We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful romantic night away” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Ranked #21 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Beautiful romantic night away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

Classic five star elegance greets you as you enter the lobby. Gorgeous rooms, large beds, separate bath and shower is always a bonus. Loved the view of the city buildings. Great bar off the lobby - they make great cocktails! Always my number one hotel choice when treating myself to a night in town with a special person.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Front Office Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear jetfueljunkie, finding time together with a special person can be quite difficult and we understand how precious it is when it comes about. It’s fabulous to hear we are your number one hotel choice and hopefully, you’ll find more Grand experiences on your next beautiful romantic night away with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,414
    912
    339
    108
    70
See reviews for
546
1,487
180
1,179
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

I arrive as an old friend, greated with a smile, my car parked and always ready the next morning at the time nominated. The crew on front desk never forget me, and know my preferences. Enjoying a drink late of an evening in Ru-Cu is something i look foward to, camped up at the bar or by the fire place - its a wind-down relax spot to seek out. Strongly recommend the Grand Hyatt Melbourne for the discerning business traveller that just wants it done right

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Front Office Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Mark A, thank you for your Gold Class review. Although it’s spring now, there’s still a bit of a chill in Melbourne and we’re certainly saving you a seat by our fire place and the bar in RU-CO. When you are here for business next, hopefully you’ll have some time to explore the cafes and restaurants that are only moments away. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

We use the GH as our preferred business hotel and it's always a pleasant stay. The staff are excellent and the rooms well appointed. I particularly like the gyms in Grand Hyatts and this is no exception. Great space for a workout including access to classes. Definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Cathryn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Front Office Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Cathryn, thank you for the recommendation. We’re glad to hear you were able to make the most of the hotel facilities including the classes at City Club. It is extremely important to us that our guests are able to continue with their fitness regime when travelling. We hope to see you again soon, perhaps for a swim or game of tennis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

I recently stayed one night at the Grand Hyatt, and it was by far the most comfortable and welcoming five star hotel I have stayed in. Prices were reasonable, staff were outstanding and the room had a lovely view of Melbourne. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Alexandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Front Office Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Alexandra G,

Thank you for the review. We are delighted to hear that the staff provided the 5 star comfort that one deserves when being away from home. The city really lights up at night and so hopefully, on your next visit we’ll be able to see you in the Club Lounge, preferably relaxing with your favourite drink!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

The Grand Hyatt On Collins Street in Melbourne is one of the best located hotels for business in the heart of the CBD. It is a somewhat older hotel than the other 5 star hotels, but has been renovated and is reasonably priced in its category. Highlights are the breakfast and room quality is v good. Lowlight is that the internet is poor in terms of speed and dropouts.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Arun A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Front Office Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Arun, thank you for your review. We’re very happy to hear that our location works well for your business trips and with time permitting when you return, our Concierge would be happy to point you to some more fabulous food this city has to offer (they are only moments away). We hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

Some very good restaurants close by. City centre shopping only a few blocks away. This hotel is genuine 5 star and immaculately clean. Other reviews suggest it can be noisy but we were on the 11 floor on a weekend and slept peacefully - perhaps it was the quality bedding. Staff were pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise from street - particularly on weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Front Office Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Barry, thank you for your review. We’re extremely happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed the 5 star service our hotel has to offer and that you were able to explore the area around the hotel. With some of Melbourne’s best restaurants and shopping footsteps away, the location certainly allows our guests access to everything. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

The hotel is Grand as the name suggests and it is in a great location in heart of Melbourne within easy walking distance to shopping, restaurants, galleries. The lounge area on the upper levels is a great place to relax

Room Tip: Top levels have lounge area overlooking city... great place to relax
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Front Office Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Douglas, we’re extremely happy to hear you had a Grand experience. The view of Melbourne, particularly from the Club Lounge, can be simply fantastic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,411 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,169 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#13 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,886 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#29 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
#11 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Property: Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Address: 123 Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 548
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Melbourne hotel is a 5-star hotel on Collins Street in the centre of CBD, business, luxury shopping, theatre and restaurant district. The hotel is located within walking distance of Princess Theatre, Federation Square and Southgate. The hotel provides 548 rooms and suites with extensive meeting rooms and event facilities, spectacular upper and lower lobbies, the restaurant, Collins Kitchen, the bar, RU-CO, as well as an exclusive retail environment and innovative events venue, the residence. Guests booking into Club accommodation will enjoy all the benefits of the Grand Club lounge including personalised express check in and check-out, deluxe continental breakfast, all day refreshments, evening drinks with canapes and private meeting areas. For meetings and events, Grand Hyatt Melbourne offers the perfect combination of first-class function rooms, outstanding services and a range of flexible packages. For weddings our Melbourne hotel offers a range of romantic rooms for your special day. Grand Hyatt Melbourne also offers all guests' access to City Club Health & Fitness 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing