We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Christmas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Ranked #23 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“A Great Christmas”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed at the Grand Hyatt on Christmas eve and had a wonderful stay. The room was well apoointed and the bed obne of the comfiest ever. The shower was something else....AMAZING! With great toiletries and large, thick towels.
From the moment we checked in til we left the staff were wonderful and friendly.
Will be staying there next year for sure!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Brendan M
It is great to read of your delight staying with us, and that you thoroughly enjoyed the touches of luxury in our rooms. We would have to agree – we can’t think of anything better than a good night’s sleep on a big, comfy bed, and a rain shower in a luxurious marble bathroom complete with lots of fluffy towels! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,603
    967
    360
    127
    73
See reviews for
586
1,612
194
1,268
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Rooms are lovely and the service is wonderful. We stayed overnight in the city to do some Xmas shopping and see the Xmas lights (Town Hall and Myer window). Convenient location, close to restaurants and shopping. Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Lauren K
It’s really lovely to hear how much you enjoyed staying with us. Christmas in Melbourne city is so much fun, with lots to see and do – and all just a short stroll away from the hotel! And the Town Hall lights were just amazing – absolutely a must see next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
167 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We have no major complaints about our stay. We were in room 3318 on the thirty third floor. It was a standard room. The room was well appointed but the furnishings were a little old. There was no desk. There was a very nice Nespresso machine. We had several room service meals which were fine. We had breakfast in the restaurant on the thirty first floor. There was a cold buffet but I had pancakes a la carte. The gymnasium and the swimming pool and spa were well equipped. We came to the Grand Hyatt from another much newer five star hotel in Melbourne. Although the Grand Hyatt was an older establishment, the service and maintenance at the Grand Hyatt was generally better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank not_johntan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear not_johntan,
We’re sorry to read that you found your stay with us a little on the average side. Whilst you found our décor less contemporary than you would prefer, it is great to read that our level of service and professionalism did impress. We do hope that you choose to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I have stayed there twice this year, and truly think it is one of Australia's great international hotels. The service is always friendly and engaging, the rooms are very well appointed with panoramic views and comfy beds. The breakfast buffet at Collins Kitchen was sublime, the omelette one of the best I have had. The one dissapointment, is the service and drinks in RU CO Bar were not up to 5 star standard. Apart from that I would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for true quality in a great central location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank essendontvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear essendontvl,
There really is nothing like having an omelette made right before your eyes! It certainly makes for a great start to the day, and we’re really glad to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. However, we are disappointed to hear that the service you received in our ruco bar was not up to expectations. We aim for truly professional and attentive service, and we obviously haven’t delivered on this occasion. We have raised your comments with our Food and Beverage management team for review and action. We do hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Great food,great wine list and atmosphere. Always a special place for a special occasion. We were well looked after in terms of seating and accommodating our family.Food was served promptly and everyone was happy,especially our kids.
Keep up the great work, we'll definitely be back.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank AvHoche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear AvHoche,
It is great to read how much you and your family enjoyed your meal with us. Whether it is an intimate dinner for two, or a gathering of the whole family, we strive to make all our guests feel welcome and special. The menu in Collins Kitchen is so wide and varied it caters to almost every taste – seafood, vegetarian, home made pasta, grilled meats from regional Victoria and of course the offerings from the Chinese kitchen and the house made sushi. It’s a real feast, and the hardest part is choosing what you will have to eat… and then leaving enough room for dessert!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed here the night of our wedding, after what had been a long day we wanted to just unwind and relax . As soon as we arrived the staff at the Grand Hyatt were extremely helpful and the check in process was smooth.

The room we stayed in was fantastic and had great views of Melbourne.

the next day we had a delicious breakfast that was unmatched during our honeymoon, it was amazing!!

ALthough just one night it was a great stay and a place we would stay in again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Daniel A
Congratulations to both of you for tying the knot! Your wedding day can certainly be a bit of a whirlwind – it is great to hear we were able to provide you with a small oasis of calm to relax and unwind after such a huge day. We wish you much joy and happiness for your new life together, and we hope to help you celebrate your wedding anniversaries for many years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed December 10, 2012

This is a great restaurant , the service is always good, the variety of food and alcohol is fantastic and the atmosphere is just right.
I took my family with two young children and two other friends last weekend for and end of year dinner. The seating was very accommodating staff where very helpful and prompt.
Our meals where beautiful just the place for a special dinner, not too noisy, not too bright just a great experience.
Well done Grand Hyatt keep up the good work

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Timetravelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Timetravelle,
Thank you so much for your review – it is lovely to read how much you enjoyed dinner with us. We would have to agree, Collins Kitchen is a great place to relax and catch up with friends and family over great food and a nice glass of wine. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#7 of 159 in Melbourne
2,607 reviews
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 159 in Melbourne
5,416 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#18 of 159 in Melbourne
1,939 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
#8 of 159 in Melbourne
1,488 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#31 of 159 in Melbourne
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Property: Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Address: 123 Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 548
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Melbourne hotel is a 5-star hotel on Collins Street in the centre of CBD, business, luxury shopping, theatre and restaurant district. The hotel is located within walking distance of Princess Theatre, Federation Square and Southgate. The hotel provides 548 rooms and suites with extensive meeting rooms and event facilities, spectacular upper and lower lobbies, the restaurant, Collins Kitchen, the bar, RU-CO, as well as an exclusive retail environment and innovative events venue, the residence. Guests booking into Club accommodation will enjoy all the benefits of the Grand Club lounge including personalised express check in and check-out, deluxe continental breakfast, all day refreshments, evening drinks with canapes and private meeting areas. For meetings and events, Grand Hyatt Melbourne offers the perfect combination of first-class function rooms, outstanding services and a range of flexible packages. For weddings our Melbourne hotel offers a range of romantic rooms for your special day. Grand Hyatt Melbourne also offers all guests' access to City Club Health & Fitness 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing