We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great friendly and efficient service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Ranked #23 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2012

I stayed at the Grand Hyatt Melbourne recently for a conference that my company was sponsoring. The staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient from greeting me upon my arrival, looking after my luggage, checking me in quickly and then delivering my luggage to the room. Room service staff were always friendly and helpful on the other end of the phone (thank you for recommending the chocolate cake - it was divine!) and the room was immaculately cleaned during the day. Would definitely recommend and will definitely be returning again soon.

Room Tip: Try the chocolate cake on the room service menu - delicious!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicnacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2012

Dear nicnacc
Thanks for your kind comments and we’re glad that your experience at Grand Hyatt Melbourne was friendly, professional and efficient. There’s nothing quite like the ultimate indulgence after a hard day’s work – relaxing in the comfort of our luxe rooms and ordering Room Service!
We can’t wait to welcome you back for business or leisure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,328)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hyatt Melbourne
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,056 - 4,062 of 4,328 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2012

I did not get that 5 star feeling.( a lot of noise from other rooms) great view from room nice size room (mattress sag down one side lol) bathroom a 5 star .the swipe cards in lifts were not working so peopole getting on and off at different floors (very funny)very dark lobby, good position in city ,

Room Tip: high floor good view at night
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nhaga41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

Dear nhaga41
We appreciate your honest feedback as we are dedicated to delivering a 5-star premium experience to our guests at Grand Hyatt Melbourne and strive to improve where we fall short. It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

I stayed here back in 2010 with my mum and daughter, and we all enjoyed the Hyatt.

I managed to get a WotMysteryDeal on Wotif for $199 (room only) and was very happy it turned out to be at the Hyatt again, this time as a trip with my husband for his birthday.

Valet parking was great, and check-in swift and friendly. They had noted my request for a high floor and we were on floor 32, and we were also granted a late checkout of 1pm which was very nice.

The Hyatt has now been fully refurbished, and the room was lovely - I especially like the the fact they have the corner lounge and table. The bathrooms are pure luxury - all marble and fully appointed.

As with most five star hotels, it is the little touches that make it great. Two complimentary bottles of water are included per room, and things like a nesrpesso machine, lovely T2 flavours of tea, a drawer of full stemware glasses for wine, champange and spirits, and bathrobes and slippers, are all great touches.

A very comfy king size bed, and my favourite thing is that the window dressings are layered with a pull down blind and proper blockout curtains - my hubby and I had a lovely sleep in the next morning with the annoying light leaks that many hotels have that wake you up at the crack of dawn.

The lobby area is gorgeous, and the hotel is really well located for walking to indulge in shopping or going down to south bank, and easy access to trams.

We enjoyed pre-dinner drinks at Ru-Co downstairs before venturing out to dine for the evening.

My only feedback would be that the rooms are VERY noisy from internal wall noises for plumbing in adjoining rooms which was annoying, and something I don't expect in a 5* hotel - I had thought this might have been isolated when I stayed there last time due to the renovations, but is still is an issue. As such, I would not be happy about paying any more than what I did for just the basic room.

But still, we had a lovely weekend, and another enjoyable trip to Melbourne!

Room Tip: Request a room on the higher floors, away from the lifts!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeL96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

Dear LeeL96
What a glowing review and what a fabulous surprise!
Grand Hyatt Melbourne has come a long way in the wake of a massive refurbishment and is proud of all its luxe trimmings. It’s often the little things that make such a difference from the fluffy slippers to the late check-out.
However we appreciate your reference to the noise levels and will have this further investigated by our Engineering team.

In the meantime, we hope you choose us again for your next dalliance in Melbourne and perhaps save room for our Grand Afternoon Tea – it’s well worth it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Considering the price and the star rating of this hotel, I was extremely disappointed in the customer service. Staff were unwilling to help make my stay a comfortable one, the room was nice but not clean, and even after I had checked out and needed assistance regarding billing information, staff were clearly untrained and unwilling to help. The next week I stayed at the langham in southbank & their service was outstanding. Staff went to every length to ensure my stay was comfortable, in fact they went above and beyond. It really put into perspective what should be expected at these high class hotels and the Grand Hyatt is a hotel I would recommend NOT to stay in. I wrote a complaint to management and never recieved a response.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmg9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

Dear kmg9,


Thank you for your candid feedback.

Being a 5-star hotel we are responsible to deliver a premium experience for every guest at every touchpoint.

We are most disappointed to hear that not once but on numerous occasions you received second-rate service. Your feedback is taken most seriously as we endeavour to provide a premium first-class experience and assure you that the lapse in service is not indicative of our standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Stayed with family for a special weekend. Booked four rooms, all rooms were perfect, no complaints with any areas of the room. Room amenities were of a high standard, great beds and pillows. Breakfast what else can you say but wonderful. Will stay again for the great service in all areas.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank da-da5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

Dear da-da5,
It is great to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us – this is definitely what we strive for in everything we do. We will keep working hard to maintain our high standards, and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed here during the Mothers Day weekend. Check-in and check-out process was so smooth, staff were so friendly and helpful. Lobby area was grandeur, truly showing its class. Room was a bit smaller than expected, but the bathroom area is so vast with both shower and bath tub. Beds are very comfortable. What amazing is the location, which is right in central of Melbourne City. You can just walk to Collins Street boutiques and Federation Square shortly. There was a very hip restaurant nearby, Chin Chin that's worth trying.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

Dear Girlani,
We are very fortunate to be located right in the centre of the best Melbourne has to offer. Exploring the hidden treasures of Melbourne is definitely part of the fun when visiting such an exciting and bustling city! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to welcome you back soon in the first-class grandeur of our lobby,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We used last minute.com and selected their 5* secret hotel. It ended up being this hotel. View from room wasn't bad considering price, we could see the Yarra and mcg, etc. Bed was lovely, bathroom had its own bath. Very clean. Buffet breakfast down stairs was $40 per person, $$$ but the huge selection was excellent. No lunch for us! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sel15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

Dear Sle15,
What a great mystery hotel deal! It’s good to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Our buffet Breakfast is certainly a great way to start the day and keep you going. We hope you choose to stay with us next time you need a last minute break!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 160 in Melbourne
2,737 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#17 of 160 in Melbourne
1,981 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,630 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#34 of 160 in Melbourne
832 reviews
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#2 of 160 in Melbourne
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Address: 123 Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $194 - $552 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 548
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Melbourne hotel is a 5-star hotel on Collins Street in the centre of CBD, business, luxury shopping, theatre and restaurant district. The hotel is located within walking distance of Princess Theatre, Federation Square and Southgate. The hotel provides 550 rooms and suites with extensive meeting rooms and event facilities, spectacular upper and lower lobbies, the restaurant, Collins Kitchen, the bar, RU-CO, as well as an exclusive retail environment and innovative events venue, the residence. Guests booking into Club accommodation will enjoy all the benefits of the Grand Club lounge including personalised express check in and check-out, deluxe continental breakfast, all day refreshments, evening drinks with canapes and private meeting areas. For meetings and events, Grand Hyatt Melbourne offers the perfect combination of first-class function rooms, outstanding services and a range of flexible packages. For weddings our Melbourne hotel offers a range of romantic rooms for your special day. Grand Hyatt Melbourne also offers all guests' access to City Club Health & Fitness 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing