We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Melbourne CBD Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Ranked #23 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Melbourne CBD Location”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

This is a really good hotel all round. I enjoyed the central CBD location. The rooms are very good, big bathroom and we had a great view looking towards the MCG, Rod Laver Arena etc. from 28th floor (Deluxe King View). We got a last minute deal from the hotel website which saved a few dollars. Had a drink in the bar, just fine and had a meal in the restaurant - my order got mucked up and the wines by the glass were so so - based on this I have given the stay 4 stars. I would stay here again and maybe eat at the restaurant to see if they can do better.

Room Tip: If you use the Hyatt chain then join the reward program.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyberlion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear cyberlion,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. The views over the MCG and Melbourne Park complex really are wonderful, and a real treat to see parts of Melbourne you don’t usually get to gaze upon. We have brought your feedback to the attention of our Food and Beverage management team for review and training, and appreciate your candid feedback. Whilst mistakes can happen, we pride ourselves on providing excellent service to our guests, and are disappointed to hear that this was not the case when dining in our restaurant. We do hope you choose to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,638
    982
    362
    128
    76
See reviews for
602
1,631
194
1,286
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (595)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Really enjoyed my stay. We had a room on an upper floor, great view out to the MCG/tennis/gardens and the room was spacious. Exceptionally comfy bed with fluffy pillows. Executive club level was a nice touch and a nice option for breakfast.

The hotel is in a fantastic location - moments walk to the shops, easy distance to tram stops etc.

Room rate is not cheap - best to stay here when someone else is paying, or if it's for a special treat.

Room Tip: The higher, the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bondibubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear really-wanna-holiday,
Thank you for your review – it’s great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. And we would certainly agree, having Grand Club access certainly adds an extra touch of luxury to your stay, not to mention the delight of enjoying the complimentary evening drinks and canapés with the twinkling lights of Melbourne spread out beneath your feet. We would love to welcome you back to Grand Hyatt Melbourne soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Booked this hotel from the UK 5 months ago and opted for membership of the Grand Club. Not met by anyone from the Club on arrival. Bellman asks if we need our bags taking to our room. What else did he think we were going to do with them. No welcome on the Club floor, they must have been expecting us. Eventually checked in and shown to room. Incredibly small and no drawers and almost no hanging space considering we are meant to be here for 7 nights. Told no other room was available but on persistent complaining and an intervention from American Express my travel agent we were shown to a corner room. Better, but still very small. Having booked the Club we were told they are very busy and we should get our breakfast in the hotel restaurant. I appreciate the restaurant is a full hot buffet instead of a cold continental buffet but if you deliberately choose to book a Club room you should be able to access the Club facilities. I think it is probably a case of weekend overselling of a finite product. Definitely not 5*.

Room Tip: Don't buy based on the pictures of the room they publish on the website. Corner rooms are bigger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelhamcorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear Kelhamcorp,
We strive to go above and beyond for all our guests, and to provide our Grand Club guests with a special experience that begins from the moment you step on to the Grand Club floor. It is very disappointing to read that on this occasion the service you experienced was well below par. We appreciate your honest feedback as an opportunity to learn, and have alerted our Grand Club management staff to your comments for review and further training. We do hope that you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

I have spent one night  for my business visit.
Positives:
Very good location in the heart  of the city. Room and bathroom are spacious and clean. Excellent quality food.
Negatives, expensive Internet AUD 29/ 24 hours 

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sulch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear Sulch,
It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly are in a great location , with everything that Melbourne has to offer just a short stroll away. Internet access is definitely a necessity rather than a luxury these days, and we are pleased to advise that we are in the process of reviewing our internet charges. We hope to welcome you back to Grand Hyatt Melbourne soon, whether for business or perhaps for a relaxing weekend away!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed for one night (a Saturday night) in a King Room. We arrived at 9:30am after an early flight into MEL. We didn't expect to be able to get into the room so early but were wanting to leave our luggage. To our delight a room was available! The reception staff handling our check in was very personable. Usually you don't get great service in Australia so this was a pleasant surprise. Wee would then find that all staff we dealt with during our stay were also a pleasure.
The room was on the 20th floor, but the lifts are efficient so we never had to wait long. It is well located (and much better located than the Park Hyatt) so a short walk will get you to most of the city. The bed was super comfortable too.
If you like to work out, the gym is the best I have ever seen in a hotel, on par with a regular gym like Fitness First and the like. The pool is a little small for lap swimming, it is better suited for relaxing.
We needed a bucket of ice in the early evening, and after a quick call to reception one was sent up within 5-10 min.
I did not notice the noise from other rooms or the hallways, but I live in the city so am used to background noise.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madge B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear Madge B,
It is great to see that we were able to accommodate your early check in – we certainly do try our very best to check guests into their room on arrival, however due to high occupancy the evening before, sometimes this just isn’t possible. We are very proud of our Fitness centre – it certainly boasts a great variety of equipment, including aerobic and pin loaded resistance machines, as well as free weights, with plenty of space to work out. It certainly makes exercising a pleasure! We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Our favourite Hotel stay in Melbourne .. it is first class in all respects in addition to being well appointed in terms of transport, shopping, restaurants and key cultural venues. We usually walk to all venues which makes visiting so much more enjoyable.

Room Tip: We've never been disappointed with any rooms in which we have stayed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear Sy61,
We would have to agree, Grand Hyatt Melbourne is certainly well placed to be able to walk to the many things the city has to offer. Theatres, shopping, great bars and restaurants, as well as big events at the MCG and Rod Laver arena are all just a short stroll away. It’s wonderful to hear that we are your favorite hotel in Melbourne – we look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warragul, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

my wife and i had the great luck to stay in this hotel 2 days after our son was born. from the hospital that we used, you could stay in the hotel after two nights in hospital if they wasn't any problems with the birth or child. my wife got picked up by the hotel in one of their cars. the room had a great view over the river and rod laver park/olympic park. the room was of great size and very clean, with plenty of seating in the room. the room service meals has plenty of choice, large portions and fantastic meals. the location couldn't get much better if your looking for the australian open or just a visit to the CBD. All of the staff that we saw were excellent, very helpful and friendly, from the first staff member who took my car and parked it, to the lady at the front desk at checkout. we both had a great stay and looking forward to another visit to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graham w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear Graham w,
Congratulations on the birth of your brand new baby! What a lovely reason to stay with us. It is great to read that you felt well looked after by our staff, from arrival to departure – we pride ourselves on our 5 star service, and it is great to see that on such a special occasion as welcoming a new child into your family we were able to make your stay that little bit special. We look forward to welcoming all of you back to Grand Hyatt Melbourne in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#7 of 160 in Melbourne
2,649 reviews
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,473 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#18 of 160 in Melbourne
1,946 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
#10 of 160 in Melbourne
1,507 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#31 of 160 in Melbourne
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Property: Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Address: 123 Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 548
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Melbourne hotel is a 5-star hotel on Collins Street in the centre of CBD, business, luxury shopping, theatre and restaurant district. The hotel is located within walking distance of Princess Theatre, Federation Square and Southgate. The hotel provides 548 rooms and suites with extensive meeting rooms and event facilities, spectacular upper and lower lobbies, the restaurant, Collins Kitchen, the bar, RU-CO, as well as an exclusive retail environment and innovative events venue, the residence. Guests booking into Club accommodation will enjoy all the benefits of the Grand Club lounge including personalised express check in and check-out, deluxe continental breakfast, all day refreshments, evening drinks with canapes and private meeting areas. For meetings and events, Grand Hyatt Melbourne offers the perfect combination of first-class function rooms, outstanding services and a range of flexible packages. For weddings our Melbourne hotel offers a range of romantic rooms for your special day. Grand Hyatt Melbourne also offers all guests' access to City Club Health & Fitness 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing