We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value and Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Ranked #67 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We wanted a simple, clean modern Hotel in a good location. The IBIS fitted the bill exactly. It is right next to Victoria market where you can buy all sorts of food and goods at very cheap prices for Australia. Lots of breakfast cafes as well. It also not far to the city centre or the Italian quarter with lots of cafe style restaurants. The room was clean, modern with its own sitting room and a kitchenette. The only downside was the room we had was at the back of the hotel next to an office block so was a bit lacking in daylight. Good value and great location, my wife and I loved wondering around Victoria Market.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InterestedHuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear InterestedHuff,

Thank you for taking the time to post your positive feedback. It is pleasing to read that you and your wife enjoyed your stay.

The Queen Victoria Markets are certainly interesting and you are almost guaranteed to pick up some fresh meat and produce and a great price.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,


Jayesh Bala
Rooms Division Manager
Email: Jayesh.BALA@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,761)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

977 - 983 of 1,761 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

I always use this hotel for overnight stays in Melbourne, every 2-3 weeks and it never lets me down.

Great staff, easy check in and out, great location for both business and pleasure with a taxi rank over the road - for the price this is a great hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 18Otis18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear 18Otis18,

Thank you for your continued support of ibis Melbourne.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,


Jayesh Bala
Rooms Division Manager
Email: Jayesh.BALA@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights over the Australia Day long weekend. Location is great, close to QVM and a variety of cafes and eateries, including a McDonalds that is open 24/7. Thus there really is no need to pay extra for the continental breakfast. Short walk to the free tourist shuttle and city circle trams making it ideal for sight seeing.
Room was clean and quiet, stocked with the expected amenities. No complaints about the cleanliness of the bathroom. The clock radio wasn't functional, but was not a big deal.
Overall, great value for money if you are not after the frills of a luxury hotel. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdskyAu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear EdskyAu,

Thank you for recent review of your stay at ibis Melbourne. It is pleasing to hear that you found ibis Melbourne great value and enjoyed our central location.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Sincerely,


Jayesh Bala
Rooms Division Manager
Email: Jayesh.BALA@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed there 8 nights. Overall a very good experience, with a few caveats. Room was basic, very clean, well insulated with respect to other rooms. Only street traffic on Victoria was mildly disrupting of sleep. Fridge and complimentary tea/coffee (instant) in the room. Overall a great value for the price paid given the excellent location in CBD. However, beware of the hotel breakfast, it is quite overpriced and the nearby market/supermarket offer a better value. In addition, washer & drier are machines of pure robbery: 4$ each for washing, drying and for a single dose of detergent. Still 4/5 as I chose to discount these smaller issues in the overall rating.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mk_B0RG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear Mk_B0RG,

Thank you for your positive and constructive review of your recent stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Sincerely,


Jayesh Bala
Rooms Division Manager
Email: Jayesh.BALA@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights and were very happy with location. Room was clean and well serviced. Staff very pleasant and helpful. After having to cancel a tour due to my wife not feeling well, staff enquired about her condition the next morning.
During our stay air conditioning stopped, TV stopped and power points stopped working. Our call to reception was acted on immediately and power was restored within 10 min and a call from reception followed detailing the actions and enquiring if all was Ok.
Great stay would return again, location great, well done team.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear John C,

Thank you for your review on review ibis Melbourne. We were delighted to note that you had enjoyed your stay.

It’s always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Sincerely,


Jayesh Bala
Rooms Division Manager
Email: Jayesh.BALA@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I stayed at the IBIS on Therry st for two nights with my husband and we received an excellent customer service. Very friendly staff from front of house to housekeepers all welcomed us with a smile. Room and bedsheet were clean and got an upgrade on the room without even asking for it - that was overwhelming and it definetly contributed in overall wonderfull trip to Melbourne.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheevparikh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear Sheevparikh,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at ibis Melbourne.

It is pleasing to read that you and your husband enjoyed your stay. I have shared your feedback with our front office and housekeeping team.

Thank you once again.

Sincerely,


Jayesh Bala
Rooms Division Manager
Email: Jayesh.BALA@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights while catching up with an old friend from UK. The hotel was clean, the staff were very helpful and our room was very comfortable if not large. We had a double bed and a single in our room which made it quite tight, but lacked nothing. Plenty of complimentary tea and coffee, a very modern bathroom with a warm shower, toiletries and enough towels for two. The bed was comfortable and the temperature and air conditioning was easily moderated. We were on 10th floor overlooking a tennis court. Not a great view as we were surrounded by other tall buildings, but light and airy enough. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a leisure or business trip. East access to trams and station, and a pleasant short stroll to the Queen Victoria Markets. Only an easy 10 minute walk to Federation Square and the centre of town.
We did not at in the hotel so we cannot comment on the food.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear Deeceec,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at ibis Melbourne. It is pleasing to read you had comfortable and enjoyable stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,


Jayesh Bala
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#42 of 161 in Melbourne
3,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Central Business District
Jasper Hotel
Jasper Hotel
#75 of 161 in Melbourne
1,125 reviews
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments

Address: 15-21 Therry St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#64 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $96 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Melbourne is well located within easy walking distance of the famous Queen Victoria Markets, the legendary Lygon Street restaurant precinct and the Melbourne Central Shopping district. Fully refurbished and boasting a fresh new look, ibis Melbourne features 250 rooms, including one and two bedroom apartments, a vibrant restaurant and bar, plus internet access and conferencing facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Accor Melbourne
Ibis Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing