We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable and great position” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Ranked #21 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and great position”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in June, Room was very comfortable and bathroom had great walk in shower - no conditioner or shower gel but Housekeeping were very apologetic and got some to the room immediately. Slightly disappointed to go down to bar for pre dinner drink and find that all tables were taken and we ended up at a small table in the restaurant but the staff couldn't have been more helpful and hardly their fault that the Lions were in town. Dinner was at a great table with big windows overlooking the main sculptures outside the hotel entrance. The food was extremely good and the portions were huge - in fact way too big. It might be an idea to suggest that the charcuterie plates are a joint starter rather than let us order one each and then be totally overwhelmed by the amount. Consequently, the mixed grill for two main course was a little wasted which was a shame because what we did manage to eat was very good. Breakfast was very good with lots of choice, little if any queues and fresh, hot food - not always the case with a big hotel buffet. Again, good service made a difference too. Hotel is also in a good position. I would go back here and would also recommend the Grand Hyatt to anyone visiting Melbourne.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Momac53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Momac,
Thank you for your feedback. We have passed your comments on to the food and beverage department for review. We are glad to hear you did enjoy your stay with us and we look forward to your return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,402
    906
    338
    108
    70
See reviews for
543
1,476
180
1,176
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (564)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

I don’t normally write reviews, but our overnight stay was…
to put it simply, the perfect city retreat for us! Best overnight stay in a long time!
Excellent corner room with panoramic views.
Great selection from the breakfast buffet.
Thank you to the wonderful staff at Grant Hyatt Melbourne.
We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlosDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Carlos,
Thank you for your positive review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

I spent one night at the Grand Hyatt in Melbourne, and was lucky that this was a mystery hotel booked through Wotif.com at a very reasonable rate.
From check in to check out I could not fault the service. I arrived about an hour before normal check in, to drop off my bag and go shopping and was very happy to be told that my room was ready and I could check in.
The room had everything I needed. When I had a problem with my TV and quick phone call and I was talked through how to quickly fix it. A good choice of room service is provided and I was pleasantly surprised that it was delivered in the promised 30 minutes.
I was on a low floor (level 10) with a view of the hotel basketball and tennis court, but for the price I paid I would not expect the best view. As it was a wet day in Melbourne no one was using them so this was not an issue.
The hotel is centrally located on Collins St & Russell St, with trams at the front door and very close to both Flinders St and Parliament stations.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickelscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Nickelscout
We are glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us. We hope to see you back here soon hopefully without the rain so you can enjoy our central location a little more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

The location is excellent, in the midst of the shops. The rooms are excellent with everything you would need, even things like a travel adapter! Total luxury throughout the hotel" The only slight down side would be the expense of parking a car if you have one.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Louise C
Thank you for your positive review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Sadly we do not own the car park so are subject to external pricing.
We hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

OK so lets start with "Floor-to-ceiling windows" - not true.
L-shaped lounge is against windows .. so to close them you have to climb over lounge.
No morning newspaper.
No turndown service offered.
$40 for breakfast.
$50 for valet parking for 3 hours and a 20 minute wait for car to be brought to front entrance.
Room service is less than imaginative.
Could not find "dataport".

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentOzTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear FrequentOzTraveller
We are saddened to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our couch is positioned for guests to sit on and enjoy the view hence why its positioning is next to the window. The data port is located within the cabinet at the end of this couch.
We do offer turn-down service upon request to all of our guests and would recommend notifying reception upon check-in you would like to receive this service. In regards to our valet parking we charge a flat rate of $50 rate for 24 hours but we are sorry to hear you had to wait 20 minutes for your car. Again I would recommend notifying reception of your departure time to allow them to have your vehicle ready and waiting in the driveway for you.
Please do feel free to contact reception at any point during your stay to ask about any missing amenities or services you would like to receive. As we would be extremely appreciative to rectify any issues you face before you leave having had a negative experience with us.
We do sincerely apologise and hope you do consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morwell, Australia
Level Contributor
431 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Only chose the hotel due to it being at the top of the city where we had to be.

With the online reservation I chose the "Night in" package which included valet parking and full breakfasts. This was easily booked with the Hyatt web service. Confirmation was soon recieved via email. Next day I returned to the Hyatt to check about upgrades and found the exact same room was now $20 cheaper. After a quick phone call I was given the cheaper rate.

On arrival at the main entrance we were greated and the boot unpacked and car taken care of.
To our surprise the room was ready for us, it was only 12 midday. We were not directed to the elevators which weren't apparent, nor were we told we needed to use the room card to access the floor in the elevator.

On exiting the elevator the entire passage seamed dark but this was due to dark walls and carpet. The room had the similar tonings and furnature. This was the smallest room we have stayed in in all the 5 star hotels we use. But in saying that the bathroom was a generous size and included a seperate bath which was nice. Anyway we weren't there to stay in the room.

The room and amenities were comfortable but were surprised that there was no pillow menu as we have become use to with this level of hotel. Reception looked puzzled to what we meant when we asked. Also surprised there was no turn down service. I guess we have been spoiled at other 5 star hotels in Melbourne.

Next morning when arriving for breakfast it was hard to get a free standing table with chairs, as most table had either one or two sides in a couch formation. Service at breakfast was excellent as well as the choices available.

The express checkout was quick and the car was ready when we departed.

This was one of the more expensive 5 star hotels in the area sevice was excellent, room was okay. I don't think we will return as there are others who do better for less at the same quality in Melbourne.

Room Tip: The basic room is small but then again it soon becomes a lot more expensive to up size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colint50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Colint50
We are glad to hear you received great service from our wonderful staff whist staying with us.
We do have a number of pillow options available for our guests however we do not possess a physical pillow menu. I am sorry this was incorrectly communicated to you.
Unfortunately our prices do vary dependent on the time of booking as is industry standard. However it is great to hear that our reservations team were able to offer you a discounted rate.
It does sadden us to hear you did not enjoy your experience with us and we have notified management of the communication issues you faced. We thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Great and modern rooms with all you can need as a busy business traveller. Location is perfect and the breakfast buffet is of excellent quality and variety and selection. I always know that I get a good night's sleep at the Grand Hyatt in Melbourne.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthias W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear MattCopenhagen,

We are thrilled to hear Grand Hyatt Melbourne made it into your favourite hotel list. We aim to offer our busy business travellers a refuge while they are away from home.
We hope to see you back in Collins Kitchen enjoying the buffet breakfast soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,397 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,158 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#15 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#29 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
#12 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Property: Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Address: 123 Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 548
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Melbourne hotel is a 5-star hotel on Collins Street in the centre of CBD, business, luxury shopping, theatre and restaurant district. The hotel is located within walking distance of Princess Theatre, Federation Square and Southgate. The hotel provides 548 rooms and suites with extensive meeting rooms and event facilities, spectacular upper and lower lobbies, the restaurant, Collins Kitchen, the bar, RU-CO, as well as an exclusive retail environment and innovative events venue, the residence. Guests booking into Club accommodation will enjoy all the benefits of the Grand Club lounge including personalised express check in and check-out, deluxe continental breakfast, all day refreshments, evening drinks with canapes and private meeting areas. For meetings and events, Grand Hyatt Melbourne offers the perfect combination of first-class function rooms, outstanding services and a range of flexible packages. For weddings our Melbourne hotel offers a range of romantic rooms for your special day. Grand Hyatt Melbourne also offers all guests' access to City Club Health & Fitness 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Booking.com, Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing