We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ist choice for friends visiting.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Ranked #23 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ist choice for friends visiting.”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Being a resident of the most liveable city in Australia we often have friends visiting. Time and again we have put them up here and each and every stay has been what was hoped for. Central to CBD shopping, fine dining and easy for us to get in to catch up.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear CPA
It is great to hear your friends enjoyed their stay with us and that you all took advantage of our central location. We thank you for your recommendations and hope your guests continue to enjoy there Melbourne experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,549
    951
    354
    123
    72
See reviews for
576
1,585
190
1,232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (584)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
173 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My son and I stayed the one night last week and enjoyed our stay. In particular, the beds were fantastic, best sleep I've had in a long time.

The hotel is so well located at the top end of Collins Street so every thing is in walking distance and/or tram stop 2 minutes away.

Will stay here again.

Room Tip: Join the Hyatt Club. We had 2 singles in the one room and we still had sufficient space to move arou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanA63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Ian
It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of our central location. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
270 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This was my go to hotel in Melbourne for some years. However it then became very shabby and I just had too many complaints for what was a 5 star property. As it was about to have a major refurb I decided to leave it alone for a few years until both the rooms and also the public areas had been completed. They are well and truly finished and I must say they look terrific ( except the veneer that is chipping off badly on the outside of the room doors ) However it is amazing how the little things ruin everything. When I checked into my room I thought it was lovely however the bath was covered in black dust. Everytime I got into the room card activated lift my card did not work. This meant I had to continually go down to the front desk and get access to both the lift and my room. Luckily I only stayed one night so this was only 3 times but very frustrating. The hotel is lovely and perfectly located but !!. I am going back towards the end of the month so will give the hotel another go. Stay tuned and I will give you an update.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janwholeboxndice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I would often walk past here on our way to our favourite restaurant PM24, and think how cosy it looked. We decided to stay for a night, and thoroughly enjoyed our time here!
The staff were friendly and very helpful, and the room was clean and well set-up, and gave a magnificent view if the city.
I would recommend this for anyone visiting the city for a romantic get-away.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taziara7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Taziara7
Thank you for your positive review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you in advance for your recommendation. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The hotel is dated so it should go above and beyond to lift value which it doesn't.
During my stay Liverpool were playing in Melbourne rates were elevated to say the least!
Staff however were very courteous. It is central and easy to access.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherlock47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Sherlock,
We are very fortunate to have wonderful staff members that go above and beyond to make our guests feel at home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The checkin - handling for my room was impeccable and the lady handling it was professional and presented a genuine attitude of a customer service priority.

The room - sizable enough however generally found it unsatisfactory. Being apparently business travel catering hotel was amazed at the price of Internet on top of an already high room charge. There is no convenient power supply to the room table leaving a laptop cable hanging across the room is not great and generally the room is not laid out for working from the room comfortably. The chair was uncomfortable, table with rounded edges is not good to work at etc.
The television was small, watching a foreign film from the bed and I was struggling to read the captions - I have 20/20 vision.

Cleanliness was okay, but the room feels as tired as the dust that settled between the keys of the phone.

Being in the room didn't feel like a pleasurable experience, certainly didn't feel 5star, also it was a rather noisy early in the morning - although it was children screaming in the room above me that was the problem. I suspect there is not much the hotel can do about that... unless they were screaming about the room quality! :)

Customer service hit a fail on otherwise great service, when leaving the hotel this morning to go out and I find there is no room supplied umbrella. Approaching reception I see they are busy so try downstairs concierge. They have none suggest I try upstairs, upstairs I wait... Nope, try downstairs. I'm sure that's not 5 star service bouncing your customer upstairs/downstairs. A bit of coordination/communication between the two desks is in order.

Location - Excellent.

I would avoid staying here until renovations have taken place or insist on a good room my schedule was busy and it was a short stay so I did not pursue the option.

Room Tip: Ask for a recently refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D_DAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear, D_Dav,
We are terribly sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. I would highly recommend our Grand Suite King with separate living area equipped with desk (and umbrella). This suite comes with exclusive access to our Grand Club lounge offering deluxe continental breakfast, all day refreshments and evening drinks with canapes.
We hope to have the chance to change your opinion and leave a lasting positive impression after your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

What a great hotel! I mentioned it was my birthday and they gave me a complimentary bottle of wine and later check out. The service was wonderful and prompt. The room was beautiful and clean, I really have nothing to complain, it was wonderful value with a wotif mystery deal. The bed was sooo comfy too. I will be back soon and next time I will try the breakfast because the restaurants looked so inviting. I can't comment on the facilities unfortunately I forgot to bring my bathers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 180Lucienne180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Lucienne,

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your birthday stay with us. Our staff do a fantastic job of looking after those who are celebrating special occasions insuring you have a memorable night. We look forward to your next visit and highly suggest you do stop by Collins Kitchen for a delicious meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,537 reviews
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#4 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,348 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#17 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#28 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
#8 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Property: Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Address: 123 Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 548
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Melbourne hotel is a 5-star hotel on Collins Street in the centre of CBD, business, luxury shopping, theatre and restaurant district. The hotel is located within walking distance of Princess Theatre, Federation Square and Southgate. The hotel provides 548 rooms and suites with extensive meeting rooms and event facilities, spectacular upper and lower lobbies, the restaurant, Collins Kitchen, the bar, RU-CO, as well as an exclusive retail environment and innovative events venue, the residence. Guests booking into Club accommodation will enjoy all the benefits of the Grand Club lounge including personalised express check in and check-out, deluxe continental breakfast, all day refreshments, evening drinks with canapes and private meeting areas. For meetings and events, Grand Hyatt Melbourne offers the perfect combination of first-class function rooms, outstanding services and a range of flexible packages. For weddings our Melbourne hotel offers a range of romantic rooms for your special day. Grand Hyatt Melbourne also offers all guests' access to City Club Health & Fitness 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing