We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Ranked #20 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Whenever I go to Melbourne I only stay at the Grand Hyatt. Once I discovered this hotel I knew I was onto a good thing and have not been disappointed.

I love that I can book online and include not just my accommodation but also any airport transfers I might need in one go and on one bill. The location is convenient for my business needs plus any leisure activities like the theatre or shopping.

Rooms are spacious and well appointed. The bathrooms are large with a separate shower and bath. The large windows maximise the views of Melbourne and provide a fantastic backdrop. The Concierge Level is good and again enjoys amazing views across Melbourne.

I look forward to my next stay in a few weeks.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DCHManager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear DCHManager

Thank you for your wonderful review.
It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of our central location. We are very fortunate to have such helpful staff who go above and beyond to insure our guests have a memorable experience whist staying with us.
We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,224
    843
    305
    97
    65
See reviews for
486
1,352
160
1,117
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Have stayed here in the past and it was a great hotel but oh my this time it's been found a bit wanting. Firstly, I have stayed in 7 international hotels over the past month and this was the first that charged for broadband - come on Hyatt this is the 21 st century and business travellers expect hassle free broadband included in the rate, not 55 cents per minute! Secondly, if you have more than one suitcase don't expect to have anywhere to place it but on the floor. And finally we were out all day but our room was not made up. I like the renovated decor but without the service and customer experience to match I cannot recommend this as a place to stay in Melbourne.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Spencer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Spencer,
Thank you for your honest feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve our service and overall product to insure our guests have a memorable experience. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back to the Grand Hyatt soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We had 1 night here at the end of our stay in Melbourne. I booked it as a mystery hotel and it did not let us down. The view from the rooms is wonderful and the bed was so comfy. Would definitely stay here again. Pool was nice as well. Their bar at night is awesome and music was tasteful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 631Sue007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Sue,

Thank you for your wonderful review.
It is great to hear you were happy with Hyatt as your mystery hotel. ru-co bar is a beautiful venue and we are thrilled you enjoyed it as much as we do.
We look forward to your next less mysterious visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as it was a few minutes walk from the show King Kong. We always book into Club Lounge level rooms with access to the Club Lounge. This is the worst Club Lounge that I have experienced.
The rooms were clean and OK. The bathroom was old and dated. Don't bother about running a bath - it would take at least a day to get a full bath tub. The water trickles out.
Food in the main restaurant was average not amazing.
The Club Lounge food in the evening was limited in comparison to food from other Club Lounges that we have stayed in ie. Langham, Marriott, Four Seasons. The breakfast in the Club Lounge is all continental only NO HOT food. I would not bother in upgrading to Club Lounge rooms/service - definitely not worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jinnine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Jinnine,

Thank you for your honest feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve our service and overall product to insure our guests have a memorable experience. your comments have been passed on to management for review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
119 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Great location for business and surprisingly warm service! My boss had a shower in the morning here before a meeting, and he wasn't even booked to stay here! Ask for a south facing room for views of the park and Port Melbourne. The gym is a commercial gym, so it's brilliant. Stayed here multiple times over June and July 2013 and service was always great.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank RockYu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear RockYu

Thank you for your wonderful review.
It is great to hear that both you and your boss enjoyed our facilities. We are very fortunate to have City Club gym available to all of our in-house guests. We thank you for your continual loyalty and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaikoura, New Zealand
Level Contributor
123 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

From the doorman to our early check in to our room was a friendly experience. Walked everywhere from here, close to river, trams, and the whole Melbourne experience. pool, gym and golf driving range were all extra benefits.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sidari14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Pamela4141

Thank you for your wonderful review.
It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of our central location as well as our many 5 star facilities.
We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome. Our rooms were adjoining but not connected. This was our only issue as it meant that our children were separated from us all night. The rooms were comfortable and the beds were great. Lovely views of Melbourne. The bathrooms were well appointed and nearly everything was provided. Breakfast was a real bonus, everything you could think of and the best poached eggs ever! The hotel staff even arranged a packed lunch for my daughter to take to school. We've never stayed in our home town before but would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Katie
Thank you for your wonderful review.
It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry about the adjoining room oversight but glad that everything else made for a pleasurable experience. Hyatt packed lunch wow that is a bonus, we are very fortunate to have such helpful staff who enjoy surprising and delighting our guests so they do return to stay with us.
We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#3 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,210 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,839 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#11 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#29 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Property: Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Address: 123 Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 548
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Melbourne hotel is a 5-star hotel on Collins Street in the centre of CBD, business, luxury shopping, theatre and restaurant district. The hotel is located within walking distance of Princess Theatre, Federation Square and Southgate. The hotel provides 548 rooms and suites with extensive meeting rooms and event facilities, spectacular upper and lower lobbies, the restaurant, Collins Kitchen, the bar, RU-CO, as well as an exclusive retail environment and innovative events venue, the residence. Guests booking into Club accommodation will enjoy all the benefits of the Grand Club lounge including personalised express check in and check-out, deluxe continental breakfast, all day refreshments, evening drinks with canapes and private meeting areas. For meetings and events, Grand Hyatt Melbourne offers the perfect combination of first-class function rooms, outstanding services and a range of flexible packages. For weddings our Melbourne hotel offers a range of romantic rooms for your special day. Grand Hyatt Melbourne also offers all guests' access to City Club Health & Fitness 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing