We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (371)
Filter reviews
371 results
Traveler rating
80
144
70
35
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
80
144
70
35
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildingcrown casinogreat locationtram stophuge apartmentflinders streetyarra riverfull kitchendouble glazingone bedroom apartmenta bit tiredwasher and dryersouth bankbeds were comfortablefree tramsearly checketihad stadium
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 371 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2017

The location is convenient - access is not disable friendly. Rooms are spacious, bedrooms are tight - queens size beds in double bed size room so a bit of a squeeze to get around. Needs major upgrading. On site parking is over priced and extremely limited, although local public parking is next door - it too is excessively over priced. Our group booked a number of rooms - security is pretty good,

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank AnnaVanSteel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven B, Receptionist at Riverside Apartments Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2017

Thanks very much for your feedback and we really appreciate it.
We are really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I am really apologize for the inconvenience of accessing the apartment and we should have to walk with you when you check in. We have taken a note and spoken to the housekeepers about the bedding arrangement to avoid that happen again next time. We have parking spaces at the back lane way of the apartment and the price is $35 per night per car. Sometimes the spaces are occupied as we are fully booked and you can park in Walson Carpark. Just give the ticket to our reception and you can also get the same car park rate which is $35 per night.
Hope you can consider staying with us again next time and we will try our best to make to have a better second experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2017 via mobile

I've stayed in the city a lot over the years and we were really disappointed with the quality of the room for the price we paid.
Carpets weren't evenly placed down with knots which were a potential trip hazard. Bathrooms were in need of full renovation and a decent clean- see pictures. Even our cushion covers on the bed needed a wash which was not nice.
Rooms had double glazing for sound but it was still very noisy from street noise.
Full room rennos would bring this place up to its four star ratings and price tag. There are other hotels right near here we've stayed at with no noise, cleaner and better bathrooms.

What was good:
Staff were super nice. Kitchen was very well equipped for cooking- above average with utensils. You did have to pay for parking but it was in a great location with a lift.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
Thank Kl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Apartments Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2017

Thank you for your review.
I'm sorry you were disappointed with your stay. I do know our staff try their best to make your stay as comfortable as possible. I do hope you will reconsider and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2017 via mobile

The apartment looks clean. They offer kitchen, cooking set and dinnerware for guests to cook if you wanna do. The bed is so big for even 2 people but the mattress is not very good. Anyway, the hotel locates at CBD of Melbourne which is convenient for you to go to supper market, metro station, skybus station and very near Chinatown where you can have Chinese style lunch and dinner.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled solo
Thank RyanK3450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven B, Guest Relations Manager at Riverside Apartments Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2017

Thank you for your review.
I'm glad to hear you had a pleasant stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2017

Location is central, close to the city center and Docklands, but accordingly noisy.
I stayed in an annex building apartment, which is likely a different category than the main building. The apartment was spacious and quite comfortable, although it could use some fixing. The fly net and the window opener were falling apart, and the shower could really use an upgrade. Cleaning is reduced to emptying the bins and providing new towels. There are plates and cutlery in the kitchen, but cleaning them is not included in the room's rate - which you only find out if reading the guest book; and while there is a dishwasher, there are no dish-washing tablets.
Staff was kind and helpful, but at times not really knowing how to solve things. For example, hotel guests can use the Wilson parking right next to the hotel for $35/night, but staff did not tell me beforehand where the parking they provide is, and did not know how I can make actual use of their special rate when leaving the parking building.

Room Tip: Opt for higher floor apartments with windows avoiding the main street, to reduce the noise.
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DrDalmaRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven B, Guest Relations Manager at Riverside Apartments Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2017

Thank you for your review.
I was sorry there were communication problems with our staff. If you need clarification on how the apartment works please contact our staff directly and they will make your stay easier next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2017

Arrived with grandchild, were told we were not staying in main Motel but up the lane, not happy. Got to our room after pulling bags up lane. Booked for three and only a bouble bed, rang office staff (laughed), after a long wait they said we would have to moive back down to main hotel so off we go and up another lift to our room bigger room not any cleaner hum still only a king size bed this time, will have to get you a roll out bed please wait. It arrived sleep time. The dish washer was dirty and very smelly. Carpets were very dirty and badly marked. Staff were ok. Will not return.

Room Tip: Great for close to transport, Room needed lots of repairs, could of been cleaned better
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Eric T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Apartments Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2017

Thank you for submitting a review. I have spoken with staff and you were correctly allocated the apartment type you booked however the extra bed was missed by our staff so I'm sorry for that.
Our staff then upgraded you to a larger apartment in our main building.
I hope you will reconsider and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews