We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms were too hot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Ranked #69 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed August 31, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Katekate83
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,730)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

820 - 826 of 1,730 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Jefthechef
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We chose the Ibis as it offered for a very reasonable price the use of a two bedroom apartment. We were upgraded to the top floor (so no heavy footed thumpers above us in the dead of night) and received a late checkout thanks to our Accor Gold card. Having not stayed at the hotel for some years it was a pleasure to see the makeover with new decorations, light and sound beating window furnishings as well as the most comfortable beds we've experienced in a long time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Bean1351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Bean1351,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with ibis Melbourne. It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay and I have shared your feedback with the team.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,


Jayesh Bala
Rooms Division Manager
Email: Jayesh.BALA@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank WillBryant
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Clean spacious rooms, good hot shower, good bed, good pillows, coffee and small ref in the room, flat tv, good location. Room cleaned well every day. Friendly staff. Breakfast ok with the selection of warm food with the breakfast breads, cereals and pancakes. The only minus here is that Internet is only free in the lobby for 30mins per user per day, but they had an offer of Au$14.95 for 24 hours on our last night. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loupeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear loupeter,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Melbourne. It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our room comfortable and spacious. I would also like to thank you for pointing out some key features of the hotel that other travellers will find useful.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and I trust you next stay will be as enjoyable as your previous one.


Sincerely,


Jayesh Bala
Rooms Division Manager
Email: Jayesh.BALA@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank rms98
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I've stayed in Ibis hotels before and always found them a bit basic. I was pleasantly surprised however at how nice this one was.

We were booked as part of a package and had booked one extra day on the end. Sadly, it was beyond the staff to link the two bookings and after the first three days, our access card expired meaning we were unable to use the lift or get into our room. Not even a hint of an apology from reception either. She made us feel it was our own fault.

Aside from that glitch, check in was fine. Access to the fifth floor was by lift and fiddly. Your room card needs to be swiped and invariably this caused problems.

The room itself was fine and on the fifth floor there was no street noise. Bed was comfy and bathroom clean.

Breakfast was a self service buffet affair and was included in our package. On the extra day however we went to a cafe around the corner which was much better value.

Location is handy for the market and close enough to a tram stop to make it very easy to get around.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piebaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear piebaps,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Melbourne. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

I have discussed your feedback with our reception team to ensure that this error is not happen in the future. The error you encountered is certainly not your fault and I personally apologise on behalf of the team for giving you that impression.

At Ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us..

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.


Sincerely,


Jayesh Bala
Rooms Division Manager
Email: Jayesh.BALA@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#39 of 161 in Melbourne
3,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments

Address: 15-21 Therry St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#48 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#52 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#64 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $86 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Melbourne is well located within easy walking distance of the famous Queen Victoria Markets, the legendary Lygon Street restaurant precinct and the Melbourne Central Shopping district. Fully refurbished and boasting a fresh new look, ibis Melbourne features 250 rooms, including one and two bedroom apartments, a vibrant restaurant and bar, plus internet access and conferencing facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Accor Melbourne
Ibis Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing