINELights,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Melbourne. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Thank you for also mentioning our proximity to Melbourne tourist attractions around the Hotel.

The comments you made regarding your stay with us are most appreciated. I will address your feedback to our maintenance team to adjust the cold and hot knobs. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from guests who have enjoyed their stay here at the Ibis Melbourne.

Thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,


Giovani Sayuti
Assistant Manager
Email: h1564-dm05@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Great Price, location, facilities and amenities, cleanliness, comfort. They gave us an upgrade to a 2-bedroom all for the price of US$134.10. It is right beside the iconic Melbourne Queen Victoria Market so I was able to pop out and buy some things for breakfast and prepare it in the room. The only problem was that there was a full kitchen but no pots or utensils for cooking. Other than that, a great experience.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovani S, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Sue C,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Melbourne. It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay in our two bedroom apartment and had the opportunity to visit the famous Queen Victoria Markets.

I have shared your positive feedback with all of our team here. In our 2 bedroom apartment, we provide cook top and cooking facilities, please advise our friendly reception team if you require these facility in the room. I do apologise that you had not been informed of this prior to your arrival.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and I trust you next stay will be as enjoyable as your previous one.


Sincerely,


Giovani Sayuti
Assistant Manager
Email: h1564-dm05@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#42 of 161 in Melbourne
3,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Central Business District
Jasper Hotel
Jasper Hotel
#75 of 161 in Melbourne
1,125 reviews
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments

Address: 15-21 Therry St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#52 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#64 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $96 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Melbourne is well located within easy walking distance of the famous Queen Victoria Markets, the legendary Lygon Street restaurant precinct and the Melbourne Central Shopping district. Fully refurbished and boasting a fresh new look, ibis Melbourne features 250 rooms, including one and two bedroom apartments, a vibrant restaurant and bar, plus internet access and conferencing facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Accor Melbourne
Ibis Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing