We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't want to leave the room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Ranked #23 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2012

After staying at the Four Seasons in Sydney and loving it I was expecting this hotel to be a bit of an anti climax as it was considerably less expensive. I can now say that this experience was even better. the room was larger, the bathroom was larger and well appointed. the living room was well thought out with a large chaise lounge facing a large flat screen television.We stayed on the 25th floor and the views were just wonderful. We had room service every night because we had everything we needed and great atmosphere to enjoy it. I thoroughly recommend it and if we comeback to Melbourne would not stay anywhere else. If you are a keen shopper there is everything within a short walk - Chanel, Zengna, Brioni, and also more affordable shopping.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WookAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear WookAustralia,
It’s great to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us – when we redesigned our guest rooms we put a lot of thought into the little touches that make our rooms practical and comfortable. And you can’t beat that jaw dropping view over Melbourne city, especially at night with the lights twinkling at your feet. We hope that you do visit Melbourne again soon, and we would love to welcome you back to Grand Hyatt Melbourne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,373)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,951 - 3,957 of 4,373 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

A romantic stay for our 13th wedding anniversary. The room was great, clean, spacious & good value. The massage was out of this world & we both felt wonderful afterwards! The buffet breakfast is awesome & never disappoints! A great time was had by both of us.....

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emily m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Emily M,
It’s wonderful to read that we were able to make your 13th Wedding anniversary that little bit more special. The buffet breakfast in our Collins Kitchen restaurant is certainly a great way to start the day. We do hope to see you again soon – perhaps to celebrate your 14th Wedding anniversary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Chic, modern, classy. VERY comfortable bed. Amazing view. One of the best locations.

The downsides:

1. When we arrived, nobody was at the front desk on the lowest floor, near the vehicle bay. We only had to wait a few minutes, but I was in a rush to get somewhere so it was mildly irritating, and
2. One of our keys didn't work in the elevator or our door. But we switched it for a working one with no problem.
3. We were only provided with one toothbrush even though we specified that two people would be staying in the room.
4. We could hear the plumbing when our neighbours used the bathroom facilities.

These were very minor drawbacks and that were easily outweighed by the rest of our experience. Overall, we very much enjoyed our stay! Thanks!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear T A
We would agree, our beds are very comfortable, so comfortable that it can be tempting to indulge in a sleep in or laze away an afternoon! We have passed on your comments to our Front Office management team for review and training, and we appreciate your valuable feedback regarding the minor drawbacks you experienced. We do hope that these issues did not mar your stay, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very nice and luxurious hotel in the heart of Melbourne. Its located on Collins st. just a few minutes away from everything in the middle of the city. Lots of restaurants near by and mot big companies are also around within a shirt walk.
The rooms are very big/clean/nice with a view of the city. the staff are very helpful.
Breakfast and WiFi are not included and are a bit expensive unless you are a gold member of their club.
Bottom line a very good hotel which is a very good value for the price it charges.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ohad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Ohad G,
Grand Hyatt Melbourne is definitely in a great location – everything you need is just a short stroll away, for theatres, shopping, great bars and restaurants, public transport or even a big event the MCG. It’s great to read you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The room was very luxurious and comfortable. The king size bed was great. View of the city was nice to wake up to in the morning. The absolute highlight was their buffet breakfast! Amazing! Everything you could want for a lazy morning meal. Parking was the only confusing part, eventually found that it was cheaper to park at the multi-story park next door rather than have valet parking at the hotel. We went out for dinner (elsewhere) and returned to the bar downstairs which was very relaxed and a great atmosphere to end our evening. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emm4_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear emm4_11,
We would certainly agree – the buffet breakfast in Collins Kitchen is a wonderful way to start your day! With an emphasis on locally sourced Victorian produce, cooked before your eyes in our open Kitchen, it is a great celebration of everything breakfast should be. We are looking forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I recently stayed at the Grand Hyatt in Melbourne on a business trip. The room was OK, whilst the gym & swimming pool were excellent - the former the best I've seen at a hotel. However, what really irritated me was that neither wifi or breakfast was included in the price, despite my being on a corporate rate. The cost of the wifi was outrageous - A$29+ per day!! That's more than most Aussies pay in a month. Having recently returned from the US where free wifi is standard, I found this particularly galling. Also, the room service menu was limited and not of a standard I'd expect for a 5 star hotel. Furthermore, it took me 4 attempts before anyone picked up the phone to take my order and that was despite calling the reception, concierge and room service extensions!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buaya65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear buaya65,
It’s great to hear you enjoyed our gym and pool area – we are very fortunate to have a full sized fitness centre complete with exercise machines, pin loaded resistance machines and free weights, not to mention the exercise studios and spin classes on site that are the envy of many professional gyms. However we’re sorry to read that you were disappointed that wifi was not included in your room rate. These days internet access, whether through laptop, tablet or smart phone is a necessity for travellers, not a luxury service. We are currently in the process of a major review of our wifi provision throughout the hotel and certainly take your feedback on board.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

A Club room at the Grand Hyatt, hailing to the heyday of 'Dallas' from its golden exterior, is my first choice for any stay in Melbourne. The service is consistently exceptional, the facilities modern and the rooms a quiet calm. The renovation process, recently completed, meant more noise at times but never affected the smooth sailing on any of my visits. Rooms are certainly smaller than some alternatives, such as the Crown, but some clever design more than accommodates.
Service in the Club Lounge is attentive and polite - the view over the city at night is spectacular, the hors d'oeuvres delicious and clearly the work of a high grade team in the kitchen.
I can't think of a single thing I would change - perfect!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QF1A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear QF1A,
There is certainly something about those 24K gold windows stretching up to the sky that make Grand Hyatt Melbourne a truly iconic Melbourne hotel. But it really is what’s inside that makes our hotel truly special. Our staff from top to bottom work really hard to provide truly exceptional service, and it is great to read that your experience staying with us reflects this. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 162 in Melbourne
2,770 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#17 of 162 in Melbourne
1,993 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 162 in Melbourne
5,690 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#33 of 162 in Melbourne
838 reviews
Central Business District
QT Melbourne
QT Melbourne
#2 of 162 in Melbourne
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Address: 123 Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $189 - $592 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 548
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Melbourne hotel is a 5-star hotel on Collins Street in the centre of CBD, business, luxury shopping, theatre and restaurant district. The hotel is located within walking distance of Princess Theatre, Federation Square and Southgate. The hotel provides 550 rooms and suites with extensive meeting rooms and event facilities, spectacular upper and lower lobbies, the restaurant, Collins Kitchen, the bar, RU-CO, as well as an exclusive retail environment and innovative events venue, the residence. Guests booking into Club accommodation will enjoy all the benefits of the Grand Club lounge including personalised express check in and check-out, deluxe continental breakfast, all day refreshments, evening drinks with canapes and private meeting areas. For meetings and events, Grand Hyatt Melbourne offers the perfect combination of first-class function rooms, outstanding services and a range of flexible packages. For weddings our Melbourne hotel offers a range of romantic rooms for your special day. Grand Hyatt Melbourne also offers all guests' access to City Club Health & Fitness 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing