We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Haven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Ranked #23 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Haven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We booked with a mystery deal for $185 per night for four nights and for this price were very happy with what we got. I have previously stayed at the Stamford Plaza in Melbourne (with a kitchen and living room) and I would happily book the Grand Hyatt in a flash over the SP even without the kitchen facilities and extra room, even though I was pretty happy with the SP. I had requested a higher floor and we were only given floor 10, which is the first guest floor, so this was a little disappointing, but the service was so good and the room so comfortable that we would have forgiven most things.

Very smooth check-in with bags delivered to the room promptly and with a smile and offer for a "tour of the room".

The bed is on the soft side, but very supportive and we slept so well. Block-out blinds did their job very well and one morning we didn't wake until nearly 10am which is unheard of for us. I wish other hotels would follow suit and install decent blinds. There was also individually controlled airconditioning which responded very quickly when reset to a new temperature - made it very easy to control the room temperature and therefore facilitate better sleep.

Yes, there was some noise from the hallways with people talking and banging their doors, but it was minimal and, really, the hotel can't be held responsible for other guests lack of consideration. I even had to pull my husband up one day for talking loudly on his phone while waiting for a lift, so it's the responsibility of each guest to be thoughtful of others comfort!

Nice little touches in the room add to the comfort, such as the bedside switch which turns on a low light in the bathroom. Also a light that comes on in the cupboard when the door is opened. I loved that these things have been thought through for the comfort of guests. Robes, slippers, T2 teas, bottled water, all the little things one like to see in a hotel of this calibre. Probably the most disappointing thing about the room was the water pressure in the shower - very poor, but obviously enough to get by.

I ran out of hair conditioner late one night and couldn't be bothered to go out for some. No problem - my husband called housekeeping to ask if they might have some and it was delivered in about 5 minutes, Each day thereafter, the bathroom was re-stocked with conditioner, without us having to ask.

We had a late-night snack one night as we were still hungry after an early dinner. Just some thick-cut chips and a cheese platter. I expected the cheese platter to be very small at $16, but we found it very generous and the chips were delicious. When we called down to order, we were told it would take 30 minutes, but it was delivered in less than 15!

The location was great for us, as it was an opportunity to escape the edgier parts of the city we visited during the day - a real haven.

The gym is amazing - it is a full size commercial gym and guests of the hotel can attend group exercise classes for free. Yes, the pool is pretty small and was often very busy, but the size and quality of the gym definitely made up for it, as did the sauna and steam room.

I would stay here again on a future trip to Melbourne.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoniT76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
We are glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us and your wonderful comments about our property are greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,483
    933
    346
    116
    72
See reviews for
560
1,540
186
1,204
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (573)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary on 1st December 2013 at the Grand Hyatt and the hotel is cerrtainly one of the best we've stayed in. We dined at the hotel restaurant and to say the food was to die for would be understating the event. Staff are extremely friendly and accomodating with any request.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel for a couple

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
We are glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us and your wonderful comments about our property are greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

This is clearly a very good hotel with all key amenities in a central location of Melbourne's CBD. Through a mystery deal at wotif.com we paid 200 dollars per night plus a 15 dollar upgrade for a river view room - and at that price we felt we got good value for money - but this would have been quite different if we'd paid the regular room rate of 500 dollars or so. The room was spacious and the bathroom had both a shower and tub and a lot of marble. The gym is very well equipped, although the pool is too small for actual swimming.
Still, the overall feel was "only" that of a very good business hotel - it just lacked the sense of being pampered that I'd expect from a true five star experience.

Room Tip: If you are offered a 15 dollar upgrade to rive view, take it - it's worth the extra bucks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyTraveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your comments and have passed them on to management for review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Great hotel, extremely clean and comfortable. Staff were friendly and attentive. The leisue facilities in the hotel were excellent. The hotel is in a great location close to the bars, restaurant and the MCG. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
We are glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us and your wonderful comments about our property are greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

In general nice hotel great location, when you pay top $$'s for a 5 star hotel the devil is in the detail and this was missing at our stay. I asked for some ice to come up to our room and was told it would be 45 to 60 minutes it was new years eve, but still not good enough ( i did not get a discount because it was NYE!!. I commented this was too long and was told we will see if we can speed it up. I never heard back and Im still waiitng for the ice. The room itself is starting to get tired. There was a major big black chip in the bath tub which took away from the bathroom and the rooms cornice are craked and paint peeling, not appealing at all. The room service attendant was great pitty the food was ordinary - cold chips, taste less steak sandwich and the noodles were cold and a pass only. The staff were friendly and the breakfast very good in the morning.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your comments and have passed them on to management for review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed at the grand Hyatt for 3 nights after Christmas after not having been here for the last three years. This has always been one of our favourite hotels and we always stay in a club room. However after what used to be the best lounge is now the worst. The breakfast is a disgrace with no hot food at all and just very basis continental-if you could call it that. There is no welcoming or service from the staff other than to pick up your plates. Since refurbishing this hotel around 2 years ago they have made the club lounge twice the size and it now is nothing more than crowding as many people in as possible and giving you as least as possible. The evening drinks and canapés was much the same - very basic. Such a shame as the rooms are beautiful in a great location but if you are looking for a club lounge this is the worst and Sheraton Hilton and Marriotts are way better

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 330Claire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Claire,

Thank you for your feedback. We are saddened to hear when a Loyal Hyatt guest is disappointed with our service. We appreciate your comments regarding Club Lounge and have passed them on to management for review. We hope you do return to visit us here at Hyatt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed at the Hyatt on News Years Eve 2013 and were shown a great evening we could not remember a better new years eve and were looked after by your staff so well. The food was excellent and our room was a very high standared. We will stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
We are glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us and your wonderful comments about our property are greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,471 reviews
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,257 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#17 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#29 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
#9 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Property: Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Address: 123 Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 548
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Melbourne hotel is a 5-star hotel on Collins Street in the centre of CBD, business, luxury shopping, theatre and restaurant district. The hotel is located within walking distance of Princess Theatre, Federation Square and Southgate. The hotel provides 548 rooms and suites with extensive meeting rooms and event facilities, spectacular upper and lower lobbies, the restaurant, Collins Kitchen, the bar, RU-CO, as well as an exclusive retail environment and innovative events venue, the residence. Guests booking into Club accommodation will enjoy all the benefits of the Grand Club lounge including personalised express check in and check-out, deluxe continental breakfast, all day refreshments, evening drinks with canapes and private meeting areas. For meetings and events, Grand Hyatt Melbourne offers the perfect combination of first-class function rooms, outstanding services and a range of flexible packages. For weddings our Melbourne hotel offers a range of romantic rooms for your special day. Grand Hyatt Melbourne also offers all guests' access to City Club Health & Fitness 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing