We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great stay, business or family vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Ranked #20 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great stay, business or family vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Wow! Very nice property! Had an extended stay and was able to use most of the hotel's amenities. Food in the club lounge and the restaurants was very good! Service throughout was very good. Car park at $50 per day is spendy, but so is all of Melbourne. Valet is quick though.
Fantastic gym! The largest I've seen at a hotel--this one shared with the public. Pool is very small, yet large enough for small children to have fun. Cold dunk and jacuzzi are next to the pool, whilst sauna and steam rooms are inside men's and women's locker rooms.
Rooms are exceptionally ample and well appointed. Channel offerings are somewhat limited though.
Excellent location in the center of the city! Close to everything!
Recommendations on sight seeing: 1) Philip Island to see the penguins, with a side trip to one of the parks (easy drive of about 1.5 hours). Lots to do there. 2) Souverign Hill to see a real life gold mining town out of the 1800's! This is not Disney, but a real living museum! When you go into the shops, they are real! You can pan for gold (we found a spec), and go down into a gold mine! 3) Great ocean road AND/OR a zoo (possibly a petting zoo if that interests you). On the great ocean road (easily drivable if you don't want a tour), you can stop and see Koala's in the trees on the side of the road, see Roo's at the golf course, and stop at many of the vista's or just drive direct to the 12 Apostle's.
A great restaurant and an easy 20 minute walk is Borsari's in Little Italy. There are lots of restaurants near the hotel, but this one is definitely worth it!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room! So many views, that any direction is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank usaflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Front Office Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
We are glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us and your wonderful comments about our property are greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,298
    869
    321
    102
    68
See reviews for
521
1,401
171
1,132
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Really impressed with the quality of the offering, beautiful hotel, gorgeous food, fun for kids with basketball, tennis, golf and swimming. Very relaxed and wished we could have stayed longer. We had breakfast, afternoon tea and dinner in Collins Kitchen and all meals were excellent. In the past the meals have been slow to come but that has been corrected. Great hotel!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Kylie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

This hotel could not be faulted. The bed, room, air conditioning, staff and breakfast were all excellent. Highly recommended by this past guest. The muesli we had for breakfast was out of this world. It felt like we were walking into a kitchen when we went down for breakfast. The tea was excellent. The doorman who assisted us in putting out luggage into the car was funny and charming not to mention helpful. The location is great being an easy walk to everything you would want to access in Melbourne CBD.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Fiona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
We are glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us and your wonderful comments about our property are greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Grand Hyatt hotels generally do not get me this excited, however this Melbourne hotel is fantastic for business and leisure alike. It beats the Park Hyatt down the road by a mile.

I have stayed here about 10 times in the last three years and each time the service was excellent and the views from my rooms have been breathtaking.

The breakfast is one of the best in town, serving fresh fruit, dim sum, eggs and lots more goodies.

Moreover, the hotel is excellently located on Collins. You could not be more central and in a better location.

Additionally, the hotel has great options for sports. Great tennis and basketball court!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PCS79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
We are glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us and your wonderful comments about our property are greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

This was our second stay at this hotel and the first since a refurbishment. The decor is very nice. We are in a club room on the 30th floor.

The room itself is quite nice, but with a roll away bed as well as a king, I would not describe it as spacious. The corner sofa and dining table is a nice addition, but it seems to be at the expense of sufficient closet space. This stay was part of a longer holiday so we have 3 largish suitcases with us and there is really nowhere to keep them, so we have to have them scattered about the room, adding to a feeling of a lack of space.

The Grand Club is on the 31st floor and we have used it a lot. The evening offering has been quite good, on the contrary to other reviews. On the buffet there has been quite an extensive meze selection - calamari, salmon, prosciutto, pastrami as well as grilled eggplant, various dips, crackers and bread. In addition there were 4 or 5 delectable little cakes and deserts. There has been sparkling wine as well as a good selection of reds and whites. I tend to prefer white wine and there was a choice of three varieties - Chardonnay, Pinot Grigio and Sauvignon Blanc. Breakfast selections of 4 types of cereal, various fresh fruit (I had a lovely nectarine), cold meats including smoked salmon, ham etc, several different pastries and 4 different juices. Someone not happy with that has unrealistic expectations. During the day there is coffee, tea, soft drinks and chocolate chip or shortbread cookies.

Our daughter had room service as well and I thought it was reasonable value for the quality and amount of food for the price. It was delivered promptly and the staff member who served us was extremely courteous.

I also had a body treatment from the spa which was wonderfully relaxing and reasonably priced. The therapist was excellent.

This is a very fine hotel, one on a par with some of the best Hyatt has to offer. I would rate it as equally as good as HR London or PH Tokyo.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank RedheadMumma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
We are glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us and your wonderful comments about our property are greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

What a great hotel. The best end of town, lovely service, beautiful views of Melbourne and very relaxing. The gym is the best I have seen at a hotel. Would recommend it to anyone wanting a 5 star service.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Lawrence M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
We are glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us and your wonderful comments about our property are greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

We had a lovely relaxing stay. Hyatt has excellent facilities and great service. It's a tranquil environment. We used the bar and the restaurant and both were great. Beds are super comfy. We were very happy with the stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Bin81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
We are glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us and your wonderful comments about our property are greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,991 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#3 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,290 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#11 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,841 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,042 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#26 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Property: Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Address: 123 Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 548
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Melbourne hotel is a 5-star hotel on Collins Street in the centre of CBD, business, luxury shopping, theatre and restaurant district. The hotel is located within walking distance of Princess Theatre, Federation Square and Southgate. The hotel provides 548 rooms and suites with extensive meeting rooms and event facilities, spectacular upper and lower lobbies, the restaurant, Collins Kitchen, the bar, RU-CO, as well as an exclusive retail environment and innovative events venue, the residence. Guests booking into Club accommodation will enjoy all the benefits of the Grand Club lounge including personalised express check in and check-out, deluxe continental breakfast, all day refreshments, evening drinks with canapes and private meeting areas. For meetings and events, Grand Hyatt Melbourne offers the perfect combination of first-class function rooms, outstanding services and a range of flexible packages. For weddings our Melbourne hotel offers a range of romantic rooms for your special day. Grand Hyatt Melbourne also offers all guests' access to City Club Health & Fitness 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing