We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basic but effective”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Ranked #70 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayed in this hotel 3 times and found it was worth the money. The location is central in the city, close to Victoria Market, Melbourne Central, which is quite convenient to walk around. Free wireless service is good. Compared with standard room, the apartment is bigger and nicer.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HappyLife4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayesh_Bala, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear HappyLife4,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay and for your continuous support of ibis Melbourne, it is greatly appreciated.

With regards to WiFi, I am pleased to advise that as of the 1st October 2013 all LeClub Silver, Gold and Platinum members can now access complimentary in-room WiFi.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back for your fourth stay soon.

Sincerely,


Jayesh Bala
Rooms Division Manager
Email: Jayesh.BALA@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,711)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

795 - 801 of 1,711 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel!
location is excellent! Quiet and a great bed in a new room! Had standard room but was really big and clean.
Nice stay! Would stay here again! Not only for business, also nice to stay for visiting the city. Close to tramstop.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liselotte R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear Liselotte R,

Thank you for your taking the time to review your stay.

It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay and our proximity to the Melbourne CBD.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,


Jayesh Bala
Rooms Division Manager
Email: Jayesh.BALA@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I am used to staying in higher star hotels but stayed here with a group so was a little leery of it at first. But I was pleasantly surprised with the cleanliness of the rooms and how well kept up they were. The bathrooms showed their age and could use a little work. But overall it was a great place to stay in walking distance to everywhere I wanted to go. My floor had a terrible smoke odor but it was not too bad in the room.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maddie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear maddie m,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.

It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your experience and we exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,


Jayesh Bala
Rooms Division Manager
Email: Jayesh.BALA@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The ibis Melbourne is in a great location if you want to visit the Queen Victoria Markets and north of the city (Brunswick, Lygon Street etc). Fairly basic hotel but perfectly adequate. Breakfast was basic but prices reflect this.
Would stay again for 1-2 nights.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank honeysucklej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear honeysuckle

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Melbourne. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.


Sincerely,


Jayesh Bala
Rooms Division Manager
Email: Jayesh.BALA@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

It's is 1am as I am writing this. Not sure why I am awake, it's either the sweat I am giving off or the air con fan rattling. Or maybe both. This it the second night. This first night our room was 26c, was reported to reception the next day, saying that they would get someone to look at it. It now says 22c but really doesn't feel much different. Room 425. Overall the place is average compared to others similar that I have stayed. A family member is staying a couple of blocks up in a similar style new complex and is costing almost the same. Needs a face lift and a coat of paint, and the bathtub/shower has seen better days. On a better note the staff are very friendly and helpful. Management really need to fix the air con problem instead of replying to people's comments and thanking them for the info. I would rather two good nights sleep for my money. As I have a 12 hour travel day starting in a few hours I had better 'attempt' to get some sleep.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacqui1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Jacqui1805,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

I would like to apologise for the poor experience you had during your last visit. Thank you for brining the fault you experienced with the air conditioning system to my attention. Please rest assured that we will be reviewing the air conditioning system in room 425 with our maintenance team.

Would it be possible to set up a time to speak to you about your stay with us in greater detail? I would be happy to call at a time of your convenience. Should you prefer to contact me, my details are below.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.


Sincerely,


Jayesh Bala
Rooms Division Manager
Email: Jayesh.BALA@accor.com
Phone: +61 3 9666 0000

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The hotel was undergoing major refitting in the foyer. However, the staff were bright, and happy to spend time helping you with directions etc.
Needs renovating to all common areas as looking a bit tired in halls lifts etc. Still, for the money, the location, central to Victoria markets, the eateries in Swanston and Lygon Streets, trams and buses made up for all. Inside, the room had a great bed, and a clean recently remodelled bathroom. Old TV, no free wifi, when will hotels learn that internet should be treated like water or air? FREE!

Room Tip: Ask which were the most recently remodelled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveS14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear SteveS14,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Melbourne. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

It is pleasing to read that you found your stay comfortable and good value for money.

Your comment on WiFi is certainly valid. I am please to advise you that on the 1st October 2013 ibis Melbourne will be introducing complimentary WiFI to all LeClub Silver, Gold and Platinum members.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Sincerely,


Jayesh Bala
Rooms Division Manager
Email: Jayesh.BALA@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The room was spacious and plenty of beds for family of 5. Staff were friendly and helpful. Location of the hotel is close to public transport and amenities. I would definitely go back and stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ResYaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear ResYaT,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

It is pleasing to read that you found our Two Bedroom Apartment comfortable. They prove to be very popular when we have families stay with us.

It is great to hear that you will stay again. We trust your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.


Sincerely,


Jayesh Bala
Rooms Division Manager
Email: Jayesh.BALA@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#40 of 162 in Melbourne
3,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Central Business District
Jasper Hotel
Jasper Hotel
#74 of 162 in Melbourne
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments

Address: 15-21 Therry St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#52 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#64 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $77 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Melbourne is well located within easy walking distance of the famous Queen Victoria Markets, the legendary Lygon Street restaurant precinct and the Melbourne Central Shopping district. Fully refurbished and boasting a fresh new look, ibis Melbourne features 250 rooms, including one and two bedroom apartments, a vibrant restaurant and bar, plus internet access and conferencing facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Accor Melbourne
Ibis Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing