We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Nearby Hotels
$107
$102
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Westin Melbourne(Melbourne)
$230
$182
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$160
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$133
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Art Series - The Larwill Studio(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$126
$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
$228
$206
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$213
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$261
$156
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Treasury On Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$212
$171
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (4,733)
Filter reviews
4,734 results
Traveler rating
2,996
1,097
404
144
93
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,996
1,097
404
144
93
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscollins kitchenthe club loungemarble bathroomcollins streetstar hotelroom servicecorner roomfederation squarebeautiful hotelbuffet breakfastking roomvalet parkingyarra riverlate checklocation is excellentgreat roomcentral location
Filter
Updating list...
3,636 - 3,641 of 4,734 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was lovely, good location. The only gripe I would have is the fact the air conditioning in our room was malfunctioning and after reporting it twice over 2 days they still hadn't noted it on their system to fix. We were uncomfortably hot at times over 3 of the 5 nights we stayed which was disappointing given the amount we paid to stay at a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Punky1385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

After staying here several times in the past, I was definately going to book it for my most recent Melbourne trip. Unfortunately what used to be my favourite Melbourne hotel was a massive let down.
On check in we weren't even advised the hot water would be out until 1600 (advised an hour later). This wasn't originally a massive issue as it gave my us some time to explore the city before dinner. However at 1700, after trying to have a shower with no success I rang reception and was told it would be out until 2100. Considering both of us had been up since 0400 and had been travelling on a plane all day this was not great news, exacerbated by the fact we were meeting friends for dinner that night - without any possibility of having a simple thing such as a shower. No real apology was given and no alternative was made. This is supposed to be a 5 star hotel?

Anyways we had to head out to dinner without that luxury. Thank god for deodorant and aftershave! However on arrival back at the hotel at 2200 the hot water was still out, I was told other rooms had it back so just wait it out. At no stage any recompense was offered or made, just basically 'tough luck'. Hot water FINALLY came on around 2230 so we had our shower.

I used to love staying here but I am afraid service/facilities we experienced just simply isn't good enough, on check out no apology was given. They could have at least given us a free drink at the bar! Hope things improve!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BenChaffey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

This is one beautiful hotel within walking distance to the main places in downtown. Views are great if you get onto the upper floors. Breakfast is a bit expensive but there are lots of great coffee shops around the hotel if you walk around a bit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zeal34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We had booked our first 2 nights away from our 7y/o daughter ...woke to a 4am alarm clock on the first night .. No paper on request . As requested .Walked all day around Melbourne to come back to find a note that our hot water would be off till 4pm as 'scheduled maintenance' was carried out . Then to be told it would not be back on till 9pm . We asked how long they had known about the maintenance work and the response was 'a few days' . We had not only been put in a faulty room but they happily checked us in without a word of notice. Not a phone call before our arrival to let us know of our impending inconvenience or to move us to a room with no hot water issues. We had planned on hot showers .... Then an early dinner at a restaurant near by. Followed by a night out child free .....We were told we could take a shower at the park Hyatt ??? Up the road ....given complimentary access to the grand lounge .a cheap bottle of red with an apologetic letter and finally an offer of half price for the night . Which we were finally reimbursed 5 days later and not on check out. So much for our big night out/in . We tried to file a complaint with customer service on their website but apparently this would not work either . The service staff however were very helpful and we did love our room . Just a pity they put us in a room for scheduled maintenance and did not let us know . Disappointed

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mlissn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed on the 22nd floor and had a magnificent view of the city. The room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. We could easily walk to everywhere we wanted to go. We walked to the MCG very easily. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank 848rachelw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews