We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff and breakfast - outrageously expensive Internet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Ranked #70 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed April 8, 2011

The staff were well-trained, going out of their way to make sure that we had a good time in Melbourne. I noticed that everyone was greeted upon returning in the evening with "Did you have a good day today?" or the equivalent. Staff were ready and knowledgeable about things to do in Melbourne - there didn't seem to be a Concierge, but each front desk staff member was quite competent in recommending activities or arranging services. The breakfast had wonderful variety. I'm not a breakfast eater, but the fresh fruit looked so good that I had some. My travel companion had something different each day - there were numerous hot options (eggs, bacon, hash browns, pancakes), cold cereals, yoghurt, and excellent expresso coffees (lattes, cappucinos, etc.) We had dinner in the restaurant twice and found the food to be good and the service a bit spotty (our server left the restaurant mid-meal and we had to go chasing after another server to obtain one of the items on our order). The location was especially good for our purposes, which included walking visits to the Melbourne Busienss School, the Melbourne Museum, and the Queen Victoria Market, but we were also able to hop on a tram with ease to go downtown.
There were some downsides, and one was large enough to make me choose a different hotel. The IN-ROOM INTERNET CONNECTION IS 55 CENTS A MINUTE! Yes, per minute. (We did discover on logging on that there is a cap of about thirty dollars per day on this, but even that is far more than it should be - we paid five dollars a day on the remote Kangaroo Island.) There are pay computers in the lobby for two dollars for 15 minutes, but they have an annoying habit of knocking you off your websites a minute before the end of the time online to demand more money - making you rewrite the e-mail you were proofreading before sending... They also have only basic readers, so if you receive a Word document and want to edit it and send it back, you can't. I didn't try uploading pictures and don't know whether they're capable of this. The upshot is that if I had known the Internet charge ahead of time, I might have selected a different hotel. A similar unexpected charge was for lockers for luggage. We went away for several days and wanted to leave our luggage in the hotel. There is no staffed luggage room, but instead a set of luggage lockers. I don't know comparative prices for the area, but they seemed a bit high, even for the 4-5 hour range. (We had a friend who kept them for us instead.) The front desk told us we could just leave our bags there w/o putting them in a locker, but that, of course, they could not guarantee their safety because the door to the room was not locked. Finally, the bathroom was a bit small and, like many hotel bathrooms, obviously designed by someone who doesn't use any toiletries or towels. There is a postage-stamp sized counter, a tiny cubby, and one small hanging rod for towels. (This may be a function of our particular room, we didn't see any other rooms, but ours was supposed to sleep 3 people (one double bed and a twin), so should have had more bathroom shelf/rod space...
In short, we were quite impressed with the staff, but disappointed with the high-priced charges for things we're accustomed to having as included in the room rate. The website should disclose the cost of the Internet connection rather than simply advertise "Internet available in every room," which is clearly designed to make people think this is free or at least reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NutmegTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide such thorough feedback of our hotel. I am very happy that our team were able to assist you with any requests and I am glad you utilised our close proximity to so many venues in Melbourne. I also thank you for sharing your feedback regarding the internet in our rooms. We do pass on these charges seperately to our room costs as some travellers do not need internet access during their stays.

I do hope the internet will not deter you from staying with us again as we would love to welcome you and your family back.

Warm Regards
Jade Stunden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,709)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,370 - 1,376 of 1,709 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Sydney
1
Reviewed April 7, 2011

The hotel was situated in a convenient place for us - younger ones going to concert at Rod Laver Arena - plenty of shopping at markets for some family members - transport services easy to access for all. We had breakfast and dinner at the hotel on a couple of occasions and were pleasantly suprised. Dinner was absolutely great and breakfast fine. Staff were courteous and helpful.
The only thing I found to be not so good was the fact that the room we were in seemed to vibrate almost on the Friday night - nightclub must have been below. My daughter was in a different room on another floor and did not have this problem!
The positives definitely outweighed the 1 negative night.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share you experience with us. I am very pleased that you and your family enjoyed their stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Melbourne!

Warm regards,
Jade Stunden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Accor traveler
kingaroy
11
Reviewed April 7, 2011

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 6, 2011

I went to Melbourne and stayed in Ibis for 7 days, 6 nights. The location is wonderful. It is nearby Victoria Market, great breakfast location in Victoria and for lunch and dinner, Chinatown is not to far away. The security is great and the staffs there are friendly. Overall we had a pleasant stay. Aside from the breakfast in Ibis, we are very satisfied overall. We are served the same kind of breakfast. Everything is the same aside from alternate days between fried egg or mushrooms. Thankfully, Victoria Market is just nearby but take not the market is not open on Monday and Wednesdays.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angeline84ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2011

Thank you for your wonderful feedback, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We do try to rotate a few menu items each day as we have a large buffet style breakfast and you will be happy to know you can request eggs to be cooked any way you like at no extra charge.

I hope you will join us again in the future!

Regards
Jade Stunden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2011

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrueBlue892014
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 4, 2011

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Granville P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 3, 2011

The AC in the room appeared to be deficient. The front of house staff felt that it was working but in spite of their efforts we still felt that it was not efficient. There was no apparent fan control. Fortunately it was a cool period so it was not a great problem.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2011

Thank you for your feedback relating to the air conditioning in your room.

We do test all of our air conditioners before each room is sold however I have reiterated this process to my team to avoid future incidents with the fans. I am glad you enjoyed all other aspects of your stay and I do hope you will visit us again.

Regards
Jade Stunden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#40 of 162 in Melbourne
3,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Central Business District
Jasper Hotel
Jasper Hotel
#75 of 162 in Melbourne
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments

Address: 15-21 Therry St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#48 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#52 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#64 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $92 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Melbourne is well located within easy walking distance of the famous Queen Victoria Markets, the legendary Lygon Street restaurant precinct and the Melbourne Central Shopping district. Fully refurbished and boasting a fresh new look, ibis Melbourne features 250 rooms, including one and two bedroom apartments, a vibrant restaurant and bar, plus internet access and conferencing facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Accor Melbourne
Ibis Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing