We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Ranked #21 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Almost perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

The staff are brilliant, the location excellent. The only fly in the ointment was the perpetual athletics coming from the next room. The soundproofing needs addressing. Otherwise, a safe, comfortable, friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Meryl E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
We are glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us and your wonderful comments about our property are greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,411
    912
    339
    108
    70
See reviews for
545
1,486
180
1,178
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (564)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

This hotel ticks all boxes for a nights stay in Melbourne.
It is so close to every thing Resturantes,theatres sightseeing etc.
We walked every where and the rooms are well appointed with huge bed and so comfy..big bathroom.GOOD choice of toiletries.
We had deluxe room over looking the river
Breakfast is the best we have had for a long time. Huge restaurant and so many things to eat. Just wonderful.
Over all a good place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
We are glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us and your wonderful comments about our property are greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

Love everything The Hyatt stands for - from the moment of arrival to check out. the service was outstanding and rooms were awesome - worth the buck! - The only hotel I stay in Melbourne :-)- two thumps up!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Anfernee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Front Office Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
We are glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us and your wonderful comments about our property are greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, for my 36th wedding anniversary, it was a wotif deal. Really worth while, value for money,
It was a wonderful place to stay, close to shops, lots of designer shops too!,
really comfy bed, and a nice bath to relax in. I thought it was a great stay would definitely return again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Holiday591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
We are glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us and your wonderful comments about our property are greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lara, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at this hotel again (we are repeat and happy lodgers). The complex is magnificent, staff were all brilliant. We stayed in room 2812 - great view!, all little comforts are well thought of such as bathroom amenities (this appears to be a cost savings at other hotels..here theyre of good quality and everything is covered should you forget an item). Also loved their Dont Stress offer - i.e. anything you may have forgotten the hotel will get for you..truly a great service. We had a party in town and later in night came back to the hotel bar - excellent service once again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Front Office Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
We are glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us and your wonderful comments about our property are greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed here for a Saturday night, through Wotif's secret hotel deals. We were going to a concert, and had left it late to book a hotel, so thought we'd wing it and book it at $229.
The description was a 5 star hotel with stunning views, walking distance to Bourke Street.
On paying for the deal, we received the hotel booking, being at the Grand Hyatt and were very excited and happy with the deal (saving about $80 off regular price).
The entrance and reception area is very stunning, and nicely designed. We were quickly checked in and offered late checkout. Our room was good, although we did expect more in terms of decor and styling with the hotel being 5 star. Our view was facing collins street/russell street, with two large cranes in view which was slightly disappointing as I'd requested a nice view on booking - but you cant have everything! The hotel was nice, but lacked in 5 star touches. It would also have been great to have more information available in the room, showing where each restaurant in the hotel was located, menus, dining times etc. Then we would have had meals at the hotel.

Overall it was a good stay, but if we were paying over $300 to stay in the CBD I would defiantly go with Crown Towers for the luxury, decor, style and excellent position/views.

Room Tip: park across the road at secure parking for $12 per day
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WeLoveMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Front Office Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
We are glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us and your wonderful comments about our property are greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

Overall this was very nice, I think the rooms are a little worn (marks on the walls etc.) but the bathrooms made up for this - so lovely. Beds were very comfortable too. Buffet breakfast is by far the best I have had in any hotel in Australia. I would return to stay again. Only issue we had was with the cleaning service which did not stock the room properly and charged us for items we had not used and were not there when we checked in, they were also the same in the bathroom - did not pay very good attention to this.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clairer23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
We are glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us and your wonderful comments about our property are greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,411 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,169 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#14 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#29 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
#11 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Property: Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Address: 123 Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 548
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Melbourne hotel is a 5-star hotel on Collins Street in the centre of CBD, business, luxury shopping, theatre and restaurant district. The hotel is located within walking distance of Princess Theatre, Federation Square and Southgate. The hotel provides 548 rooms and suites with extensive meeting rooms and event facilities, spectacular upper and lower lobbies, the restaurant, Collins Kitchen, the bar, RU-CO, as well as an exclusive retail environment and innovative events venue, the residence. Guests booking into Club accommodation will enjoy all the benefits of the Grand Club lounge including personalised express check in and check-out, deluxe continental breakfast, all day refreshments, evening drinks with canapes and private meeting areas. For meetings and events, Grand Hyatt Melbourne offers the perfect combination of first-class function rooms, outstanding services and a range of flexible packages. For weddings our Melbourne hotel offers a range of romantic rooms for your special day. Grand Hyatt Melbourne also offers all guests' access to City Club Health & Fitness 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing