We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Ranked #23 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Two night stay - Friday and Saturday. Central to everything in Melbourne. Even though we booked on-line at 'special' rates I thought it was expensive, and the room we had was small and we overlooked a construction site (hard not to in Melbourne at the moment) but the bed and bed linen were perfect. Nice bathroom and great shower. I was surprised how much noise was transfered from other bathrooms into our room.

On check-in we were asked if we'd like a later check-out. We didn't need it but it was nice to be offered. The doormen were particularly cheerful on both arrival and departure.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sallys_View
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Sallys_View

Thank you for your review.
It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very fortunate to have such helpful staff who go above and beyond to insure our guests have a memorable experience whist staying with us.
We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,434)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,717 - 3,723 of 4,435 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great location , friendly staff , excellent rooms. We stayed 2 nights , arrived at 0800 am and they check us directly in able to use the room immediately fantastic ! . Rooms have good view and are quite spacious . Room service was prompt and food very nice . Check in and out was very quick and easy , doorman very helpful , I certainly would stay there again !

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lottie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Lottie68
Thank you for your wonderful review.
It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and had a seamless check-in and check-out. We are very fortunate to have such helpful staff who go above and beyond to insure our guests have a memorable experience whist staying with us.
We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying in the Diplomatic Suite at the Grand Hyatt on the weekend. The room is amazing with breath taking views, especially from the spa; if your looking for a luxurious and beautiful room to stay in this is it! The service and professionalism of the staff we encountered was impeccable making our stay a lovely experience rather than just a night away in a hotel room. Canapés and pre dinner drinks in the Grand Club Lounge were a delight with the staff eager to please and offering a superb balance of friendliness without being intrusive. We would like to particularly thank Ilan and Mona for their level of professionalism and service in organising our night away, we definitely look forward to returning to the Grand Hyatt for special occasions in the future and will be recommending this hotel to our friends and family!

Room Tip: The Diplomatic Suites are amazing, I highly recommend this room! I would suggest to book rooms on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Hi Nikki, thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. Must admit the suite is a little luxurious. I have passed it on to Mona who said you were a pleasure to have stay with us. We all look forward to seeing your again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Booked for 3 and room not set up. Requested bed made up after 8pm. We arrived back from dinner at 930pm and bed still not made. Lobby bar good, first visit took 5 mins to be served. Coffee and desert great at late night stop at lobby bar. Rooms good , enjoyed pool and spa. City View good. Overall I enjoyed the hotel but you know it was not quite perfect

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Andrew,

Thank you for your honest feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve our service and overall product to insure our guests have a memorable experience. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back to the Grand Hyatt soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Hyatt recently for one night and were again impressed with the great staff.

Our room was well appointed although we had a fairly uninspiring view of an office building. (Not that it really mattered as we spent very little time there). The bed was incredibly comfortable, the room pleasant and very clean. Definitely our new 'go to' hotel in Melbourne.

The only real negative was the alarm surprising us at 5am... Granted, we probably should have checked it before bed but do think its housekeeping's role to do so.

There's also an Avis rental car pick up from the lobby which was great for our morning departure to rural Victoria.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marniemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear marniemac
Thank you for your wonderful review.
We are thrilled to be appointed your new 'go to Melbourne Hotel'!
How strange that your alarm went off at 5am, we certainly recommend a long leisurely sleep in with our comfy beds and blackout curtains. We hope you fell back asleep quickly after this.
We look forward to your next visit to Melbourne and I can assure you there will be no unnecessary 5am wake up this time around.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

You would have to be very hard to please to complain about this hotel. WE enjoyed it thoroughly. Highlights are great location in Paris end of Melbourne city, dark rooms for a great sleep in and awesome breakfast in restaurant.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Peter
Thank you for your wonderful review.
It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of our central location and our delicious buffet breakfast.
We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were what you'd expect for the price and value. Good size. View was average as I was facing the buildings and stadium. Food and drinks at the lobby bar Ruco was great. Comfy beds. Pillows to choose from. Close to Flinders Lane and NGV. Old town end of the city. Collins street is my only fav street in melb.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Llia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Llia,
Thank you for your review.
It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of our central location as well as our fantastic services at ru-co bar.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 161 in Melbourne
2,822 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#16 of 161 in Melbourne
2,016 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#28 of 161 in Melbourne
871 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#6 of 161 in Melbourne
5,783 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Address: 123 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $175 - $598 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Melbourne hotel is a 5-star hotel on Collins Street in the centre of CBD, business, luxury shopping, theatre and restaurant district. The hotel is located within walking distance of Princess Theatre, Federation Square and Southgate. The hotel provides 550 rooms and suites with extensive meeting rooms and event facilities, spectacular upper and lower lobbies, the restaurant, Collins Kitchen, the bar, RU-CO, as well as an exclusive retail environment and innovative events venue, the residence. Guests booking into Club accommodation will enjoy all the benefits of the Grand Club lounge including personalised express check in and check-out, deluxe continental breakfast, all day refreshments, evening drinks with canapes and private meeting areas. For meetings and events, Grand Hyatt Melbourne offers the perfect combination of first-class function rooms, outstanding services and a range of flexible packages. For weddings our Melbourne hotel offers a range of romantic rooms for your special day. Grand Hyatt Melbourne also offers all guests' access to City Club Health & Fitness 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing