We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit and we'll be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Ranked #23 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Second visit and we'll be back!”
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

We had 2 nights in a club room on 31st floor. Access to the club lounge is wonderful - great coffee, views and snacks. Dinner in the restaurant was absolutely superb. The room was spotless and the bed divine! We can't wait to return again soon. Thanks to Grand Hyatt for another lovely stay.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank bottega s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear bottega s
Staying in our Club Rooms or Suites really is a treat. The panaraomic views from the exclusive Grand Club Lounge and complimentary breakfast and evening canapés are well worth it. Let’s hope you don’t have to wait too long to do it all over again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,539
    951
    352
    122
    72
See reviews for
575
1,579
189
1,228
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (581)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
179 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We had to overnight in Melbourne so I used the secret hotels deal on Lastminute.com - which turned out the be the Grand Hyatt. The service was impeccable from check in to check out and even afterwards. J discovered he had left his house keys behind when we got home a week later. The phone call was dealt with efficiently, we established that the keys had been found by house keeping and they arrived by express post shortly thereafter!

The location is excellent. The room was very quiet, the bed comfortable and we slept in. Our phone call to reception advising we might be a little late checking out elicited a very gracious response.

The room was spacious (for Melbourne) and the bathroom had a separate shower which is always a good sign. One minor quibble is the lighting - subdued is ok in the bedroom especially as there was a reading light; but it is not so good in the bathroom when you are trying to apply make up. I was a bit concerned I might end up looking like a clown in proper lighting.

We had a light lunch at the Collins Kitchen which was excellent. We missed breakfast thanks to the sleeping in referred to above.

In all it was a great stay. Happily the Hyatt was many times more organised that we were. We hope to stay again on a more leisurely trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandJAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear JandJAdelaide
What a fabulous mystery deal – a night at the Grand Hyatt – how lucky!
We’re glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us from start to finish and your key found its way home safely. Next time, if you’re feeling up to an early morning start, we highly recommend our delicious buffet breakfast at Collins Kitchen. The homemade waffles and omelettes made-to- order are absolutely scrumptious!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I stayed in a Grand King room for a recent conference which was also held at the hotel. Service was excellent. I was met at the taxi by the doorman who accompanied me up to the reception level. He explained the key features of the property as we went. Check in was polite. When I needed some printing the front desk staff printed a few documents for me without any hassle. The hotel is spacious, with large public areas. The Grand King room was more than adequate and luxuriously appointed. Very clean and everything worked as expected. Bathroom amenities were better than average. My only minor disappointment was the noise from the lifts (but I am a light sleeper). I did appreciate the block out curtains. The view from my room over the churches and city was very nice. The conference I attended was well organised, the food was great and my only gripe here was that the waiting staff attending to the tables need to take more care when setting the cutlery between courses. The Prime Minister was the guest of honour at our dinner and I thought the table service was a bit shabby. Overall, one of Melbourne's best hotels at the top end of Collins surrounded by luxury brands and very well located. Would definitely stay there again if the opportunity arises.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleep ask for a room away from the lift well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pierre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Pierre_JB
We are glad to hear you had a pleasant stay with us whilst in Melbourne for a conference. There’s nothing quite like seamless service and a comfortable room that makes your working day that much easier. We’re pleased that our staff were of great assistance and hope to welcome you back again this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Noisy bathroom of upstairs neighbour meant that I heard everything he did in the bathroom (and I mean EVERYTHING!).

This meant that I woke up when he woke up, 2 hours before my planned rising.

There was a full bath in the bathroom which was nice. The bed was comfortable & there was a choice of pillow types. The room air-conditioning was very noisy but at least it partly covered the noise of the person upstairs going to the toilet.

I only stayed here because it was the conference venue & in retrospect should have stayed elsewhere for the money. My overwhelming feeling was 'meh'.

Room Tip: There is a good cafe for breakfast & decent coffee in KPMG building just down Collins Street pas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheChairmanMeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
TheChairmanMeow
Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel. We’re disappointed to hear that despite sleeping on our superbly comfortable bed that your slumber was disrupted by noise throughout the night. We hope that the remainder of your stay and conference went well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2013

The Grand Hyatt, is very comfortable. Many Hotels only have a shower, with this Hotel you can relax and enjoy a long luxurious bath, in the privacy of your room. The rooms are clean and quite large and comfortable. The room service is quick. The food is excellent. Although, there is only a limit of food choices for a 24 hour service. The Restaurants are well serviced and provide a relaxing environment. There are 2 sittings for Afternoon Tea. You may take advantage of an a la carte option if you choose. The a la carte option allows you to stay there through out the day, with a view onto the main street. You may need to book for this as it gets filled quickly for high tea. Ask for a window seat. High tea times are 11.30am - 2.30am and 3.00pm - 5.00pm. The staff is friendly and obliging.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up, with a view and not near the Elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndell T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Lyndell T
Serving great food is an inherent part of our DNA at Grand Hyatt and we’re glad that our restaurant delivered a memorable dining experience. The Afternoon Tea really is one of our signature events and if you love this then perhaps try the Sunday Brunch – one of Melbourne’s best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepparton
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Wonderful to stay at a hotel that actually has service as the highest priority.
Met by Jimmy who arranged car parking. The standard remained throughout my stay.
Everything done with a minimum of fuss. Thank-you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holler49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Holler49
Thank you for your comments and Jimmy is always a shining star when it comes to hotel reviews. We’re glad that we can uphold our promise of offering really genuine hospitality with characters like him. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed in a standard room, the exterior of the hotel and lobby were amazing. The room itself was very clean! Although a little small (compared to other hotels in Melbourne). The view of the city was lovely! The bathroom was very nice, although i felt a little old fashioned (could just be personal taste).only disappointment was the pool, it was part of the gym downstairs and was small and seemed fairly old, and no view. Overall nice experience and would stay here again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Britty1507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Britty1507
We all deserve a little luxe in our lives and glad you experienced this during your stay at Grand Hyatt. We have to agree that the lobby is rather grandiose and such a nice introduction for what’s to come at our 5-star hotel. We agree that the views are magic! We look forward to you visiting us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,534 reviews
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#4 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,338 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#17 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#28 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
#8 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Property: Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Address: 123 Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 548
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Melbourne hotel is a 5-star hotel on Collins Street in the centre of CBD, business, luxury shopping, theatre and restaurant district. The hotel is located within walking distance of Princess Theatre, Federation Square and Southgate. The hotel provides 548 rooms and suites with extensive meeting rooms and event facilities, spectacular upper and lower lobbies, the restaurant, Collins Kitchen, the bar, RU-CO, as well as an exclusive retail environment and innovative events venue, the residence. Guests booking into Club accommodation will enjoy all the benefits of the Grand Club lounge including personalised express check in and check-out, deluxe continental breakfast, all day refreshments, evening drinks with canapes and private meeting areas. For meetings and events, Grand Hyatt Melbourne offers the perfect combination of first-class function rooms, outstanding services and a range of flexible packages. For weddings our Melbourne hotel offers a range of romantic rooms for your special day. Grand Hyatt Melbourne also offers all guests' access to City Club Health & Fitness 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing