We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Ranked #23 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We booked and paid ahead directly with the hotel, and stayed in a Club room on the top floor! Beautiful room, stunning bathroom and fantastic service. Having access to the Club Lounge was lovely, nice to have a few drinks before heading out at Night. Great location and super friendly staff. We can't wait to go back again. If youre looking to spoil yourself this is a great place to do it!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bottega s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear bottega s,
Staying in a room with Grand Club access is definitely a wonderful way to spoil yourself, we would have to agree! Relaxing at the end of the day with a nice glass of wine, some bubbles or a cold beer and taking in the jaw dropping view from the 31st floor just can’t be beaten! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,322)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hyatt Melbourne
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,875 - 3,881 of 4,322 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2012

As you would expect, the hotel is very good, great facilities, location and helpful staff. The rooms are also very good too. But its the attention to the small things that let it down like an unstable toilet seat upon arrival which is the last thinmg you need. An unstable room table that had to be replaced. Took five hours to establish email connection.

But the worst of the lot was the fact our room was not made up until after 3pm one day and 5.45pm the next day. After complaining the first time they sent a complimentary bottle of wine which was appreciated. But the second time the very next day was just UNACCEPTABLE.
Sure they offerered us complimentary breakfast on the day of checkout but it should never happen.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zara08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear Zara08,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, and it’s great to see that overall you found our hotel comfortable and in a great location for exploring all that Melbourne has to offer. However, we are disappointed to read of the difficulties you experienced in regards to the refreshing of your room, and the small maintenance details that should not have been overlooked. Our Front Office & Engineering management teams have been alerted to your comments for review and training. We hope that you choose to stay with us again, and give us an opportunity to provide you with 5 star service and facilities truly reflective of Grand Hyatt Melbourne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

Went fir a biz trip and stayed in this hotel for 6 nights. Overall is clean n central location. But I will not take it again as there is no free wifi for such a big 5 stars hotel. Hope that they can improve in this area

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnnytanki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear Johnnytanki,
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay, and it’s good to see you found our hotel clean and comfortable and enjoyed your stay. We are currently doing a major review of our internet charges – internet is no longer considered a luxury but a necessity these days, and not just by business travellers but all our guests. We hope you choose to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I recently returned to the Grand Hyatt after not having stayed there for some years. We travelled to Melbourne to see a musical at Her Majestys Theatre and to have a meal at one of our favourite restaurants in Little Collons St. The location of the hotel was excellent for both venues. Our taxi dropped us off at the entrance in Collins St which is the same level as the reception. Our room, on the 28th floor, had a view of the city through a large window. Despite the expanse of glass there was very little traffic noise. The room was large with an extremely comfortable king bed and a good casual seating area which included a decent sized table for in-room dining. The bathroom was excellent, large with a bath and good shower. We were not disturbed by any noise from the hallway or adjoining rooms and with the "do not distrub light" on outside we had no unwanted knocks on the door by house staff wanting to check this or fix that. As we only stayed the one night we did not have a chance to try any of the dining options in the hotel. However because we really enjoyed our stay we will certainly return and dine in-house next time.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hope51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear Hope51,
One of the great things about Grand Hyatt Melbourne’s location is the ability to walk just about anywhere you want to go – shopping, a match at the MCG, great bars and restaurants, and of course, Melbourne’s wonderful theatre district is just a short stroll away! It’s great to read you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed at the Hyatt for the weekend due to work event in city. I was happy with the hotel, very friendly staff, valet service was excellent, check in was smooth and the rooms were nice and modern. We stayed in a grand view deluxe, the room was a touch on the small side compared to hotels I'd stayed in but it was set up quite well so you didn't notice. On the plus side the bathroom was very large and it was nicely fitted out in marble. The one thing I would say is, if I was going to pick on something, the pool area was quite dated, it was an indoor pool and it was quite small. Also the hotel seemed to get very busy, had to line up to get into breakfast which I've never had to do in all the years I've travelled, maybe it was just a smaller restaurant. Overall I would recommend staying here for sure. I gladly would

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank AussieHolidayLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear AussieHolidayLover,
It’s wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the marble bathroom – we hope you enjoyed a nice relaxing soak in the deep tub! Breakfast does get quite busy after about 9am – we are quite famous for the quality of our breakfast offerings! Being an open kitchen where everything is cooked freshly for you, sometimes there is a short wait however breakfast certainly is well worth it! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Grand Hyatt is our Corp hotel so I have stayed there several times this year. Reception is on L2 accessible via the lift. Both check-in and check-out process are efficient. As I have 2 different memberships which allows me to earn points during my stay, the staff explained the benefits of both programs which helps me greatly in making a decision.

Highest floor is L33. Rooms of bigger number have no view (faces buildings). Some of the rooms (e.g. 26 and 27) are hidden from the corridor. For example, I stayed at room 26 in the most recent trip, squeeze in between room 25 and 27 hidden from the corridor. I was expecting that it would be quieter but I was wrong. I could hear the guest in the next room singing in his shower, water running from their bath tubs and the sound of hairdryer every morning. I also suspect the "sound of vibration" i have been hearing come from the elevator, which is right behind room 27.

King size bed is comfortable with hard and soft pillows for your selection. Nice bathroom with both bath tub and standing shower. Generous amenities and towels are provided. I noticed that chips in the mini bar close to expiry date so please check before you consume anything from the mini bar.

International power adaptor is provided in the room but I could not locate any power socket near the working table area so do ensure your laptop charger is long enough to extend from TV consol to the work table. Wireless internet is chargable at a maximun daily rate of AUD29.

Food served at the lobby restaurant is very pricey (expected) and salty. Their lamp chop is the one dish most of us agree we would order again should we return. In-room breakfast (approx. AUD30 to 40) service is reliable and served timely according to the timing you specify. There are many eateries at much cheaper rate just 10 mins away from the Hotel at Russell Street or the nearby Chinatown.

All in all, other than the noise from nearby rooms, Grand Hyatt is still my choice hotel when visiting Melbourne.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank homsingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear homsingapore,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, it is always wonderful to hear from such a regular traveller to our hotel! It’s great to read that you have found our Front Desk service to be friendly and efficient – we pride ourselves on our 5 star service and giving individual attention to each guest’s needs. We’re sorry to read that noise form other rooms disturbed your stay – please don’t hesitate to request a quiet room on your next stay. And for reference, there are power sockets for your laptop etc located in the cabinet underneath the telephone near the desk lamp. Our staff will be very happy to show you next time you stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

I really enjoyed staying here, with the nice ambient touches. Food was awesome (room service) and the service in general was excellent.
I did check in to a more executive style room, which was bigger and quite nice - however I did find that this room was behind the elevator shafts, and thus the constant noise of the elevators going up and down was pretty noticeable. I asked about that - and while they had a smaller room (give up a bigger room???) they said that otherwise, there's not much else to do.
The noise level did drop off a bit further into the evening however - which they said would happen, so I have no complaints overall. Just unexpected.
In all, having the conference there also - was great. The atmosphere was very home-like, and nice. I will stay here again I believe, although it is a bit pricey, so be warned.

Room Tip: To be honest, I couldn't complain - after about 9pm, the lift noise wasn't too bad. Althoug...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaTTyRaTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear RaTTyRaTT,
Indulging in Room Service is one of those great traditions to enjoy when staying in a 5 star hotel! When we refurbished our rooms, we put a lot of thought into making sure that there was somewhere comfortable & practical to sit and eat whilst in your room. It’s great to see you enjoyed our room service offerings. We’re sorry to read that elevator noise disturbed your sleep, however. we can certainly do our best to allocate you a quiet room for your next stay. We hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 160 in Melbourne
2,735 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#17 of 160 in Melbourne
1,979 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,620 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#34 of 160 in Melbourne
832 reviews
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#2 of 160 in Melbourne
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Address: 123 Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $194 - $548 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 548
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Melbourne hotel is a 5-star hotel on Collins Street in the centre of CBD, business, luxury shopping, theatre and restaurant district. The hotel is located within walking distance of Princess Theatre, Federation Square and Southgate. The hotel provides 550 rooms and suites with extensive meeting rooms and event facilities, spectacular upper and lower lobbies, the restaurant, Collins Kitchen, the bar, RU-CO, as well as an exclusive retail environment and innovative events venue, the residence. Guests booking into Club accommodation will enjoy all the benefits of the Grand Club lounge including personalised express check in and check-out, deluxe continental breakfast, all day refreshments, evening drinks with canapes and private meeting areas. For meetings and events, Grand Hyatt Melbourne offers the perfect combination of first-class function rooms, outstanding services and a range of flexible packages. For weddings our Melbourne hotel offers a range of romantic rooms for your special day. Grand Hyatt Melbourne also offers all guests' access to City Club Health & Fitness 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing