We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, small size room but sufficient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Ranked #67 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I needed a parking lot, but yet not too far from the city, and this seems a good choice. Parking lot is AUD25 for a full day, and it has easy access to the tram lines, which made it really easy to visit the city. Breakfast is AUD20, which we didn't opt for, as Queen Victoria Market was just around the corner! It is also a 10-20 minutes walk to Chinatown where you have plenty of choices for dinner. I really liked the location, considering the price we paid!

The room is a little on the small size, with almost no views out the window, but hey, this is Melbourne, so I wouldn't think anyone would spend much time in the room! Service can be a little slow, as the place can get crowded with just a few staff handling the check in/out and offering information.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel for a stay in Melbourne.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chayying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear Chayying,

We very much appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay ibis Melbourne. We would also like to thank you for recommending our hotel to other travellers.

I have noted your feedback on parking charges and we will take this into consideration when reviewing our pricing for the future. Thank you for patience with the reception team as it can get busier when the team are assisting guests.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely,


Jayesh Bala
Rooms Division Manager
Email: Jayesh.BALA@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,761)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,004 - 1,010 of 1,761 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

Couldn't have asked for better reception staff, room was gr8 you looked after us very well. Gr8 location central to city walk or catch tram. Easy walking distance to Ethiad Stadium even with 12 & 14 yr old boys. Thanks we will we back x

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissyC081969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear MissyC081969,

Thank you for your taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at ibis Melbourne.

I am glad you enjoyed your night out with the kids. I have also passed your positive feedback onto our reception team.

Sincerely,


Jayesh Bala
Rooms Division Manager
Email: Jayesh.BALA@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Have stayed at the Ibis Melbourne on numerous occasions and come back all the time when heading to Melbourne. Don't be put-off by the hallways, the room are nice, functional, well appointed, new and clean. On two occasions I was able to "enjoy" an updgrade to a 1-bed room apartment, which was very nice coz it had two separate rooms and a bathroom with bathtub.

The hotel is in close proximity to the Queen Victoria Market. Many places to eat (cafes for breakfast or Lygon Street for dinner).

Public transport is around the corner.

Service is friendly and very helpful. Love the place and I will surely be back soon.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frequent_Traveler_DE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Frequent_Traveler,

Thank you for continuing to support ibis Melbourne. It is a credit to the team that you refer to the hotel as your home in Melbourne.

It is pleasing to read that we were able to extend you a complimentary upgrade.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back home soon.

Sincerely,


Jayesh Bala
Rooms Division Manager
Email: Jayesh.BALA@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarketsShoppers
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mae60
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and for the price it was fine. The rooms are OK & quiet, there is Fox Sports on the TV and the staff are very pleasant. The hotel is located close to the market and Swanson St & Elizabeth St are close by. You can walk into the main shopping areas & the tram stops are close by. We had free wifi on trial and it makes a difference. The area is largely a student area, but there are cafes & resturants close by. All in all if you are looking for value for money than this is not bad.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank StevelCumbriaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Dear StevelCumbriaUK,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at ibis Melbourne.

Thank you for taking the time to point out some key features about the hotel. I know that other guests looking to stay with us will find this information helpful. I agree the free WiFi does make a big difference and we have received fantastic feedback since the inception of the trial.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,


Jayesh Bala
Rooms Division Manager
Email: Jayesh.BALA@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 49er11tree
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#42 of 161 in Melbourne
3,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Central Business District
Jasper Hotel
Jasper Hotel
#75 of 161 in Melbourne
1,125 reviews
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments

Address: 15-21 Therry St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#64 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $96 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Melbourne is well located within easy walking distance of the famous Queen Victoria Markets, the legendary Lygon Street restaurant precinct and the Melbourne Central Shopping district. Fully refurbished and boasting a fresh new look, ibis Melbourne features 250 rooms, including one and two bedroom apartments, a vibrant restaurant and bar, plus internet access and conferencing facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Accor Melbourne
Ibis Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing