We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location comfy room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Ranked #23 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great location comfy room”
Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Great bathroom, with proper door. The last 2 hotels I have stayed in had open plan bathrooms, no privacy. The beds and pillows were very comfy. The room was large and the corner lounge a very nice touch. We were not up high enough to get a view, just the back of other buildings , so would recommend the higher floors. The staff were helpful, and gave us a late checkout. A great location as we saw South Pacific at the princess, so was just a short walk. All up a very nice stay.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Chexz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Chexz,
We would have to agree, we are definitely in a great location for seeing a show, or perhaps some shopping or dinner in the city! It’s wonderful to read you really enjoyed your stay with us – we look forward to you staying with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,642
    984
    362
    128
    76
See reviews for
603
1,631
194
1,290
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (595)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canberra Australia
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I'm a refugee from The Westin's dreadful saggy beds. Hyatt was close (our business meeting's at the Westin) and similar standard, except it really wasn't. The lobby is amazing, everything looks good, but the rooms are a come-down. Small, and a bit drab. I did like the little couch, but why so many chairs? Couldn't get near the window without climbing over the couch or one of the chairs.

The bed. Not good enough. It was a king, and it was badly "dished" where people slept on it. I ended up sleeping right up on the ridge down the middle, where there was still a bit of support. To sleep on either side was to become banana-shaped and in pain within hours. Pillows were good. Shapable feather ones, and stiffer synthetic ones.

Air con, off and on, off and on... so I turned it off. At least you had that option.
Plumbing noise... if anyone within proximity turned their taps on or flushed the dunny, you heard it. I last experienced this at the Mantra Esplanade in Darwin, and was NOT amused. Less amused in an alleged 5-star.

Noise. Not great. It was interior noise, you heard who was in the hallway and what they were doing. Worse though was the baby blasting away at 1am or 2am. Wow. A new experience.

Good points? Well, if it was a 4 star, I'd be less harsh. as it was, the staff were very nice, all of them, no sour points at all. Lobby was grand and quite wonderful. Views were good. Location very good indeed, smack bang right where you want to be. But that's about it. There are better hotels. The old, broken-down saggy mattress was what did it for me. I was there because of the Westin's bad beds, and these were only marginally better, but not good enough.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ant100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear ant100,

We do have to agree, our lobby is certainly a spectacular welcome to our hotel! However we are disappointed to read that you didn’t find our beds comfortable. We replaced all our beds two years ago with brand new pillow top Sealy posturepdic beds. We have raised the issues you experienced regarding room noise with our Engineering Management team for investigation and review. We do hope we have another opportunity to welcome you to the hotel and provide you with a true Hyatt experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed over a weekend for my birthday and even though I am from Melbourne, I must say that this is one of the best hotels I have been to in Melbourne. The staff from the reception desk to the bell boys desk through to the staff at Collins Kitchen was very professional and welcoming the moment I entered the building. Being from Melbourne, I know that we are generally very welcoming and friendly but the attentiveness of the staff at Grand Hyatt was beyond my expectations and I would definitely stay again.

Located on the 20th floor, we had views of the city and park and even though I have seen all these buildings many times before, it was actually quite relaxing sitting by the window just staring out as the city lights up! Definitely worth the extra to get the views!

All the necessary amenities were provided, tooth brush, shaving set, shoe shine, sanitary bag, shower caps, comb etc... So you don't really need to bring anything unless you rather use your own of course.

Location wise is excellent, great walking distance to all the places you want to see in the city, take a right from the hotel and there is China Town with all your Asian foods! Take a left from the hotel and there is Federation Square and Acmi, or just head straight across to Swanston St on the next block and everything is within your reach.

Cons:
1. It became quite annoying hearing the neighbours water running every time they ran a bath or took a shower, the noise was, quite clear.
2. Checked in at 2:30pm but no room was available, was told I could be phoned when it became available... Waited till 4pm and received no calls, decided to ask the reception desk and my room key was just sitting there on the table...

Room Tip: Room with a view is worth the little extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sang M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Sang M,
We would have to agree – the views over the city are quite jaw dropping, especially at night! We definitely recommend upgrading to a View room or a Club room just for the experience of enjoying the city from a unique vantage point. While it is great to read of your positive service experiences with Front Desk and our Bell staff, it is equally disappointing to read of the shortfalls in customer service you received during your stay. We welcome your feedback as an opportunity to learn and train our staff – we have raised your experiences with our Front Office management for review and further training. We do hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrara, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I stayed there recently for a conference, 2 nights in a grand king room. The room was small but more than adequate for this trip. It was clean, the bed was super comfortable with nice pillows and Doona. The room was a little noisy as could hear people next door running water for bath and low volume conversation, however no more than what you would expect for a high density CBD hotel. The facilities in the room were excellent with good mini bar selection and high quality teas, though long life milk a disappointment for a hotel of this quality. The bathroom was great with nice quality products although the toweling and bathrobes a little hard and crunchy. I found a tear in my bathrobe, obviously used a lot!!. The view over the city from the 23rd floor was awesome with a nice table and lounge next to the window. Did not try any food however I would have if there was an in room dining menu in my room. There was one on the TV menu but it was limited to a 2 course dinner aimed at business folk for $44 a head.
Check in and check out was quick with pleasant friendly staff. Concierge staff were efficient and also very friendly.
Would definitely stay there again, in great location with walking distance to most attractions.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajmac09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Ajmac09
It’s great to read that you found our Front Office staff efficient and friendly – we aim to provide 5 star service at every touch point, so it’s great to see feedback that reflects the quality of service we are providing. We’re sorry to hear you had a little trouble with finding the room service menu. For your reference, the compendium is located in the wooden shelves underneath the desk lamp – please don’t hesitate to ask a member of staff to show you where to locate next time you stay with us, we would be glad to provide assistance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Good central location for a city visit. Close to theatres, restaurants, markets and lots and lots of shops. We had a grand king room and it was adequate but small. No free WiFi, noisy neighbors, dimly lit, repulsive colour scheme. Sort of olive green, brown and weird black and brown carpet with big white lines in it. The picture over the toilet was a fat naked lady sitting on a bath. Yuk!. We told them it was our anniversary so we might get something extra. We got an apple, an orange and three strawberries. What a joke. The handwritten card was a nice touch ..but we couldn't read it. The concierge recommended a restaurant that was pretty average but it was much better than the hotels restaurant. Room service was prompt but the food was very expensive and tasteless. I'll try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bakerzinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Bakerzinc,
Grand Hyatt Melbourne is certainly in a fantastic location – shopping, theatres, and restaurants are all just a short stroll away. When we redesigned our rooms we worked hard to create a comfortable, stylish room with a contemporary palette - the room itself then becomes a frame for the spectacular views through the floor to ceiling windows. We have raised your comments regarding the décor as well as the service issues you encountered with our Senior management team for review, and we sincerely appreciate the feedback you have provided regarding your recent stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed at the Grand Hyatt 2010 or 2011. I have read some of the negative comments and felt that I had to reply in the Hyatt’s defence - We had a ball. From the moment we got there everybody was friendly - we had a conversation with a chef on the escalator who was just the happiest and friendliest chef I have ever met.

The room and view was great and the bed was the best. We even cancelled lunch at Neil Perry's Spice Temple to just relax and stay in bed.

I highly recommend the Grand Hyatt and we will be back.

Room Tip: Do your research before booking any hotel - know what views are on offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nev64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Nev64,
We would have to agree – our beds are so comfortable, it certainly can be very tempting to stay in bed rather than go out for lunch! We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your past stays – it is always heartwarming to hear how much guests enjoy staying with us. Guest service is something we take a great deal of pride in, and we strive to create a welcoming, friendly atmosphere for all of our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to Grand Hyatt Melbourne again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights with 2 adults & 2 kids in a connecting room. Great rate for second room for the kids!

Rooms were good size & bathrooms great size. Luxury bathrooms !

Chose this hotel for the location & the indoor pool facilities. Kids thought the basket ball & tennis court were a real bonus - which are unusual for a city hotel.

We travel at least once a year with the kids & usually stay at 5 star resorts - this buffet breakfast would have to be our favourite.

Staff were good & the other guests were good.

Would stay & recommend this hotel anytime.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Rita199,
We would have to agree, travelling with a family is made so much for comfortable with connecting rooms – everyone has their own space, and no fighting for the bathroom in the morning! It’s great to see you were able to take advantage of some of the facilities which make our property truly special – we are very lucky to have a full size tennis & basketball court in the middle of the city. We certainly hope that next time you and your family visit Melbourne, you choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#7 of 160 in Melbourne
2,653 reviews
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,479 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#18 of 160 in Melbourne
1,946 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
#10 of 160 in Melbourne
1,507 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#29 of 160 in Melbourne
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Property: Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Address: 123 Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 548
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Melbourne hotel is a 5-star hotel on Collins Street in the centre of CBD, business, luxury shopping, theatre and restaurant district. The hotel is located within walking distance of Princess Theatre, Federation Square and Southgate. The hotel provides 548 rooms and suites with extensive meeting rooms and event facilities, spectacular upper and lower lobbies, the restaurant, Collins Kitchen, the bar, RU-CO, as well as an exclusive retail environment and innovative events venue, the residence. Guests booking into Club accommodation will enjoy all the benefits of the Grand Club lounge including personalised express check in and check-out, deluxe continental breakfast, all day refreshments, evening drinks with canapes and private meeting areas. For meetings and events, Grand Hyatt Melbourne offers the perfect combination of first-class function rooms, outstanding services and a range of flexible packages. For weddings our Melbourne hotel offers a range of romantic rooms for your special day. Grand Hyatt Melbourne also offers all guests' access to City Club Health & Fitness 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing