We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Ranked #19 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
270 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights. Ideal location for touring both the north and south side of the river. View from our corner room was good with 2 windows. Staff were very knowledgeable and helpful. Did not eat at the hotel as there are so many restaurants to choose from nearby.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank 19Graham68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear 19Graham68
It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of our central location.
We are fortunate to have wonderful staff who insure our guests have a memorable stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,091
    796
    284
    92
    57
See reviews for
457
1,277
151
1,033
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Grand Hyatt on Saturday night 10th August 2013 for our 39th wedding anniversary. The staff were fantastic and could not have helped us any more, close to the city centre and great Restaurants not far from the Hotel. Beds were great and rooms excellent.
Judy

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judy105303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Judy
It is great to hear you enjoyed your celebratory stay with us. Wow 39 years what a milestone we hope you had a memorable night.
We look forward to seeing you again hopefully for the big 40!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for 3 nights. Very tasty halal food. Room service is exceptional. Rooms are quite spacious. Location is central with easy access everywhere. Bed was a bit too soft for my liking. They send a survey after my stay and when I mentioned about the bed, got a personal email from the GM saying that my profile has been updated and now whenever I will stay there I will get a hard bed. I am going back in 20 days.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zaib-Naeem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Zaib
It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of our central location. Our surveys are to insure we receive your feedback as a valued guest and insure you have all you need for your return visit with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
65 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed here courtesy of a Wotif 'mystery deal' - our first time at this hotel, and we'd definitely return (if we could afford it! - the Wotif deal was a Friday and Saturday night for $414, which was excellent value). I usually prefer boutique hotels, B&Bs, etc, so if I stay at a large city hotel I like to get a view. Given we were on a cheap deal I wasn't expecting much, so was really delighted to walk into our north-facing room on the 14th floor and see the corner of Collins and Russell Sts which features two beautiful old churches and the lovely T&G building. The fact that the rooms are set well back on the block contributes to a real sense of spaciousness and privacy when you look out your window. The room and bathroom were very nicely set up, and staff were excellent. The only criticisms are that: (1) the room was noisier with the sound of water in pipes than any other I've ever been in!, and (2) that late on Saturday night there was a horrible bass music thump coming from somewhere nearby.... Neither worried us, but no doubt it would annoy others.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KMCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear KM,
It is great to hear you had en enjoyably stay with us. We hope you choose to return soon to take in our spectacular views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Stayed the one night and it was good. The hotel ambience especially in the lounge area with the fires going was lovely to have a coffee and a sandwich. Later we had a meal in the bar which although very nice, service was slow and very very overpriced. The atmosphere is great as it is throughout the hotel.
Service on the front desk was outstanding even though I had booked through one of the cheap deals I still managed to get a great room that was spacious with great views.
Will certainly go again.

Room Tip: Ask for high rise if you want a view - above level 18. Just lovely on a night time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank siviter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Siviter,

It is great to hear you had a wonderful stay with us. Our lounge has a wonderful relaxing ambiance and we are glad you enjoyed this. We look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights earlier in the week and had a great experience. We'd actually stayed here on our wedding night in 2009 when they were undertaking a refurbishment of the hotel, and our stay was quite disappointing, so I was a little apprehensive about returning.

However, our stay was perfect. We stayed in a larger corner king room as we had out 18 month old with us and there was plenty of room for all of us. The room was well appointed and had great views into the city.

Service was very good also.

We ate in the restaurant once for breakfast, plenty of variety. Room service food was also very tasty.

Only criticism was the pool area. It's located in the public (by membership) gym, and it clearly wasn't included in the refurbishment a few years ago.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank La-Da_Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear La-Da

It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us this time around, hopefully it makes up for the unfortunate wedding night back in 2009. We look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

This is was our third visit to Collins kitchen. On two other occasions we were part of a corporate function with a group per- organised banquet, so I was not aware of meals taken to individual diners. The tasty , flavoursome menu items in the past brought us back, the small portions of the banquet was balanced by several courses. However, we were really disappointed when dining as a couple, pre- theatre. I ordered seafood risotto as a main, tasty as expected, but I received a thin serving spread across the inner circle of a dinner plate, with five small-medium shelled prawns, no other seafood was visible, as an entree this might have been acceptable - Not as a $30 Main meal. My partner had a BBQ meat plate $35, no vegetable so for a small serve of mash($10) and even smaller brocollini($10) it was expensive for pre theatre dinner. This in not a fine dining experience, polished wood tables, that wobble, on the other side of the lobby.My lime margarita was $19 and just fine, but not worth ordering a second. I do not mind paying high prices for great food, but I do not like to feel, I am being taken advantage of, so I decided to use my entertainment card to reduce the cost, instead of saving it for use with a larger group. We won't be caught like this again, I was starving and did not have time to order anything else, had it been offered ( which it wasn't). Melbourne is filled with wonderful places to eat, so step outside of the hotel is my advice.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Celeste M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Collins Kitchen Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback, we were happy to hear that you found Collins Kitchen meals to be tasty and that you had come back for the third time. However we were disappointed that you felt the portion sizes were small compared to the price and that this was not comparable to your previous experiences
We do try to take into consideration pricing from similar five star hotel restaurants and find that we are comparable to them. We will take your feedback on board and use it to better price our future menus and offerings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 4,601 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#2 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 2,039 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,910 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#12 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,728 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Property: Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Address: 123 Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 548
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Melbourne hotel is a 5-star hotel on Collins Street in the centre of CBD, business, luxury shopping, theatre and restaurant district. The hotel is located within walking distance of Princess Theatre, Federation Square and Southgate. The hotel provides 548 rooms and suites with extensive meeting rooms and event facilities, spectacular upper and lower lobbies, the restaurant, Collins Kitchen, the bar, RU-CO, as well as an exclusive retail environment and innovative events venue, the residence. Guests booking into Club accommodation will enjoy all the benefits of the Grand Club lounge including personalised express check in and check-out, deluxe continental breakfast, all day refreshments, evening drinks with canapes and private meeting areas. For meetings and events, Grand Hyatt Melbourne offers the perfect combination of first-class function rooms, outstanding services and a range of flexible packages. For weddings our Melbourne hotel offers a range of romantic rooms for your special day. Grand Hyatt Melbourne also offers all guests' access to City Club Health & Fitness 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing