We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Ranked #69 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Singapore
Level Contributor
65 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great location, comfortable”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed just one night in this hotel but found the location really excellent and the room comfortable enough for a good night's rest. It is directly opposite Victoria Markets, so if you are there on a right day (the markets do not open everyday), you can enjoy some great breakfast and shopping there! Hotel is also close enough (walk) to Chinatown, Swanston and Bourke Street. Skybus hotel transfer stops right at the doorstep. Everything just right for a first-time visitor to Melbourne.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLEESingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear JLEESingapore,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with ibis Melbourne.

I have shared your positive feedback with the team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.


Sincerely,


Jayesh Bala
Rooms Division Manager
Email: Jayesh.BALA@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    868
    315
    62
    30
See reviews for
487
490
163
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Narre Warren, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed two nights and have no complaints, waitress at bistro was very good and chef was extremely helpful with change of dish for an allergy.
Didn't do breakfast i thought this was over priced.
Location was near Market and hear it has summer Wednesday night market.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank madcow_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear madcow_13,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Ibis Melbourne. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Yes, in summer from November to February, there is a Night Market at the Queen Victoria Market that opens every Wednesday from 5pm.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.


Sincerely,


Jayesh Bala
Rooms Division Manager
Email: Jayesh.BALA@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I was travelling on a budget for a few nights and after previously staying in some pretty upmarket places on my way, was a little wary of what a budget price would buy you in the City of Melbourne itself. I wasn’t looking for a grand lobby and high tea but was dreading a backpacker’s hovel too, having had a few surprises along the way. I was not disappointed. What I found was a well managed, clean, tidy and well located stay. The reception is bright, airy and friendly, the staff lovely and really helpful. Checking in and out is remarkably streamlined and done without fuss and no question or request was too much trouble. In a word? Pleasant.

The rooms are ample, adequate and clean. The bathroom, modern and well sized. You won’t find mints on the bed or champagne in the freezer, but the little extra’s are all there for the price, from soap to shampoo. What I liked the most was that the Ibis doesn’t try to be more than it is, but does what it does really well; with very nice service and an uber-clean, comfortable bed. There is a security lift system allowing for safety which is always a nice touch in any large city. Wi-Fi all throughout and in-house internet in the lobby (with a printer), if you want to leave your laptop at home. All the basic comforts of home, without the fanfare… my only one little personal niggle, being the 70’s retro-looking hallway carpet that could really do with a spruce up, but that’s just me.

Eating out mostly, I never had a chance to check out the bar, dining room or breakfast, as the hotel is almost right opposite the famous Queen Victoria Food Markets, which are just a 50-pace walk from the front door down Therry St. A perfect start to the day for breakfast, followed by a tram ride - 3-4 stops down Elizabeth street - to the central hub of Melbourne; simple, easy, no fuss, and all done in about 10 minutes despite the time of day. Whilst I think it’s the tram system of Melbourne that I love the most, unlike other comments, I think this hotel is truly well located. Close to town but not as close as to be too noisy and busy.. meaning a quiet nights sleep without too many people moving about on your floor. A nice little extra was the complete blackout screen on the windows; a godsend in any city when you want to sleep in.

A very pleasant stay and experience. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: There are some nice views from most rooms, although some are obscured by office buildings .. my advi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lilla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Lilla C,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with Ibis Melbourne. It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay and I have shared your feedback with the team.

I would also like to thank you for pointing out some key features of the hotel that other travellers will find useful.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,


Jayesh Bala
Rooms Division Manager
Email: Jayesh.BALA@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I only stayed for 1 Night, but found the reception Staff most helpfull on check- in, my room was ready before the usual 2 oclock check-in, secure parking was available at an aditional cost but was worth it. The Hotel and my room you couldnt fault, clean and tidy and well presented. Location was spot on, short walk to the Victoria Market, close to tram stops, cafes , and Gardens. I would use this Hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Cashie_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Cashie_33,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Ibis Melbourne. It is pleasing to note that you enjoyed your stay and found the team friendly and helpful.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.


Sincerely,


Jayesh Bala
Rooms Division Manager
Email: Jayesh.BALA@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We've stayed here a few times before and the fact that we return should say a lot. i like the free night even tho it's not exactly free as I do pay an annual subscription to Accor. it's been suggested that I go to a more expensive/up-market hotel to get better value for my free night but that would mean paying more for the first night which negates that.
The hotel is a bit of a hike from the train. but that is my choice and my friend drives and parks at the hotel.
A light switch closer to the door would be better so you could just reach in and turn on the lights instead of having to take several steps into the room to find the switches.
My only other negative, and it's a very small niggly one, is that because I'm short, the rim around the seat of the chairs in the dinning room digs into the back of my thighs. If I rest my feet on the table feet/stand I can ease this so it's usually ok. Just thought I'd mention it for you to consider for future design. Thank you.

I also wish that the free nights accujmulated instead of expiring and that you could use them together.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank jaybird94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear jaybird94,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with Ibis Melbourne.

I have shared your positive feedback with the team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.


Sincerely,


Jayesh Bala
Rooms Division Manager
Email: Jayesh.BALA@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Nice clean place. The rooms are basic but clean with all amenities for business travellers at affordable price. we didn't get a great view as it was blocked due to a side building. Probably the front rooms may have better view. Breakfast is basic but good just that the menu was same on all the days we were there so it becomes boring after a couple of days. It is within walking distance from the main city and works well for business travellers and tourist. You can walk and take the free tram to roam around the business city or just walk around. The free hop-on-hop off bus can be taken from Victoria Market which is nearby too. Mac Donald is just nearby and there are a couple of Indian restaurant too but a bit far at Flinder's lane/Elizabeth street.

Overall satisfied though the front desk can do with a bit more smile. they have the tendency to overlook when you are speaking and repeated reminders bring them back on the issues.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shonaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Shonaa,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Ibis Melbourne. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our reception team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,


Jayesh Bala
Rooms Division Manager
Email: Jayesh.BALA@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

The hotel is well located and is easy to access (no steps). The check in counter is large and the area around is adequate. Reception staff were prompt and friendly. WIFI is currently free and free internet facilities are located in the hotel lobby. There are adequate service lifts easily located. Trams are not located in the immediate vicinity. A Taxi from Southern Cross rail should cost no more than $12.00. Airport Buses serve the hotel.

The Bistro is located on the Lower Ground level and can be entered by lift or from the street front. Meals are reasonably priced. Continental Breakfast is $15.00 and Buffet Breakfast is $20.00. Food is plentiful and the eating area is quite large.

There are cheaper restaurants located close to the Hotel including McDonald's. There are small food shops located close to the hotel but items are expensive. For longer stays
stock up at the market. Almost anything can be bought at the Market and vendors will haggle on price. Cheap good haircuts ,$10.00 can be obtained in Elizabeth St, less than 100 meters from the hotel. Hotel does not provide room service but Grab it & Go works well with you placing an order and then picking up at the Bistro. Bistro staff were excellent.

The hotel imagine was spoilt when leaving the lift at the room floor with large bins of linen and pillows left in the area. The floors close to the lifts and passageways were dirty and were not vacuumed in the four nights I was at the hotel.

The hotel room was adequate and clean. A request for another bin was quickly provided (room bins very small) although an extra chair was not available. The bed was firm but comfortable. New pillows were provided during our stay. Management advised that extra chairs/lounges were being provided on room refurbishment currently underway. The Balcony could not be accessed.

There was adequate tea and coffee and milk provided. Perhaps sugar replacement could also be considered. Water was not provided but Melbourne tap water is probably better and certainly cheaper. Excellent electric jug. Wardrobe Hanging space is limited for longer stays.

Pay Laundry facilities were available on the floor.

The bathroom was a surprise, with good use of space. The shower was large and sealed to the roof. This provided excellent ventilation, with no moisture entering the Bathroom and the mirror did not fog up. The self closing toilet seat eliminated noise from the bathroom.

In all a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank THOMAS F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear THOMAS F,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Melbourne. It is always a pleasure to receive a feedback.

I would also like to thank you for pointing out some key features of the hotel that other travellers will find useful.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.


Sincerely,


Jayesh Bala
Rooms Division Manager
Email: Jayesh.BALA@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Central Business District
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
#101 of 159 in Melbourne
412 reviews
Central Business District
Jasper Hotel
Jasper Hotel
#71 of 159 in Melbourne
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments

Property: ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Address: 15-21 Therry St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#52 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#64 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Melbourne is well located within easy walking distance of the famous Queen Victoria Markets, the legendary Lygon Street restaurant precinct and the Melbourne Central Shopping district. Fully refurbished and boasting a fresh new look, ibis Melbourne features 250 rooms, including one and two bedroom apartments, a vibrant restaurant and bar, plus internet access and conferencing facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Accor Melbourne
Ibis Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing