We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Ranked #23 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights. Very comfortable beds, room was well appointed. All staff without exception were friendly and helpful. Room service on the last night was delicious. Only issue would be that the walls are a bit thin and you can hear people out in the hall way, doors opening and shutting and showers being used in adjoining rooms. Enjoyed the gym, which was well equipped. Overall it was a good stay and I will return.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Glenysperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear Glenysperth,
Great to hear you enjoyed staying with us, and our staff helped you feel very comfortable and welcome. Enjoying room service is such a great ‘hotel’ indulgence, we really have to agree, and it’s great to see we came up trumps for dinner! We’re sorry to hear that you were disturbed by noise from the hallways, and plumbing noise from other rooms – privacy and tranquillity is what you expect from a hotel room, and it is disappointing when other people’s noise intrudes. We’ll certainly raise this with our Engineering management team for review. We certainly hope you do decide to stay with us again – we’d love to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,384)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,930 - 3,936 of 4,385 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

I have not stayed at the Grand Hyatt for 6 months or so but it continues to provide at great city stay. Nothing is a problem for the well trained staff, and the beds always divine. The only down was the price of drinks in the bar. I could not help but feeling touched up by paying $12 for an average glass of White.
Regardless I will stay again for City based commitments.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hills_are_happy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear Hills_are_happy
There really is nothing better than a good night’s sleep in a big, comfy King sized bed, we would have to agree! It’s great to read you loved your stay with us – our staff work really hard to ensure that every guest is made as welcome and comfortable as possible. We hear your frustration regarding the price of our standard wine – whilst we have an extensive wine list with fantastic and rare wines, it sounds like we are falling short on the other end and not providing value for money for your everyday drink. We will certainly pass your comments to our Food and Beverage management team for review – we truly appreciate your candid observations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I have stayed a many hyatts around the world and this one is up there .
Beautiful surrounds , love the views from the rooms .
Only critisms check in was lengthy and we were my informed pool was closed . Our kids got ready to go swimming went to the pool area and were told it was been renovated and to go to park Hyatt if they wanted to swim.( staff told them it was a better pool anyway)
Can't believe wifi and breakfast is extra
Apart from that it was a lovely experience

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tempykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear Tempykat
It’s lovely to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We do sincerely apologise that the pool and spa areas were undergoing some urgent maintenance during your stay– whilst the pool and spa at Park Hyatt Melbourne are beautiful, having to walk a couple of blocks to get there just isn’t the same as hopping in the elevator and going downstairs for a swim. In regards to wifi and breakfast, could we suggest booking one of our great value packages next time you stay with us? They provide breakfast plus you can tailor your package with some great extras such as parking or internet to get the best value out of staying with us. We do hope you and your family choose to stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

My wife and I stayed here 14 days on company business.
I had high hopes that it would be an above average experience, but alas, it was just average.

There were no big issues, just nothing that was a surprise or delight....
Add to that disappointment, there were a higher than expected number of small issues that made this just average:
- The room door would not shut and latch without an extra pull -- not a huge deal, but one of the staff left it ajar dropping off the laundry (so it was ajar when we got home from dinner).
- They made no attempt to remember special housekeeping requests (like extra face towels and water) so we had to call every night.
- One of the elevator doors had a problem closing without holding the door close button, making it a painful ride downstairs.
- The bell stand seemed understaffed in the morning, so getting your car our, even when calling ahead, was a time waster.

The location is good for walking around, but the traffic in and out to this location is a killer.
I will likely not use this property again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pattoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear Pattoe,
We really appreciate you taking the time to review your stay – we truly value your honest feedback as a great opportunity to learn from our shortcomings. It is very concerning to read that your door was not closed securely after Housekeeping had returned your laundry - this absolutely should not have happened. We certainly should remember special housekeeping requests, especially an evening turndown request. Please accept our sincere apologies for this lapse in standards – such service standards are certainly not how we would like you to remember Grand Hyatt Melbourne. We have passed on your comments regarding housekeeping, as well as your frustrations with our Bell desk service, to both our Front Office management team and our Housekeeping management team. We will certainly be reviewing your comments with our front line team, actioning any issues and providing training to our staff to ensure that we consistently provide the level of service you expect from Grand Hyatt Melbourne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

The hotel itself is "grand", lots of marble and crystal. When we arrived at the first floor drive-up, no one greeted us, opened doors, offered to assist with luggage or welcomed us to the hotel until after we found the expansive second floor lobby. The room was beautiful, 4th floor view of the city, with lovely amenities. Marble shower floor a little slippery, toilet, shower and sink in same room. Concierge was in training, and gentleman who assisted didn't get tours arranged quite right. A very efficient, experienced concierge did a great job of fixing everything for me. An easy block and a half to the free Circle Tram and the tour buses, Federation Square, the Yarra River and the Melbourne Tourist Information Center.

Room Tip: The higher the room, the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear Diane D,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay – we really appreciate your honesty about your experiences with us. We’re really sorry to hear that we fell well below your expectations regarding service levels, especially on the lack of welcome to our hotel. We have raised your comments with our Front Office management team for review and action. You are absolutely right – the first thing that should greet you when you arrive at Grand Hyatt Melbourne is a smile and a personal greeting. It is good to see that whilst you had some issues with a concierge in training, our experienced concierge staff were able to assist and set things to rights. We do hope that when you next visit Melbourne, you choose to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

We have just finished a 2 night stay in this very nice hotel. My husband attended a conference - the facilities were excellent and the event well delIvered.
I spent these days exploring the city and found the location to be excellent. Quite central and only a couple of blocks from the main shopping mall, flinders station, federation square and the bridge to Southgate.

We stayed in a suite which was Devine. Tastefully decorated and beautifully furnished. Very comfortable beds and pillows. Huge bath. Two bathrooms!!! Perfect for holding a business meeting in the sitting room, while keeping the bedroom private.
Service was excellent from check in throughout our stay.
If you stay in a suite you have access to the club lounge with refreshments throughout the day, continental breakfast in the morning and drinks and canapés in the afternoons, all included in the room charge.

Highly recommended for business or leisure stays.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ali-May-99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear Ali-May-99,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, and it is great to read of your enjoyment of our service and facilities. Our suites definitely are a great way to enjoy your stay in more spacious surrounds and give yourself room to relax. We certainly recommend booking a room with access to the Grand Club on the 31st floor – it’s a great way to truly experience the hotel in Grand style! We hope to welcome you back next time you visit Melbourne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We booked and paid ahead directly with the hotel, and stayed in a Club room on the top floor! Beautiful room, stunning bathroom and fantastic service. Having access to the Club Lounge was lovely, nice to have a few drinks before heading out at Night. Great location and super friendly staff. We can't wait to go back again. If youre looking to spoil yourself this is a great place to do it!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bottega s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear bottega s,
Staying in a room with Grand Club access is definitely a wonderful way to spoil yourself, we would have to agree! Relaxing at the end of the day with a nice glass of wine, some bubbles or a cold beer and taking in the jaw dropping view from the 31st floor just can’t be beaten! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 162 in Melbourne
2,774 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#16 of 162 in Melbourne
1,996 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#6 of 162 in Melbourne
5,695 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#33 of 162 in Melbourne
841 reviews
Central Business District
QT Melbourne
QT Melbourne
#3 of 162 in Melbourne
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Address: 123 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $189 - $603 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Melbourne hotel is a 5-star hotel on Collins Street in the centre of CBD, business, luxury shopping, theatre and restaurant district. The hotel is located within walking distance of Princess Theatre, Federation Square and Southgate. The hotel provides 550 rooms and suites with extensive meeting rooms and event facilities, spectacular upper and lower lobbies, the restaurant, Collins Kitchen, the bar, RU-CO, as well as an exclusive retail environment and innovative events venue, the residence. Guests booking into Club accommodation will enjoy all the benefits of the Grand Club lounge including personalised express check in and check-out, deluxe continental breakfast, all day refreshments, evening drinks with canapes and private meeting areas. For meetings and events, Grand Hyatt Melbourne offers the perfect combination of first-class function rooms, outstanding services and a range of flexible packages. For weddings our Melbourne hotel offers a range of romantic rooms for your special day. Grand Hyatt Melbourne also offers all guests' access to City Club Health & Fitness 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing