We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel but club lounge very poor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Ranked #23 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful hotel but club lounge very poor”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed at the grand Hyatt for 3 nights after Christmas after not having been here for the last three years. This has always been one of our favourite hotels and we always stay in a club room. However after what used to be the best lounge is now the worst. The breakfast is a disgrace with no hot food at all and just very basis continental-if you could call it that. There is no welcoming or service from the staff other than to pick up your plates. Since refurbishing this hotel around 2 years ago they have made the club lounge twice the size and it now is nothing more than crowding as many people in as possible and giving you as least as possible. The evening drinks and canapés was much the same - very basic. Such a shame as the rooms are beautiful in a great location but if you are looking for a club lounge this is the worst and Sheraton Hilton and Marriotts are way better

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 330Claire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Claire,

Thank you for your feedback. We are saddened to hear when a Loyal Hyatt guest is disappointed with our service. We appreciate your comments regarding Club Lounge and have passed them on to management for review. We hope you do return to visit us here at Hyatt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,648
    987
    363
    128
    76
See reviews for
605
1,635
194
1,293
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (596)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed at the Hyatt on News Years Eve 2013 and were shown a great evening we could not remember a better new years eve and were looked after by your staff so well. The food was excellent and our room was a very high standared. We will stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
We are glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us and your wonderful comments about our property are greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I stayed there during the new years and maybe for some reason the quality of the service was poor. It took often over 1 hour to get things done and I had to remind them 3 times before things get done. At 7pm Conceirge went home that's somehow I ve never heard of at another hotel of this class. I thought they should not try to save small costs by not having enough staff and compromise the quality. The location is convenient but its in the middle of other taller building and no feeling of privacy somewhat.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QualityMattersMost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your comments and have passed them on to management for review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We had a lovely stay for two nights New Years Eve 2014, the hotel is starting to show it's age, the staff were very helpful and polite, but unfortunately the previous people smoked in the room even tho the hotel is smoke free and no one checked the room prior to our stay all the towels smelt of smoke they cleaned the room while we were out for the day and there was a very noticeable improvement, I know it's hard to police something like this but a quick check before we checked in could have avoid it, Breakfast was very nice buffet style, but very pricey at $80 for two people

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Marty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
We are glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us and your wonderful comments about our property are greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Our booking for NYE was in the Diplomatic Suite which provided us with uninterrupted views of the fireworks. Very well appointed suite with plenty of room to entertain guests. The hotel is well situated in the CBD with close proximity to shopping, theatres and sporting venues. Restaurant is excellent and staff are courteous and helpful. We have both stayed and eaten here on many occasions, as it is in our home city, and are never disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Front Office Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
We are glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us and your wonderful comments about our property are greatly appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2014

love this hotel, has always been excellent. I found this time that housekeeping was very ordinary and Club floor was repetitive with there food and way too crowded. Not at all value for money.Unfortunately had some loose change go missing, things like tissues not replenished, one day, no room clean and service at all until I rang housekeeping. Prompt reply and clean but took bin from bathroom and didn't replace.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Front Office Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your comments and have passed them on to management for review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

The reception area to this hotel is beautiful, I received a very warm welcome upon check-in and immediately was thrilled with my choice to stay. I stayed in a high level park view room and the view took my breath away, I could literally see all (well, mostly all) of Melbourne from my room - Southbank, Crown Casino, the Arts Centre, St Kilda water, parklands, the Yarra. I found myself sitting there for at least twenty minutes taking in the amazing view.

The room itself was clean, stylish and comfortable - everything you would expect from a five star hotel. The bathroom could do with a renovation, looking a little tired but perfectly functional with a large bath. There was some dust on the ledge of the bath but aside from that, the room was clean. The bed was very comfortable, lovely sheets and pillows.

I could hear the neighbours very loudly, including the cleaners in the rooms next door so the sound insulation may not be the best.

I ordered room service which was of very poor quality, the noodles were very dry and stuck together, the whole thing was inedible and a disappointment. I called reception to explain and requested the meal be omitted from my bill and I would leave it outside the room for collection. The room service menu was quite impressive, a good selection, including healthy and vegetarian options.

Next morning dining for buffet breakfast, there was no sign to indicate wait to be seated or staff member to greet guests, so we seated ourselves. We were then approached by a member of staff who bluntly asked why we were sitting there and if we were on the wait list. I apologised and stated I wasn't aware you had to wait to be seated and offered to move but was rudely told "what's the point, you are seated now." This soured the dining experience and we were ignored by several staff when attempting to order coffee, finally after getting up and approaching a third member we received coffee. The staff member who delivered it was exceptionally nice and helpful, unlike the two I had previously approached who failed to deliver the coffees. The breakfast area was buzzing with guests and rightfully so, the food was sensational. A large array of freshly made breakfast foods ranging from pastries to dumplings, catering for all.

Upon check out, I had to confirm the room service meal was not on my bill, it was. I then had to explain the scenario again to an uninterested staff member and after a delay, the bill was corrected. Again, another disappointment as I would expect matters such as these are diligently taken care of to avoid delay and inconvenience to guests.

I would stay here again, it is a lovely hotel however, there are inconsistencies that I feel are overlooked. One of the main reasons I choose a hotel of this calibre is the consistency of service on all aspects and I do not think this hotel delivered that on this stay.

Room Tip: Opt for higher park view rooms, worth paying extra for the wall to ceiling views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torikajones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Torika,

Thank you for your feedback.
We are saddened to hear that you were not treated to 5-star service on a number of occasions during your stay. There is no excuse for this and we are extremely sorry.
We appreciate your comments and have passed them on to management for review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#7 of 160 in Melbourne
2,660 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#18 of 160 in Melbourne
1,947 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
#10 of 160 in Melbourne
1,510 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#31 of 160 in Melbourne
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Property: Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Address: 123 Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 548
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Melbourne hotel is a 5-star hotel on Collins Street in the centre of CBD, business, luxury shopping, theatre and restaurant district. The hotel is located within walking distance of Princess Theatre, Federation Square and Southgate. The hotel provides 550 rooms and suites with extensive meeting rooms and event facilities, spectacular upper and lower lobbies, the restaurant, Collins Kitchen, the bar, RU-CO, as well as an exclusive retail environment and innovative events venue, the residence. Guests booking into Club accommodation will enjoy all the benefits of the Grand Club lounge including personalised express check in and check-out, deluxe continental breakfast, all day refreshments, evening drinks with canapes and private meeting areas. For meetings and events, Grand Hyatt Melbourne offers the perfect combination of first-class function rooms, outstanding services and a range of flexible packages. For weddings our Melbourne hotel offers a range of romantic rooms for your special day. Grand Hyatt Melbourne also offers all guests' access to City Club Health & Fitness 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing