We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for a Melbourne visit.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Ranked #70 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Normal standard middle class hotel in the middle of Melbourne. Perfect location. Equipped according to standards. Bathroom in perfect condition. Major negative point (service) is the fact that one has to pay for internet in the room ($22.5 per day). Only ½ hours free internet in the lobby. Most of the below this standard hotels we visited earlier had free internet!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibis_Hotel_Manager, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear P M,

Thank you for your review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our central location.

We do offer complimentary WiFi for all LeClub Silver, Gold and Platinum members. This was introduced on the 1st October 2013.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Jayesh Bala
Hotel Manager
Email: Jayesh.BALA@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,704)
There are newer reviews for ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

758 - 764 of 1,704 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2013

Spent two nights at this hotel for a conference. This hotel is very clean and modern and the rooms are well presented although basic which suited my needs. Located in a convenient location on the north end of the CBD it is a very short walk to the resturant district of Lygon St to the north or south to the middle of the city. One downside is the lack of parking below the hotel with a tiny area to park which is difficult to enter into and park. Anything larger than an average size car and you will struggle to get into a parking spot and this is an additional cost of $25 per night. One other small issue and I and this is just a personal beef with me is the shower. It didn't seem to be as hot as my liking and a poor shower head meant that it wasn't a very good spray. But it's not a big deal but I just love a good shower!

Room service was good and all the staff seemed pretty friendly. I wouldn't have an issue staying here again

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovani S, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Dear NfaTraveler,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at the ibis Melbourne. It is pleasing to read that you had comfortable stay with us and enjoyed our central location.

I agree that the car park can be challenging to enter and exit if you have a large vehicle. The next time you park, please let our team know and we are more than happy to assist in guiding you in.

I would like to apologise for the issue you experienced with the shower, I will address this issue to our maintenance team. At Ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

Thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,


Giovani Sayuti
Assistant Manager
Email: h1564-dm05@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

The location of this hotel is fantastic. You are 5 minutes from the Central station and very close to some really good eats. The front desk was more than helpful and accommodating. The only issue I had with this place (we actually ended up leaving half way through our stay for another hotel) is that this place is old and cramped. We had to pay for upgrade to a "king sized bed", which just meant two singles put together in the same sized room. So it was very cramped. With the low ceilings, lack of moving room, small cramped shower (with shower head), it was very claustrophobic. In addition, the bathroom looked it had some sort of mold build up on the ceilings and the tiles.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibis_Hotel_Manager, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Jamie A,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.
It was pleasing to read that you enjoyed our location and proximity to Melbourne Central Station and some “good eats”.

I was disappointed to read that you had checked out early due to the issues you outlined. I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your stay in greater detail. Could you please contact me at your earliest convenience? My contact details are 03 9666 0000 or Jayesh.BALA@accor.com.

I look forward to speaking with you.

Sincerely,


Jayesh Bala
Hotel Manager
Email: Jayesh.BALA@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

A GREAT PLACE TO STAY very friendly and helpful staff,excellent room.loved the stay,and will stay again
great breakfast,and very good meal the night before.great location for visiting the Victoria market .




  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovani S, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Jean P,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I have shared your positive feedback with all of our team here. It was great to hear that you enjoyed our central location and had the opportunity to visit the famous Queen Victoria Markets.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.


Sincerely,


Giovani Sayuti
Assistant Manager
Email: h1564-dm05@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We arrived at Ibis rather late at night after a long flight but were greeted warmly by a cheerful Constance, who thankfully, did a really quick check-in for us so that we could rest early. She was at the Reception again another time when I enquired about parking at the hotel, and once again, impressed me with her smile and friendly service. She's really wonderful!

Fatima also provided an outstanding service. I had made a booking for a day tour to the Great Ocean Road with a tour agency and had waited for about 15 minutes for the bus. I enlisted the help of Fatima to call the agency to check if the bus would be coming anytime soon. Even though the tour was not booked through the hotel (it was a private arrangement we had with the tour agency), Fatima gladly made the call for me and even followed through when some issues came up. I really appreciate the assistance rendered by Fatima. Thank you!

As for the hotel, the location is fantastic! It is within walking distance to the free city circle tram, about 20 minutes’ walk to Chinatown, very near to the car rental companies, supermarket, convenience stores and various eateries along Elizabeth Street. Queen Victoria Market is also very close by!

We also like the concept of a separate toilet and bathroom in our 2 Bedroom Room. There is also an additional vanity area with a sink apart from the one in the bathroom. This concept is especially good as the guests need not fight to use the toilet/bathroom.

The only “grouse” we had is no stove in the room to do some simple cooking. As we have a young child, we would like to prepare his meals at times. When we visited Queen Victoria Market, we wanted to grab all the fresh vegetables etc. to do some cooking, but unfortunately, there is only the microwave oven and a toaster, which we couldn’t do much with. Just this one; otherwise we are happy with our stay at Ibis.

Room Tip: 2 Bedroom Room on Level 8 seems to be better in terms of condition
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ade_HLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovani S, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Dear Ade_HLP,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Melbourne. It is a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

It is pleasing to note that you enjoyed your stay and found the team friendly and helpful, especially Constance and Fatima. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

In our 2 bedroom apartment, we provide cook top and cooking facilities, please advise our friendly reception team to request these facility in the room.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and I trust you next stay will be as enjoyable as your previous one.


Sincerely,


Giovani Sayuti
Assistant Manager
Email: h1564-dm05@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

A great stay at the ibis. The lobby is currently being renovated so it was a little crowded, but room comfort was great and price was affordable. A short walk from an elizabeth street tramstop, which is convenient.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi_renee4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovani S, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear BelleRenee,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at the ibis Melbourne on Trip Advisor.

It is pleasing to read that you had comfortable and enjoyable experience.

Thank you for your understanding while the lobby was under refurbishment. I am pleased to inform you that our refurbishment has been completed and we look forward to welcoming you and back in the near future.

Sincerely,


Giovani Sayuti
Assistant Manager
Email: h1564-dm05@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Wonderful central location close to main bus and tram lines. Safe neighbourhood with controlled access at night. Friendly helpful staff. Very clean rooms. Stayed for four nights as price of room was very reasonable.

One of the pick-up and drop-off hotels for Viator day tours.

Room Tip: If traveling as two couples would recommend the two bedroom unit with kitchen.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovani S, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Glenn M,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I have shared your positive feedback with all of our team here. It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our two bedroom apartment comfortable for two couples.

We pride ourselves and delivering great value for money proposition with exceptional service.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and I trust you next stay will be as enjoyable as your previous one.

Sincerely,


Giovani Sayuti
Assistant Manager
Email: h1564-dm05@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Central Business District
Jasper Hotel
Jasper Hotel
#72 of 160 in Melbourne
1,065 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#38 of 160 in Melbourne
3,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments

Address: 15-21 Therry St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#52 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#64 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $93 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Melbourne is well located within easy walking distance of the famous Queen Victoria Markets, the legendary Lygon Street restaurant precinct and the Melbourne Central Shopping district. Fully refurbished and boasting a fresh new look, ibis Melbourne features 250 rooms, including one and two bedroom apartments, a vibrant restaurant and bar, plus internet access and conferencing facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Accor Melbourne
Ibis Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing