We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 stars”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Ranked #23 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Recent 2 night stay. Finally a 5 star hotel in Australia that lives up to the 5 star rating. From the valet parking on check in to check out this hotel is a class act. The rooms have been refreshed and are very comfortable. Had a high floor corner room with views to both the ocean and the west. Breakfast was very good. Excellent location. Helpful courteous staff. Goodbye Westin!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AccidentalTourist000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2012

Dear AccidentalTourist000
We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. With our recent refurbishment, we worked really hard to ensure guest comfort was reflected in our room design. Glad to hear we succeeded!
Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,564)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,308 - 4,314 of 4,564 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2012

Beautiful modern rooms, great bed!

The hotel has a perfect location for a walk around town.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Familiemannen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2012

Dear Familiemannen
Wonderful to hear that you had a very comfortable stay – our beds are all brand new and definitely very hard to leave in the morning!
Melbourne has so much to offer, and we are in a perfect location to explore the many laneways, art galleries, theatres and of course, shopping.
We hope that you choose to stay with us on your next visit to Melbourne!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

What a shame. The old adage, that's its not the problem but how it is handled, is so true. When the problem is food poisoning, all the more reason to heed it. We booked a special evening at this venerable five star. We planned a late supper, maybe a movie, late sleep in. Not to be. My wife checked in early while I was flying in from interstate. She had a lovely afternoon with the grandchildren, then took them all to tea in the hotel with a friend and my daughter.They had a coffee and a couple of dishes of prawn dumplings. My wife and her friend then took an early evening light meal in the same restaurant a little later. Both remarked on feeling overly full and a little uncomfortable. When I arrived to meet my wife, she was violently ill in the forecourt. I mean violently ill. So off to bed. I rang the desk to let them know they had some suspect food, and their response was caring and efficient. The next morning I spoke to the duty manager and indicated that I was happy with the response, which included a promise to have food checked and a follow up to me. I asked for the meal costs to be deducted from the bill, and was assured this would be done. On check out the DM met us with some chocolates. Nice but a little ironic in tthe circumstances. Imagine my surprise when I found the afternoon tea costs removed, but not the light dinner. Could those costs be removed please? Short answer. No. 'Our view is that it was the afternoon tea that caused the problem!' I was astonished, and said so. I paid the account rather than have a Barney in the lobby. A follow up phone call to me produced no better result. I suggested most guests, having had their stay ruined by food poisoning would simply have left the hotel, assuming that the room and costs would be gratis. Both meals were in the same restaurant, and both ended up on the forecourt floor. But still no! Amazing. Hence this negative review of an otherwise acceptable, if small roomed, somewhat aging hotel well located in Melbourne.

Room Tip: I suggest you do not go there. Life is too short to have to haggle over the obvious when a problem o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2012

Dear monash22
Our hotel has a long history of exemplary service and we place great importance on the experience of our guests. We are very concerned that you and your wife’s stay with us was not enjoyable, and that on the day, we did not handle the situation to your satisfaction. We trust that she is now fully recovered.
This matter is being dealt with by our Senior Management team, to ensure the appropriate actions have been taken when dealing with issues of such serious concern.
The failure to deduct the cost of both meals was an overcautious application of an internal policy, and in the light of your experience, the policy has been revised. We will contact you separately to discuss this further.
We pride ourselves on our customer service, and absolutely value your feedback, both positive and negative, as an opportunity to learn and improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Always used to stay at the Westin in Melbourne. I was booked into the Grand Hyatt on my last trip and as i knew it had a facelift i thought i would give it a try. The renovation is great, lobby is amazing. Food is also pretty good (but not cheap - then again what is in Aust anymore). Cant put my finger on it - but couldnt get as excited about it as i wanted to. Room was very comfortable but maybe my memory ofwhat it used to be is clouding my judgement!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank still_call_aust_home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2012

Dear still_call_aust_home
Thank you for your review -we think the lobby looks pretty fantastic, too! When we refurbished, we spent a lot of time thinking about how we could make guests feel at home when they stay with us, so it is good to hear that you found the rooms very comfortable.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Some hotels are rated five star but struggle to live up to that rating. The Grand Hyatt Melbourne does not have that problem; it really is five star in all regards especially the service. I could not fault it: there was no little chocolate something (which you probably don't need anyway) on the pillow when you come in after dinner, but that is hardly a fault.
But if the hotel was all that you might expect at this price and location, breakfast far exceeded expectations and was worth every penny. The restaurant is also a perfect place to have a breakfast meeting, with the design suiting both travellers and business people, groups and singles. Their cousins at the much more famous Canberra Hyatt would do well to take note of the professionalism of the breakfast service in Melbourne.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carilloneur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

Dear carilloneur,

We are delighted to note that you chose Grand Hyatt and that it lived up to your 5-star expectations. Our breakfast is a fantastic culinary experience and with so many choices it’s hard to know when to stop!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Had a great stay at the Grand Hyatt melbourne. Courteous staff at check in. Well equipped room with fantastic rooms. Recommend it. Only down side was the aircon was a bit noisy, but really, if the bed wasn't so comfortable, I could have gotten up and adjusted it I'm sure!

Room Tip: Try ang get a top floor room for speccy views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Planetflam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

Dear Planetflam,

We’re glad that you had a great time at our hotel. We really do pride ourselves on 5-star service and quality – our beds are world renowned for the perfect night’s sleep!

However we will pass on the feedback about the noisy air-conditioning.

We hope to host you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Stayed here on Dec 2nd and 3rd on a Wotif Mystery Deal. Parking and checking in was a breeze. Getting a taxi later on wasn't so easy....we waited 15 minutes before deciding to walk and then hailed one on the way.
Room was large and comfortable....location was very central....handy for dropping off Christmas shopping and then returning to the shops.
Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mafman74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

Dear mafman74

We’re glad you experienced the buzzing energy of Melbourne in December. Grand Hyatt Melbourne is perfectly positioned to indulge in all things shopping, especially in the lead up to Christmas!

We hope you choose us again when you next decide to visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#10 of 161 in Melbourne
2,915 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#16 of 161 in Melbourne
2,081 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#25 of 161 in Melbourne
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 161 in Melbourne
5,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Address: 123 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $190 - $557 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Melbourne hotel is a 5-star hotel on Collins Street in the centre of CBD, business, luxury shopping, theatre and restaurant district. The hotel is located within walking distance of Princess Theatre, Federation Square and Southgate. The hotel provides 550 rooms and suites with extensive meeting rooms and event facilities, spectacular upper and lower lobbies, the restaurant, Collins Kitchen, the bar, RU-CO, as well as an exclusive retail environment and innovative events venue, the residence. Guests booking into Club accommodation will enjoy all the benefits of the Grand Club lounge including personalised express check in and check-out, deluxe continental breakfast, all day refreshments, evening drinks with canapes and private meeting areas. For meetings and events, Grand Hyatt Melbourne offers the perfect combination of first-class function rooms, outstanding services and a range of flexible packages. For weddings our Melbourne hotel offers a range of romantic rooms for your special day. Grand Hyatt Melbourne also offers all guests' access to City Club Health & Fitness 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing