We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Ranked #23 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Having previously stayed at the park Hyatt, and this bring also a Hyatt my expectations where very high.

Most of the staff where absolutely fantastic. The room was a lot smaller than I expected, walked in, had bathroom on right and a narrow corridor and then the bed to your right hand side a nice corner room coach in the corner and facing the television and fridge etc.

The city views where a little underwhelming, however I did organise this room at short notice. However there was a good view of the Tennis Court looking down and the basketball ring, and golf practice nets.

This hotel would be ideal for those who want to be in the heart of Downtown Melbourne.

In relation to comparing the Park and Grand Hyatt;

1. I will give the hotel credit for its air conditioning system which is easy to use, and works instantly without any delay. The park Hyatt air conditioning system is temperamental. And harder to operate.

2. If anyone is a gym junkie, the Grand Hyatt hotel Gym is massive.

However, still by far, I would recommend the park Hyatt over the Grand but a lot of this comes down to personal preference.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MelbourneAus85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Front Office Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for your honest review. Whist both Grand Hyatt and Park Hyatt are in the 'Hyatt' family our properties are very different and attract varied guests based on this.
We hope to see you back at either of our properties soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,598
    965
    360
    127
    73
See reviews for
584
1,611
194
1,264
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (591)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

The noisiest room I have had the misfortune to stay in and I have stayed in many. We stayed 2 nights and housekeeping also missed our room after the first night. I also object to the cost of daily internet service which I believe is well out of step with both todays customer expactations as well as reasonable pricing.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
3 Thank Grahame E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Front Office Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Grahame, Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. As a 5 star hotel, we strive to deliver exceptional service and world class accommodation for our guests, and are disappointed that it did not meet your expectations on this occasion. We have raised the noisy room with our Director of Engineering for investigation and action. We are also currently in the process of reviewing our WiFi offering. Thank you again and we hope you will stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Loved the hotel, service, packages available. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The view from our room was amazing! Would definitely recommend the hotel to friends and family and look forward to staying there again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Analia_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
We are glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us and your wonderful comments about our property are greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Maybe my standards are to high, but when you go to a 5 star hotel you expect things to work effiencently and they didn't. The room and location were fantasic, but I have had better service when I was staying in hostels backpacking through Europe and they are 10th of the price.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Front Office Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Grahame, Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. As a 5 star hotel, we strive to deliver exceptional service and world class accommodation for our guests, and are disappointed that it did not meet your expectations on this occasion. We have raised the noisy room with our Director of Engineering for investigation and action. We are also currently in the process of reviewing our WiFi offering. Thank you again and we hope you will stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
201 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

This is an average five star hotel. Many of the rooms only have a view of the adjacent building so this really lets it down. When we arrived in our room the first thing i noticed was the eindows were very dirty. The rooms are a normal size for a hotel of this category but there is nothing special abot it.

Room Tip: pay more for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WildcatNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
We are saddened to hear you were not overly happy with your stay. Although a little more expensive if you are looking for that 'wow' faction i would suggest upgrading to a Club Room to gain access to our exclusive Club Lounge. With complementary refreshments and 180 views of Melbourne from the 31st floor this experience will defiantly give you that 'wow' factor you are seeking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keysborough, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 9, 2013

After a long hard day in the Office, turned up at the Grand Hyatt to be greated by the most friendly and helpful Staff I have ever come across, felt comfortable straight away !! Hotel Room was spectacular both with features and views; thinking it couldn't get any better I strolled to Collins Kitchen for their evening Buffet .. all I can say is WOW best buffet I've ever had. Absoutely the perfect Hotel experience !!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
We are glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us.
Your wonderful comments are greatly appreciated and have been shared with the team here at Grand Hyatt.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Hotel location which in the great location where you can shop for luxury goods and a lots great restaurant is near by. The places also nearby to China town where just a walking distance to check out good food and shop.

Hotel is provide good service for every matter. If you are intend to stay in this hotel, please reserve in advance to avoid peak season.

The hotel is no train service, please take note that is may need rent a car for anytime.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kinki25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of our central location. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 159 in Melbourne
2,597 reviews
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#4 of 159 in Melbourne
5,413 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#18 of 159 in Melbourne
1,937 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
#8 of 159 in Melbourne
1,482 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#31 of 159 in Melbourne
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Property: Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Address: 123 Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 548
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Melbourne hotel is a 5-star hotel on Collins Street in the centre of CBD, business, luxury shopping, theatre and restaurant district. The hotel is located within walking distance of Princess Theatre, Federation Square and Southgate. The hotel provides 548 rooms and suites with extensive meeting rooms and event facilities, spectacular upper and lower lobbies, the restaurant, Collins Kitchen, the bar, RU-CO, as well as an exclusive retail environment and innovative events venue, the residence. Guests booking into Club accommodation will enjoy all the benefits of the Grand Club lounge including personalised express check in and check-out, deluxe continental breakfast, all day refreshments, evening drinks with canapes and private meeting areas. For meetings and events, Grand Hyatt Melbourne offers the perfect combination of first-class function rooms, outstanding services and a range of flexible packages. For weddings our Melbourne hotel offers a range of romantic rooms for your special day. Grand Hyatt Melbourne also offers all guests' access to City Club Health & Fitness 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Grand Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing