We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt Melbourne to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   123 Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Your Points
Ranked #11 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Love this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

From the moment I stepped out of the taxi I felt that I was treated as a 'special guest'. The staff smiled and couldn't have been more helpful. They were there to offer special service and they seemed to enjoy what they were doing. Such a welcome after staying in many hotels where the staff fail to acknowledge guests. The hotel foyer is impressive and the rooms are well arranged. My King Size bed faced the huge window landscape which was a bit disconcerting at night as I wondered if the office block my room faced had people starring into my room. The blinds soon solved that concern and offered a really dark room that was wonderful for sleeping. The bathroom is well appointed with all the essentials including toothbrush and razor. The hotel is close to the city center and entertainment so no problems with walking to many local features. The only downside was the very cold air conditioning which I could not seem to adjust and usually left off and the unusual bathroom sounds (ie. hearing others using shower etc) given what appeared to be a well constructed hotel. However, that aside the hotel is the ideal place to take a spouse for a 'special trip away'. Although I did not indulge I noticed the great breakfast in bed service being served to other rooms and if I had time this would have definitely been part of my treat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor and away from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Dear Wendy M,
Thank you for your lovely kind comments in relation to our hotel and our staff. We are pleased that we exceeded your expectations during your special weekend. In relation to your comments on the air-conditioning have been shared with our Engineering team to consider for future improvements. We hope you will choose to celebrate another special occasion with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,974
    756
    271
    86
    51
See reviews for
427
1,216
144
968
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

We stayed only one night in the hotel as we were taking a night out to see a show at the nearby Regent Theatre, 100 metres away.
Our room at the corner on the 18th floor gave us great views of the southern side of Melbourne, and was spacious and extremel;y comfortable. The bathroom had all the amenities one could expect and require.
Check in and Check out was very smooth. As locals we arrived by car and parked in the adjoining car park where the hotel has special rates and offers a valet parking service for $40 a day, a bargain in Melbourne in these days.
In 24 hours there is not much time to enjoy all the facilities of the hotel, but what we did try were excellent. In particular the breakfast buffet was one of the best we have enjoyed.
Conveniently located in Collins street the hotel is highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anndenMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Dear anndenMelbourne,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are very pleased you enjoyed all the delights of our Collins Kitchen buffet breakfast! It was also wonderful to read your positive comments in relation to our rooms and our team.
We hope you will choose to celebrate another special occasion with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

I haven't stayed at the Grand Hyatt for over a year but thought I'd see if there was any improvement wth all rooms now refurbished. A mistake. There is a serious design flaw in this hotel - every room I havae been in has noise from other room's plumbing. At one stage I thought someone was having a bath in my bathroom - water noises and squeaking tiles! There is also lots of corridor noise from doors opening and closing along the corridor - worse than in any hotel I've ever stayed (and there are many!). Rooms have been nicely refurbished; views are good...but they are stuffy and the aircon is very noisy. The Park Hyatt is very, very much better on every count, but a long way from things.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teepeesydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Dear teepeesydney,We are sorry to learn that your experience in our hotel has fallen below expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for the noise you experienced during your stay; rest assured this have been highlighted to the relevant departments. We hope that we can welcome you back to our hotel so we may strive to provide a seamless experience for you across all areas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

Spent one night here after seeing show in the city. The main lobby is very impressive and the staff were polite. We stayed on level 12, view of the tennis courts but not of the city. Room was renovated, not massive but comfortable. Mattress was comfy. Only thing I'd say is the water makes a lot of noise and the fridge in our room was ticking loudly which didn't make for smooth sleeping but overall nice place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kmo85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Dear Kmo85, Thank you for your lovely kind comments in relation to our hotel and our staff. We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and that we met your expectations. In regards to the water system being noisy, we shall relay these comments back to our engineering department to rectify this immediately.
We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

Stayed 2 nights and had great service.
Can recommend the extra use the Executive Floor Level 31 as you don't need dinner if you have canapes there.

Room Tip: Stay on the Executive Levels as drinks and canapes from 6.00 pm to 8.00pm are included. Can check ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SophieLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Dear SophieLouis, Thank you for your kind comments in relation to our Grand Club Lounge on level 31. We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and that we met your expectations. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

We booked four rooms well in advance for my family. They were charging us 30% ABOVE rack rate (which I did not find out until they advertised their rates for that month as we were booking so far in advance, I assumed it would be cheaper- like the airlines).

Unfortunately, we had to cancel due to unforeseen circumstances a week out from the stay and they charged us a cancellation on all four rooms! This despite the fact they were booked out on websites like lastminute.com and wotif and would have had NO trouble re-selling the rooms. $2200 AUD for what? Nothing-we were very angry as we knew they would re-sell the rooms no problems. It felt like a money grab and even my travel agent was shocked. I asked if we could at least have a food and beverage credit and come another time to use this and they said we were lucky there were not charging us $20,000! Can you believe it?

In this competitive environment, I would have thought goodwill and return customers count for something, we had even stayed once before. That time they overcharged us (which I luckily picked up on the CC statement) and it was refunded. I put this down to human error but I do wonder now...

Unfortunately, you are safer staying in the plethora of other five stars in Melbourne who have a better understanding relationship management with their customers. Concierge were terrible too. Very slow, fibbed about why things took so long and stood around chatting while I struggled with two children and luggage on arrival only to offer once I had managed to do it all alone.

The breakfast buffet was great though. It was included in our rate although on the weekend we struggled to get a table as it seems to get booked up by non-guests.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the back of the building away from Collins St for good natural light
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsDSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Dear SoloTraveller11, Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It is clear how disappointed you are; which is extremely upsetting to us as our goal is to deliver outstanding services and exceed guest expectations at all times. We extend to you, our sincere apologies for the troubles you experienced. Our rates similar to that of airlines are dynamic and do change on a (at times) daily basis. We do not in any circumstance mean to upset or confuse our guests. We also offer flexible cancellation policies depending on the rate plan guests book with us. Your comments to the manner in which you were spoken to by one of our team members and the delay in which it took for our concierge to assist you; will be addressed with our Front office department; as we do strive for total guest satisfaction at all times. We would like to discuss your important comments off-line, to ensure you do return to Grand Hyatt Melbourne. Our aim is to hopefully change your important opinion and to allow you a true 5 star experience! Please contact tina.seing@hyatt.com. From here we will review in full your booking, your rate plan and your dates of stay to understand more.
Thank you SoloTraveller11
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

I stayed here as I thought it would be a treat, it really wasn't.

The room was poorly cleaned, small, stuffy and didn't have very much natural light. There was one person on the front desk at check-in and it was frustrating that it took 30 minutes to check-in to that horrible shoe box room. Room service breakfast was disappointing, the hot food was left in the hot box under the trolley (apparently your expected to just know it is there) and the toast was overlooked and had to be delivered later.

Perhaps I was just allocated one of their worst rooms ... not sure but I won't be giving them another chance as there is plenty on offer in Melbourne so why bother!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cbrfurnished
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Dear cbrfurnished, thank you for sharing your valuable feedback. We are sorry to learn of the delay on your check-in experience and disappointment with our Room Service breakfast. It is certainly not indicative of the standards we strive to achieve for our guests. Your comments have been shared with our teams and we shall certainly towards enhancing our training based on this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 4,384 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#3 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,911 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Crown Towers
Crown Towers
#1 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,829 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#12 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,677 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Property: Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Address: 123 Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 548
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Melbourne hotel is a 5-star hotel on Collins Street in the centre of CBD, business, luxury shopping, theatre and restaurant district. The hotel is located within walking distance of Princess Theatre, Federation Square and Southgate. The hotel provides 548 rooms and suites with extensive meeting rooms and event facilities, spectacular upper and lower lobbies, the restaurant, Collins Kitchen, the bar, RU-CO, as well as an exclusive retail environment and innovative events venue, the residence. Guests booking into Club accommodation will enjoy all the benefits of the Grand Club lounge including personalised express check in and check-out, deluxe continental breakfast, all day refreshments, evening drinks with canapes and private meeting areas. For meetings and events, Grand Hyatt Melbourne offers the perfect combination of first-class function rooms, outstanding services and a range of flexible packages. For weddings our Melbourne hotel offers a range of romantic rooms for your special day. Grand Hyatt Melbourne also offers all guests' access to City Club Health & Fitness 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing