We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location and excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Ranked #23 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

I was back in Mebourne and stayed in the Grand Hyatt. Check in at the level 2 reception and was told that room was not available though I have received email to that they will block the room for my early arrival. The reception send me to 31 floor and I waited at the club lounge. Apparently the lady at the level 2 reception did not tell the club lounge reception that I was waiting for my room. As I took an over night flight and wanted to check in to freshen up before heading out. The lady at the club lounge reception (Bubpha) did and excellent job to find me a room before my suite was available. It is her excellent service that make staying in Hyatt a pleasant one.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poh Chang C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear lender,
Thank you for your feedback – we really do appreciate hearing about your experience.
We have alerted our Front Office management team to your feedback for training and review – genuine hospitality is what we strive to provide to all our guests. We’re glad to see that Bubpha looked after you well and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,373)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,842 - 3,848 of 4,373 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

The thought of visiting Melbourne was going through my mind as I was walking through the streets of Sydney. After all we spend five days in Sydney and flying further south seem exciting and adventures. We booked as soon as we got back to our hotel and decided that Grand Hyatt Melbourne was going to be our stay. We were so glad we made the right decision. Rooms were very clean, views were beautiful and most of all we could walk on Collins street and window shop or look for a restaurant with authentic food and explosive aromas. We loved the Grand Club Lounge with panoramic views, complimentary breakfast and evening drinks. Thank you for making our stay comfortable and memorable.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonaDQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear MonikaQ,
We’re so pleased you decided to head south and visit us in Melbourne! It’s really good to read how much you enjoyed the little touches of luxury in the rooms and extras such as Grand Club access that makes a stay with us that little bit more luxurious. We’d love to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I'm here for work but I must say that the hotel is excellent. Everything is available and the service is impeccable. Can't find much to fault other than the GBP exchange rate. I would the location is right at the posh end of Melbourne where the designer shops are. Ask for a corner room and you'll have great views of the city.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
Thank Manny-London-123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear Manny-London-123,
Great to read your review – we’d have to agree, Grand Hyatt Melbourne is in a perfect location to explore all the wonderful things the city has to offer. We’re really glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us – we hope you choose to stay with us again next time you visit Melbourne!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

A classy hotel, conveniently located and comfortably furnished throughout, including the spacious, well appointed bedroom and large bathroom and shower.

Breakfast has an excellent selection of dishes in an interesting layout for breakfast - the chefs busy cooking and preparing the dishes in the central open-plan kitchen area. The only drawback with this arrangement is that the chef that cooks eggs does so where the rest of the hot dishes are placed, so those trying to get to the sausages, tomatoes etc. have to push through those awaiting their eggs or breakfast omelette to be cooked when it’s busy. But for all that, it’s a good breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malabarfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear malabarfly,
Thank you for your review – great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Breakfast is certainly a busy and popular event in Collins Kitchen – we appreciate your feedback regarding traffic flow during breakfast service and have raised your comments with our Food & Beverage management team for review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

It is a wonderful place to stay in the middle of the city and we had a great view from our 25th floor....:). It is close to all stores and restaurants and main attractions of melbourne city. The service was great and enjoyed our stay.......

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anujojo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear anujojo123,
We’d have to agree, we certainly are in a great location to enjoy all that Melbourne has to offer! Really good to see you enjoyed your stay with us – we look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit Melbourne!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Staying that the Grand Hyatt on a business trip. It's an exceptional hotel. The staff are first class. The food excellent - the waiter even made our meal exactly to order when we didn't fancy anything on the menu. Room is clean, spacious and well equipped. And location is spot on. The only downside - you have to pay for internet connectivity which is a rip off!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear Nick B,
Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Being able to provide you with exactly what you were feeling like to eat at the time is just one of the ways we provide authentic hospitality for our guests. We’ve passed on your comments regarding the cost of wifi to our Rooms management team for review – for all kinds of travellers internet connectivity is a must rather than a luxury these days. We hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I stay at a Hyatt in the San Francisco Bay area about 20-25 nights a year while visiting my grandchildren, daughter, and son-in-law. The hotel is satisfactory and I am treated ok. I just returned from four nights at the Grand Hyatt in Melbourne, Australia, however, for one of the worst experiences ever. The Hyatt is set up for the business traveler with 50 nights minimum per year required for the diamond level that you definitely need to be at in their system to have a satisfactory stay. If you basically live on the road as a sales rep or equivalent- no problem-- a little difficult for the rest of us.

The Hyatt in Melbourne has 33 floors with guest rooms starting at floor 10. Floors 19-33 were taken by diamond members - 3/4 of the rooms. This should really tell you all you need to know. For starters, they have removed the gift shop and when asked where you could obtain even a coke or an aspirin you are asked if you have access to the Club room reserved for diamonds where this would be available. When you respond that you are only a platinum, they they tell you they think there is still a 7-eleven about 4 blocks down the hill.

When we arrived at the hotel via taxi, our luggage was placed on a cart and I asked if we could accompany it to our room..We were told it would be in our room by the time we finished checking in. Two hours later-no luggage--and I threatened to call the police to report stolen luggage--it then appeared. I was not shown anything in the room--kind of like just being handed the key at a Motel 6--and was told they were very short-handed.

Trying not to sound too whiny, I will end the review and the long list of issues. Those reviewers that claim the hotel is reasonable must be comped to diamond amenities. Breakfast is $40 each, the internet is $15.95 per day and the cost was over $1600 for a four night stay. Not reasonable for the room we got or the level of service.

Room Tip: Unless your company is picking up the tab, you are using points, and you are a diamond, stay elsewhe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RonO701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear Ron O,
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel and we truly value your feedback as an opportunity to learn and improve on what we do.

We are very sorry to hear that your stay with us was so unsatisfactory and fell well short of your expectations. As a long standing Hyatt Diamond member, you should have felt welcome at our hotel and experienced the seamless can-do service you expect of a Hyatt property.

We have been in touch with you offline to discuss your stay, and do hope that next time you visit Melbourne, you will give us the opportunity to demonstrate to you the true authentic hospitality we are renowned for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 162 in Melbourne
2,770 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#17 of 162 in Melbourne
1,993 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 162 in Melbourne
5,690 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#33 of 162 in Melbourne
838 reviews
Central Business District
QT Melbourne
QT Melbourne
#2 of 162 in Melbourne
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Address: 123 Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $189 - $592 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 548
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Melbourne hotel is a 5-star hotel on Collins Street in the centre of CBD, business, luxury shopping, theatre and restaurant district. The hotel is located within walking distance of Princess Theatre, Federation Square and Southgate. The hotel provides 550 rooms and suites with extensive meeting rooms and event facilities, spectacular upper and lower lobbies, the restaurant, Collins Kitchen, the bar, RU-CO, as well as an exclusive retail environment and innovative events venue, the residence. Guests booking into Club accommodation will enjoy all the benefits of the Grand Club lounge including personalised express check in and check-out, deluxe continental breakfast, all day refreshments, evening drinks with canapes and private meeting areas. For meetings and events, Grand Hyatt Melbourne offers the perfect combination of first-class function rooms, outstanding services and a range of flexible packages. For weddings our Melbourne hotel offers a range of romantic rooms for your special day. Grand Hyatt Melbourne also offers all guests' access to City Club Health & Fitness 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing