We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel but....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Ranked #24 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Always love coming back to the Grand Hyatt but on most recent stay had disturbed sleep from an airconditioner that cut in and out about every 10 minutes. But that was the only (admittedly non-trivial) issue. I will put it down to bad luck and rate "Excellent". My check in experience was great and the dinner in the Verandah room excellent.

Stayed: October 2012
Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear Phillip M,
It’s wonderful to read how much you enjoyed your event in the Verandah – our Events team are second to none, and the ambience of the room certainly makes for a special evening. However we are sorry to read that you had a disturbed night’s sleep due to problems with the air conditioning. We have raised the matter with our Engineering team for investigation and action. We hope that you will visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,330)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hyatt Melbourne
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,937 - 3,943 of 4,330 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed here as part of a package to see South Pacific. The package included dinner, show and breakfast the next morning. On check in the package wasn't explained to us and our booking time for the restaurant was not given. We had to come back down and try and find out from the restaurant. This is really basic information that should be conveyed at check in. We kind of felt like that because we were on a package we were somehow inferior! Just the vibe we got.

Room was ok but the windows were filthy, great view but you could hardly see it through the grime. We had requested a twin room but were told on check in that there wasn't one available! So one of us had to sleep on a roll away?? Room was also incredibly hot and made for an uncomfortable sleep.

Dinner at the restaurant was not good at all. I ordered the Barramundi and there were scales still on it. We were then bought the wrong bill twice when we asked for it. Service was also intrusive with staff interrupting our conversation constantly to ask questions.

Rooms were noisy with sound from neighbouring rooms and hallway very easy to hear.

Breakfast buffet was good with all the usual selections, long line for a table though!

Would I stay here again? Only if I got a really, really cheap deal, otherwise no!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PinotFanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear PinotFanatic,
It’s great to read you enjoyed our buffet breakfast– it is certainly extensive and offer a truly stunning range of freshly prepared dishes, using locally sourced ingredients. However, it is disappointing to read the difficulties you experienced with your package inclusions not being explained, as well as problems with your room. We’re also sorry to read that dinner in our restaurant was below par, and not the 5 star service you would expect from grand Hyatt Melbourne. We have raised the issues with our Senior management teams for review and action – we appreciate you taking the time to provide candid feedback about your experience staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

We were at the Grand Hyatt for my sister's wedding in Melbourne. It is a very glamorous hotel in a great location with beautifully appointed rooms. The General Manager had a bottle of Chandon delivered to my sister's room while we were getting ready on the day of the wedding which was a beautiful touch.

The only negative was the man at the concierge. We wanted to know if we could leave 2 clutches and jackets at reception while we were at the church (across the road) as we didn't have anywhere else to leave them. The Concierge was quite rude about it but eventually we were able to. We then asked if he had any umbrellas that we could borrow. He provided us with 1 (to share between the bride and 3 bridesmaids) and it turned out to be broken.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JetsetterPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear JetsetterPerth,
It’s wonderful to read that we were able to make you and your sister’s wedding day that little bit extra special! However, we’re disappointed to read that our Concierge service was less than accommodating, as going above and beyond guest expectations is part of our 5 star service. We take your feedback seriously, and have raised this with our Front Office management team for review and further training. We do hope you choose to stay with us again when you next visit Melbourne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here in November 2011 for our three year wedding anniversary. We had a lovely large room with King bed, large sitting area and well appointed bathroom. The room was very modern and had everything you needed. The staff were very friendly and helpful. After our dinner out in the city we returned to the hotel's bar for a few drinks. The bar is nice and quiet, relaxing, comfortable and the staff knowledgable and accommodating. In the morning we had the buffet breakfast (as part of our room package), which was throughly enjoyed. The range of food was amazing and great quality. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank binda_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear binda_83,
It’s great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We think our bar, ruco, is definitely one of Melbourne’s hidden treasures – and great for a relaxing drink after you have been out for dinner. The best part is you can take the elevator home to your room! We look forward to seeing you at grand Hyatt Melbourne again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at grand Hyatt during our trip to Melbourne. Location was very good, the lobby was nicely presented. However the rooms were quite small (we booked grand king), a lot of space wasted in the bathrooms (however the bathroom was very pretty and well appointed). Only disappointment was that they took around 4 hours to bring our luggage up to Our room which was a bit annoying. Lucky for them we weren't in a rush to go anywhere. View from room was good

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tithan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear Tithan,
We’re glad to read that you found our rooms stylish and comfortable – when we redesigned our guest rooms we put a lot of thought into the little touches to make the rooms welcoming and comfortable. We’re sorry to read that you experienced some issues with our Bell staff with your luggage – we have raised your comments with our Front Office management team for review and training. We hope that on your next visit to Melbourne, you choose to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

From the moment you are met by the car valet this hotel is sensational, these people have service down to a fine art.
We had adjoining rooms to accommodate our family and everything was set up perfectly, the room facilities are beautiful right down to the bathroom amenities.
The restaurant is delish, we ate here twice and was very happy both times. I also got to see a sneak peak of their famous high tea which looked divine!
If you have a high expectation of service and quality then this is definitely the property for you!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KAT2410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear KAT2410,
It’s wonderful to read how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us – we pride ourselves on our 5 star service, and exceeding guest expectations. And we would have to agree, adjoining rooms makes staying with a family a breeze. We would love to welcome you all back to Grand Hyatt Melbourne soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Recently spent a relaxing weekend in Melbourne staying 2 nights at the Grand Hyatt in Collins Street. The first night was part of an overnight theatre package (Mousetrap) booked through Ticketmaster and the second night was booked through Qantas. We had a Grand King room on the 26th floor which provided us a great view of the city. From the moment we arrived we were impressed by this hotel. Check-in was both efficient and friendly. In fact I must commend all the staff on their friendly & courteous manner. The room was only average in size but very clean, and with all the nice amenities you would expect of a hotel of this quality; quiet airconditioner, modern flat-screen TV, minibar with tea & coffee making facilities, towelling robes & slippers, plentiful luxurious towels & bathroom products, complimentary newspapers and an iPod dock built into the bedside clock. The king-size bed was very comfortable and the pillows & crisp white linen were of excellent quality. Our package included a full buffet breakfast which was one of the best I have experienced.

The only negatives were that there is no free Wifi anywhere in the hotel, and the lack of soundproofing in the rooms. We could clearly hear the bathroom sounds of showers running and toilets flushing in the neighbouring rooms, as well as being disturbed at night by returning guests talking as they exit the lift and walk past in the hallway outside our room.

Due to our rather short stay we did not use the pool or gym facilities so I cannot comment on these, but I would not hesitate to recommend the Grand Hyatt Melbourne for its quality of service, room comfort and convenient city location. It is just a short walk from theatres, restaurants, shops, trams, galleries, churches and even a weekend market.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DivingDel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear DivingDel,
Spending a night in the city and indulging in a show is a wonderful way to treat yourself, we would have to agree. Grand Hyatt Melbourne is also in the perfect location for a night out – you can just stroll back to your room afterwards! We’re sorry to hear that you encountered issues with noise during your stay – we have raised this with our Engineering team for review and action. We do hope that you choose to stay with us next time you visit our beautiful city!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 160 in Melbourne
2,738 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#16 of 160 in Melbourne
1,981 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,632 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#34 of 160 in Melbourne
832 reviews
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#2 of 160 in Melbourne
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Address: 123 Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $196 - $597 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 548
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Melbourne hotel is a 5-star hotel on Collins Street in the centre of CBD, business, luxury shopping, theatre and restaurant district. The hotel is located within walking distance of Princess Theatre, Federation Square and Southgate. The hotel provides 550 rooms and suites with extensive meeting rooms and event facilities, spectacular upper and lower lobbies, the restaurant, Collins Kitchen, the bar, RU-CO, as well as an exclusive retail environment and innovative events venue, the residence. Guests booking into Club accommodation will enjoy all the benefits of the Grand Club lounge including personalised express check in and check-out, deluxe continental breakfast, all day refreshments, evening drinks with canapes and private meeting areas. For meetings and events, Grand Hyatt Melbourne offers the perfect combination of first-class function rooms, outstanding services and a range of flexible packages. For weddings our Melbourne hotel offers a range of romantic rooms for your special day. Grand Hyatt Melbourne also offers all guests' access to City Club Health & Fitness 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing