We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$86
Radisson
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$115
$112
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $124/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$213
$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$179
$115
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $128/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Best Western Melbourne City(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$91
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$164
$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $131/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$178
$160
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Treasury On Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$144
$121
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $144/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (4,863)
Filter reviews
4,863 results
Traveler rating
3,078
1,127
411
147
100
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,078
1,127
411
147
100
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscollins kitchenthe club loungemarble bathroomcollins streetstar hotelcorner roomroom servicefederation squarebeautiful hotelbuffet breakfastvalet parkingyarra riverlate checkgreat roomlocation is excellentcentral locationcity
Filter
Updating list...
4,392 - 4,397 of 4,863 reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We just enjoyed our first night away without our children (the youngest is over 2 so it's been a while!) to celebrate our anniversary. We had such high expectations, wanted everything to be perfect etc, and the Grand Hyatt did not let us down in the slightest. We had a Club room - it is undoubtedly worth the bit extra - and loved everything about it. The bathroom was gorgeous, the bed was amazing, the decor was stylish and fresh, and the view. The view!! The Club Lounge was also just terrific, esp the easy check-in, the breakfast (inc in room price) and the evening drinks/canapes. We didn't want to leave. A couple of little concierge issues - we asked for four panadols in the morning and received two nurofen; we needed a florist and were directed (after much web searching) to the one in the lobby that had been forgotten (!) and then it was closed. And no turn down service at night (perhaps this is no longer the done thing?) But these things are so minor that they are probably not even worth mentioning. We loved it, felt very welcome and special and think we might make it an annual event!

Room Tip: Definitely go with a Club room, if you can.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelbourneWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Dear MelbourneWoman,
Booking a room with Grand Club access is certainly a wonderful way to spoil yourself, we definitely agree. Being able to sit up in the Grand Club in the late afternoon with an evening drink and the sumptuous canapé offerings is a wonderful way to round off your day. We’re sorry to read that some service issues intruded on your perfect stay – we hope they didn’t mar the total Grand experience. We would love to welcome you back next year – perhaps even sooner!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed with my daughter for 2 nights as a 'final fling' prior to the birth of her first baby. She agreed the hotel 'ticked all the boxes' - fantastic view from our room (27th floor overlooking the Yarra River, we could see down to the Crown casino, the Myer music bowl, Rod Lavver Arena, the view even extended over to Port Phillip Bay. The beds were sooo comfortable - we both slept until 9am the first day! We both had a massage in the Spa , which was located in separate ex hotel rooms on 10?th floor,so peaceful, even a special 'Mother in waiting' one for her. She also agreed the club sandwiches were the best tasted in some time, ordering seconds (yes, pregnancy). The staff were very good, especially Jimmy, on the front door!
A great place to indulge in what girls love most - shopping, relaxing, eating.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lozmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Dear lozmum,
Our day Spa is definitely one of Melbourne’s hidden secrets – a relaxing, luxurious oasis in the midst of the city’s hustle and bustle. It is a wonderful way to treat yourself and fully experience all that the hotel has to offer. Jimmy is quite a character, and much loved amongst our guests – we have forwarded your comments to our Front Office management team to pass on your comments, and will award Jimmy formal recognition for his excellent customer service. We wish your daughter all the very best with the impending birth and while we completely understand it may be a little while, we hope to welcome you back to Grand Hyatt Melbourne soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights for a business trip and had a room on the 22nd floor which was quite large and roomy. Very comfortable bed and pillows. Overall a very pleasant experience with friendly and efficient staff. There was quite a lot of noise that seemed to come from above and next to us, lots of thumps, don't know if it was the lift or just noisy neighbours! Only other negatives were very limited vanity space in the bathroom and the toilet is oddly placed behind the door so if someone opens the door you might get knee capped! Can't comment on the breakfast as we left early, room service dinner was adequate but as usual overpriced. I would recommend the wonton soup but not the wagyu beef burger.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emdeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Dear emdeme,
It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us – and we would agree, our beds are so comfortable it can be very tempting to have a sleep in or while way the afternoon curled up under the doona! We’re sorry to hear that some noise issues marred your stay – we have alerted our Engineering team for review. We hope to see you back at Grand Hyatt Melbourne soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Our preferred hotel in Melbourne whether we are visiting for work or pleasure. An excellent location on Collins St, it is close to the CBD, to the shops, transport, good restaurants, and the river walk for exercise. The gym is big and well equipped. The breakfast buffet is one of the best but can get busy on the weekends. The views from all over the hotel are great and the rooms are always fresh and well equipped. The only gripe we have is if we stay with the family, the twin room is only 2 single beds and feels a bit pokey. It can also be difficult to get a spa appointment at a suitable time ... best to book in advance.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view. All views are good but the city view probably more boring.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goldenjays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Dear goldenjays,
Our day spa is definitely one of Melbourne’s hidden treasures – a tranquil oasis in the middle of a big bustling city. We definitely recommend advance bookings to secure your preferred, time, especially on a weekend. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back – whether with the whole family, or perhaps even for a romantic getaway!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews