We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Ranked #23 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

The Grand Hyatt was an amazing experience. The staff were so welcoming and helpful. The pool area was really different to what i expected but was so enjoyable and clean! I had the buffet breakfast, beautiful food and drinks, with a range of selections! I would recommend this hotel to all couples, as you are pampered, and the atmosphere is romantic.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank MelissaHarvey28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review.
We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and got to experience our delicious Buffet Breakfast.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,637
    982
    361
    127
    76
See reviews for
602
1,631
194
1,283
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (595)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed as we attended a wedding at the Grand Hyatt, It was an excellent venue, the staff were extremely professional and could not do enough to help, the food was well beyond our expectations. I would highly recommend this hotel they catered for every need. And the wedding venue was outstanding.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Noreen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review.
We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Yes....it's a nice hotel, not sure if worth the hefty price tag though. The bed is king size and sooo comfy, pillows beautiful. Room is no bigger than modest hotel, bathroom clean, shower could do with better water pressure. Mini bar prices exorbitant. Good location if you want to be near MCG or tennis arena or Federation Square. Excellent staff. We enjoyed our stay but the price will put us off in future as we did not consider it value for money.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KOB1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review.
We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We recently spent 7 nights at The Grand Hyatt in Melbourne and couldn't rate our stay highly enough. Every staff member we encountered was extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms are luxuriously appointed and the bed particularly comfortable. Once you've stayed here you won't want to stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I found the hotel stay to be very pleasant indeed. Decor and facility are a step above most other hotels but the service, as good as it was, did not stand out above any other good hotels I have stayed at. This is not a complaint at all but in the interest of constructive criticisim I would expect the service would have stood out a little more being the 'Grand Hyatt' Regards and thanks

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

It was ok...... 5 star but nothing special.

There are other 5 star places in the melb cbd which excel over the grand hyatt

The guy on our floor singing opera at the top of his lungs at 8:20am wasn't a welcome point to our stay.

There was nothing awful to our stay and the staff were welcoming.

Just the experience was 'meh'

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sean073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

was so impressed. booked this on secret deal lastminute.com i was surprised we got this. 5 star, paris end of melbourne next to designer brands tiffany & co, burberry, gucci, blvgari and more. rooms are lovely. love the floor to ceiling window. beds were comfry too. bathrooms all marble, just stunning! service was great! loved the bar downstairs in foyer, great to relax. excellent location and good value for money compared to some other 5 star hotels in melb.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#7 of 160 in Melbourne
2,645 reviews
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,471 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#18 of 160 in Melbourne
1,946 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
#10 of 160 in Melbourne
1,506 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#31 of 160 in Melbourne
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Property: Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Address: 123 Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 548
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Melbourne hotel is a 5-star hotel on Collins Street in the centre of CBD, business, luxury shopping, theatre and restaurant district. The hotel is located within walking distance of Princess Theatre, Federation Square and Southgate. The hotel provides 548 rooms and suites with extensive meeting rooms and event facilities, spectacular upper and lower lobbies, the restaurant, Collins Kitchen, the bar, RU-CO, as well as an exclusive retail environment and innovative events venue, the residence. Guests booking into Club accommodation will enjoy all the benefits of the Grand Club lounge including personalised express check in and check-out, deluxe continental breakfast, all day refreshments, evening drinks with canapes and private meeting areas. For meetings and events, Grand Hyatt Melbourne offers the perfect combination of first-class function rooms, outstanding services and a range of flexible packages. For weddings our Melbourne hotel offers a range of romantic rooms for your special day. Grand Hyatt Melbourne also offers all guests' access to City Club Health & Fitness 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing