We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Ranked #23 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2012

I stayed at the Grand Hyatt with my mum as we were going to the Lady Gaga concert and we had a lovely experience. The check in staff were very friendly, chatty and welcoming. The room was spotless and beautiful with a great view out over the yarra. We had no problems booking 2 single beds which were amazingly comfy - even my mum thought they were great and she has very high standards! The bathroom was well stocked with robes, slippers and cosmetics and the bath was great at the end of the night! The minibar had a great selection and we were very impressed with the range of T2 teabags. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone and look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Dear Sarah604,
Grand Hyatt Melbourne is in a perfect location if you are attending a concert at Rod Laver, the MCG or even the Forum – everything is within walking distance of the hotel. All of our rooms have brand new beds, and as you discovered, they are so comfortable it can be hard to get up in the morning! We look forward to welcoming you and your mum back to Grand Hyatt Melbourne for another girls night out soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,476)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,178 - 4,184 of 4,476 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2012

Hey - I travel quite frequently and have visited Melbourne on several occassions. This time (a few days ago) I stayed at the Grand Hyatt Melbourne, and loved my stay.
Of course, having a room on the higher floor helped, but over all was very happy with the service.
Their buffet spread at breakfast is one of the best I have seen and tasted. Absolutely loved it!

Room Tip: try and get a room facing the river - great views!
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
2  Thank Vinlovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Dear Vinlovestravel,
It’s wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We are quite proud of our breakfast offerings – with so much to choose from, it can be hard to know where to start! We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Melbourne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

This is a flash hotel, with very masculine decor. Had excellent T2 herbal tea in the room, and nice couch with a nice bright lamp. Great location. Pretty much what you would expect for ~$300/night, except internet (>$20/day).
First, I was surprised that you had to pay extra for wifi. Second, I had massive issues - kept dropping out every minute or two until I gave up and recharged by ipad broadband. The hotel refunded half the internet price, explained technical problems etc. However, i was back about a month later for a conference and - surprise - they had problems with their wifi internet, with the same symptoms as a month ago.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Dear KarenHappy,
Thank you for your review – your feedback is important to us. In the wake of our recent refurbishment, the rooms at Grand Hyatt Melbourne are truly remarkable with luxurious trimmings and draw-dropping views. However, we’re sorry to hear that your experience with our WiFi internet service was rather disruptive. Reliable internet connections are no longer considered a luxury but a necessity these days, whether travelling for business or leisure. This is certainly something we will raise with our service provider and can assure you that our Director of Rooms and Management Team are currently in the process of evaluating how to best manage the pricing of this service. We hope welcome you back to Grand Hyatt Melbourne soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

The grand Hyatt on Collins St Melbourne is not a bad hotel but rooms are dated. Lobby bar service is slow despite plenty of staff and the food is average with little creative inspiration. It is a little dirty but staff are not particularly helpful. While I have enjoyed stays some years ago I was disappointed. I will be looking elsewhere in the future.

Room Tip: rooms do have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lechiffre1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Dear Lechiffre 1,
Thank you for your considered feedback – it is disappointing to hear that you did not enjoy your experience whilst staying with us. We will certainly pass on your comments to the Food & Beverage team. We hope that you will consider a return visit in the near future and allow us the opportunity to redeem our well earned 5 star reputation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Pool needs an upgrade because the gym is sensational and would be good to be able to do laps. Service was 5 star the whole time and nothing was to hard. Executive lounge was fantastic with good views and lots of variety. No hot food for breakfast though! This was a great hotel all round though and the bed was amazing

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisajames1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Dear lisajames1982,
It is good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us – we pride ourselves on our 5 star service and strive to make every guest feel special. The Grand Club lounge is a great way to relax and enjoy the amazing views. Perhaps next time you might like to enjoy the full buffet breakfast in our Collins Kitchen restaurant and start the day in decadent style! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I have to say I was disappointed by this hotel during my recent stay at the Melbourne Grand Hyatt on Collins Street. Not that it is not at the level of a 5 star hotel which it surely is. It has great location advantage being located in the heart of central Melbourne. It has great facilities like gym, pool etc. The rooms are generally pretty good.

My peeve is that it is lacking in some of the x-factor. The service did leave something to be desired. Phone calls to the reception took long time to answer some of the time. Niggling charges like the 1.5% for credit card use and wi-fi for a hotel which charges on the average more than $A300 per night are a bit over the top. Overall, I was left with a bad taste in my mouth.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jdavis2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Dear jdavis2009,
I’m sorry to hear that you were not left with a positive feeling from your recent stay with us. We work hard to deliver 5-star service to all our guests, and it is disappointing that you found our service lacking. The service issues you experienced have definitely been brought to the attention of our Front Of House team and Telephone Reception staff. We are currently looking into a viable solution regarding the WiFi charges that are in line with market expectations. We hope that you will consider a return visit in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Grand Hyatt for a long weekend and still talk about it now 16 years later. The hotel was complete luxury, luxury rooms, marble bathrooms, king size beds, great room service.
Our room had a great view over the city centre.
The hotel is in a great location on Collins Street right on the tram line.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chico70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

Dear Chico70,
It is great to hear that both then, and now, you had a wonderful stay with us! We agree, Grand Hyatt Melbourne is in a perfect location with easy access to shopping, entertainment and restaurants, as well as public transport. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon for another indulgent weekend away!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 161 in Melbourne
2,853 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#15 of 161 in Melbourne
2,036 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#25 of 161 in Melbourne
897 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#7 of 161 in Melbourne
5,844 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Address: 123 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $178 - $581 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Melbourne hotel is a 5-star hotel on Collins Street in the centre of CBD, business, luxury shopping, theatre and restaurant district. The hotel is located within walking distance of Princess Theatre, Federation Square and Southgate. The hotel provides 550 rooms and suites with extensive meeting rooms and event facilities, spectacular upper and lower lobbies, the restaurant, Collins Kitchen, the bar, RU-CO, as well as an exclusive retail environment and innovative events venue, the residence. Guests booking into Club accommodation will enjoy all the benefits of the Grand Club lounge including personalised express check in and check-out, deluxe continental breakfast, all day refreshments, evening drinks with canapes and private meeting areas. For meetings and events, Grand Hyatt Melbourne offers the perfect combination of first-class function rooms, outstanding services and a range of flexible packages. For weddings our Melbourne hotel offers a range of romantic rooms for your special day. Grand Hyatt Melbourne also offers all guests' access to City Club Health & Fitness 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing