We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$99
$86
Radisson
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$165
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$118
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $125/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$222
$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Melbourne City(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$91
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$179
$151
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$160
$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$178
$160
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Treasury On Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$144
$121
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $145/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (4,864)
Filter reviews
4,864 results
Traveler rating
3,078
1,128
411
147
100
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,078
1,128
411
147
100
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscollins kitchenthe club loungemarble bathroomcollins streetstar hotelcorner roomroom servicefederation squarebeautiful hotelbuffet breakfastvalet parkingyarra riverlate checkgreat roomlocation is excellentcentral locationcity
Filter
Updating list...
4,549 - 4,554 of 4,864 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the hotel as part of our 50th wedding anniversary trip to New Zealand and Australia. I also gave a speech while in Melbourne. We had some very good experiences during our 29 day trip, but for a chain hotel, the experience at this Hyatt was exceptional. The reception staff (James) made us feel welcomed. It was clear from the beginning of the check-in process that he cared about making our stay at his Hyatt memorable. Our room was upgraded. The view was great. But James and the staff gave service that we found quite extraordinary. I travel around the world and his service was unique.
Thanks to James and the staff of the Gramd Hyatt for a very special three days in Melbourne. Int he end, we preferred Melbourne over Sydney (as cities) for our two-week visit to Australia.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 24, 2012

Dear Alan S,
Thank you for your review. We are proud of the service we provide, and it is great to hear James went above and beyond to make your stay extra special. We will make sure James’ attention to detail and customer service is recognised as a true ambassador for Hyatt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Stayed at the Grand Hyatt 3 nights end May 2012. Booked executive floor so had the benefit of the club lounge. It is on the 31st Floor so nice views over Melbourne city, fire place burning which is lovley ambiance. Nice to be away from the hum drum of the foyer and children.
Evening snacks and drinks nice to end the day, contintenal breakfast was basic no frills. Room was very nice well appointed, bathroom large and well appointed. Had breakfast in the Collins Room on the last day, not a good option was a Sunday and packed and people had to queue. Had to wait a good 20 mins for eggs, for a 5 star hotel breakfast was OK just too caferteria for my likely. Staff very pleasant and over all Hotel lovely. Best location to shops and football games and designer shops.

Room Tip: pay for the executive floor, the benefits are worth the extra, also means you get checked in on the top level no waiting
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heatherjbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 24, 2012

Dear heatherjbelle,
The Grand Club Lounge is certainly a lovely oasis away from the hustle and bustle of the city! Reclining by a warm fire place is the perfect way to unwind and relax. We’re sorry to hear you found the breakfast in Collins Kitchen disappointing – unfortunately it does get very busy on the weekends. We have raised this issue with our Food and Beverage team, and are putting in place measures to make the service more efficient and the experience more pleasant on the weekend.
We hope to see you again for a Melbourne getaway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

This is my 2nd stay in the past 2 months. Had stayed prior 3 years ago and found the rooms very disappointing and the reception service, let's just say "are you good enough to be staying here".
Well obviously after a major refurbishment the hotel is completely different aesthetically and with mind set. Both times on check-in the reception staff could not have been more than welcoming with genuine pleasant attitudes. One gave me an upgrade which was lovely and both times I was asked if I would like a late check-out. The rooms are impeccable whether it was the lovely suite I was given, or the standard king room. The bathrooms are indulgent and the beds terrific. Room service food both times has been nothing less than fantastic and presentation as good as being down in the restaurant.

They have a superb fitness centre with everything and if you can't get a massage there, they can refer a really good massage company, which were very efficient in organizing someone within 1 1/2 hours.

The lobby bar is a great area for a drink and the staff very polite, if not a bit slow on taking orders. It wasn't busy.

Great position and would highly recommend it to anyone visiting the Melbourne CBD area

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank russellalexandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 24, 2012

Dear russellalexandra,
Thank you for your review – Grand Hyatt Melbourne has worked extremely hard to ensure guests arrive with a real sense of occasion when they step inside our hotel. From the grandeur of the lobby to the newly redesigned guest rooms, it’s great to hear that we succeeded. A hotel is only as good as the staff, and it is great to get feedback - we have certainly passed on your comments regarding the slow service to our Food and Beverage team to address.
We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

My two teenagers and I stayed here for two nights. The lady at check in was warm and friendly and offered us a late checkout- wonderful !Our room was pretty cosy with two single beds and a rollaway, but is is so great to have Doonas with crisp white covers, no tacky blankets here. The bathroom was lovely with a really generous supply of complimentary toiletries. Our room was spotlessly clean ( thank you to the hard working cleaning staff) and peaceful. We all slept well. This hotel is convenient to The Regent Theatre and a short walk to City shopping. This would certainly be our Hotel of choice for our next visit to Melbourne.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maggiesfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 24, 2012

Dear Maggiesfamily,
It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Melbourne is such a fantastic city for shopping and theatre visits – and we are certainly placed in an ideal location to enjoy both! We look forward to seeing you on your next girls’ weekend away!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Really an all-star staff. Every 5* hotel has a number of great staff members, but there are often many who are just average as well. Every last person I encountered at the Hyatt was welcoming with a can-do attitude (including in the City Club gym, which is the second best hotel gym I've been to worldwide - behind Gravity at Le Parker Meridian in NYC). The Club Lounge was also one of the best I've seen (the facility itself as well as the catering). The room service was fast, good and relatively affordable. Beds were very good, but most hotels have great beds these days.

The room was very nice (Grand Suite), though not inspiring. It was quite dark, even with all the lights on. I wish there was a master switch by the door and the bed that would turn on/off all the lights. Similarly, I wish there were electronic blinds with a master switch. The front desk staffing was always thin...typically a wait (not for me per say, just each time I walked by). Plus the Diamond Priority doesn't help at reception because you still need to wait on line and that area of the desk is often empty.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrewRH3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 24, 2012

Dear andrewRH3,
Thank you for your review and we most definitely hang our hats on being able to provide state-of-the-art facilities and great service at Grand Hyatt Melbourne. The gym really has a great offering from the huge work-out areas to the roof-top tennis court.
Your comments regarding the levels of lighting in the Grand Suites have been relayed to our Engineering team.
Also next time you stay with us, and as a Diamond Priority guest, you’re most welcome to check in upstairs in the Grand Club Lounge and skip the queue downstairs!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews