We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious & relaxing stay in the heart of the city!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Ranked #24 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The room was very luxurious and comfortable. The king size bed was great. View of the city was nice to wake up to in the morning. The absolute highlight was their buffet breakfast! Amazing! Everything you could want for a lazy morning meal. Parking was the only confusing part, eventually found that it was cheaper to park at the multi-story park next door rather than have valet parking at the hotel. We went out for dinner (elsewhere) and returned to the bar downstairs which was very relaxed and a great atmosphere to end our evening. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emm4_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear emm4_11,
We would certainly agree – the buffet breakfast in Collins Kitchen is a wonderful way to start your day! With an emphasis on locally sourced Victorian produce, cooked before your eyes in our open Kitchen, it is a great celebration of everything breakfast should be. We are looking forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,326)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hyatt Melbourne
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,909 - 3,915 of 4,326 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2012

I recently stayed at the Grand Hyatt in Melbourne on a business trip. The room was OK, whilst the gym & swimming pool were excellent - the former the best I've seen at a hotel. However, what really irritated me was that neither wifi or breakfast was included in the price, despite my being on a corporate rate. The cost of the wifi was outrageous - A$29+ per day!! That's more than most Aussies pay in a month. Having recently returned from the US where free wifi is standard, I found this particularly galling. Also, the room service menu was limited and not of a standard I'd expect for a 5 star hotel. Furthermore, it took me 4 attempts before anyone picked up the phone to take my order and that was despite calling the reception, concierge and room service extensions!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buaya65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear buaya65,
It’s great to hear you enjoyed our gym and pool area – we are very fortunate to have a full sized fitness centre complete with exercise machines, pin loaded resistance machines and free weights, not to mention the exercise studios and spin classes on site that are the envy of many professional gyms. However we’re sorry to read that you were disappointed that wifi was not included in your room rate. These days internet access, whether through laptop, tablet or smart phone is a necessity for travellers, not a luxury service. We are currently in the process of a major review of our wifi provision throughout the hotel and certainly take your feedback on board.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

A Club room at the Grand Hyatt, hailing to the heyday of 'Dallas' from its golden exterior, is my first choice for any stay in Melbourne. The service is consistently exceptional, the facilities modern and the rooms a quiet calm. The renovation process, recently completed, meant more noise at times but never affected the smooth sailing on any of my visits. Rooms are certainly smaller than some alternatives, such as the Crown, but some clever design more than accommodates.
Service in the Club Lounge is attentive and polite - the view over the city at night is spectacular, the hors d'oeuvres delicious and clearly the work of a high grade team in the kitchen.
I can't think of a single thing I would change - perfect!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QF1A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear QF1A,
There is certainly something about those 24K gold windows stretching up to the sky that make Grand Hyatt Melbourne a truly iconic Melbourne hotel. But it really is what’s inside that makes our hotel truly special. Our staff from top to bottom work really hard to provide truly exceptional service, and it is great to read that your experience staying with us reflects this. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I booked in here for one night as it was a last minute trip, and many of Melbourne's other hotels were fully booked. But as it happens, it was one of the best hotel stays I've had in quite a while!

As it was a last minute booking, I managed to get a very good rate. The room was a very large one bedroomed (with seperate living & dining room), and two bathrooms. Views stretched out across the city.

Very impressed with the room service menu. Large choice - and prices are relatively cheap as hotel food prices go.

Staying in the Grand Hyatt Melbourne is a prime example why Melbourne is always voted one of the most liveable cities in the world. I wanted to move in and stay for good!

Room Tip: Choose views across to the Botanical Gardens. You'll see the main highlights of the city from hi...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelexpertdotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Travelexpertdotcom,
It’s great to read that you found our rooms so comfortable and liveable that you wanted to move in! It is a true compliment, not just to the décor, but to the warm and welcoming atmosphere created by our staff. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, and we certainly do hope you choose to stay with us again next time your visit our exciting and beautiful city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The Grand Hyatt on Collins St is my hotel of choice in Melbourne. I love the location, the ambiance and have never had a really bad experience with staff. Because of these pluses I can overlook a few less than perfect things. The coffee always takes ages in the morning at breakfast in the restaurant (but the food - especially the granola is great), yes the plumbing is noisy and the sound of other guests opening and closing doors can be annoying. My last stay was a bit disappointing. I was on a really high floor and had a room which had an interconnecting door. The guest in the room next to mine snored so loudly and the walls were so thin I had to wear ear plugs! I must have pulled them out during the night cos next thing I was awoken by the same guest having a conference call at 3 am!! This happened three nights in a row and really was annoying but the thought of going through the hassle of moving to another room was just too much. Anyway I have requested my profile record not to put me in an interconnecting room again so hopefully problem solved. I will still be going back though as most everything else is great.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Leigh M,
It’s wonderful to read how much you enjoy staying with us - Grand Hyatt Melbourne is in a perfect location to explore all the great things Melbourne has to offer. However it is disappointing to hear that your recent stay was marred by noise issues from the adjoining room. We have noted in your profile your preference for a room without interconnecting door which we hope will alleviate any issues for your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Very impressive breakfast buffet, selection of every imaginable cuisine in a very beautiful interior. Joined overseas guests for a sumptuous feast! Think pastry bar, charcuterie, yum cha kitchen, traditional breakfast cooked, fruit nuts and yoghurt, hot chocolate. It is like a sophisticated market place and it has a great atmosphere.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
2  Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Sue S,
We definitely agree – the Breakfast offering in our Collins Kitchen restaurant is second to none. With the large open kitchen, an emphasis on locally sourced Victorian produce and everything cooked fresh in front of you, the hardest choice is what to eat first! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Was there only for a night stay just to relax and to unwind after going out with mates on a Saturday night, the front desk clerk was very friendly and even helped me when I had a problem with my credit card and gave me access to the Internet in their business room to take care of my credit card, I booked the Grand View King and the room was immaculate, clean and above all helped me unwind a bit more than usual. The Bath and Shower were also clean and immaculate. The Hotel Restaurant is what makes the hotel really shine, the food was every bit worth the $81 i spent on my dinner there, the food was cooked to perfection and the dessert was just divine!!!!.

Definitely cannot wait to come back to Melbourne and in particular to the Grand Hyatt cause it's worth the money for the service, great food and above all the love of Melbourne cause it captures that in abundance!!!

Room Tip: Grand View King is always the better room!!!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antony V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear Antony V,

We would have to agree that our Collins Kitchen restaurant is one of Melbourne’s hidden treasures. With an emphasis on locally sourced produce cooked before your eyes in the open show kitchen, it really is a great place to experience the best of Victorian food. We hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 160 in Melbourne
2,736 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#17 of 160 in Melbourne
1,980 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,627 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#34 of 160 in Melbourne
832 reviews
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#2 of 160 in Melbourne
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Address: 123 Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $194 - $548 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 548
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Melbourne hotel is a 5-star hotel on Collins Street in the centre of CBD, business, luxury shopping, theatre and restaurant district. The hotel is located within walking distance of Princess Theatre, Federation Square and Southgate. The hotel provides 550 rooms and suites with extensive meeting rooms and event facilities, spectacular upper and lower lobbies, the restaurant, Collins Kitchen, the bar, RU-CO, as well as an exclusive retail environment and innovative events venue, the residence. Guests booking into Club accommodation will enjoy all the benefits of the Grand Club lounge including personalised express check in and check-out, deluxe continental breakfast, all day refreshments, evening drinks with canapes and private meeting areas. For meetings and events, Grand Hyatt Melbourne offers the perfect combination of first-class function rooms, outstanding services and a range of flexible packages. For weddings our Melbourne hotel offers a range of romantic rooms for your special day. Grand Hyatt Melbourne also offers all guests' access to City Club Health & Fitness 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing