We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good this time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Riverside Apartments
Ranked #133 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Stay here because we are always happy with it. This time was different. Climate control had a faulty sticker on it which we were unaware of. The bin had a horrible smell. The TV was unwatchable because of bad reception. And paying $300+ per night this is just not good enough. Told reception and they told me they would be in touch the next day but didn't receive a call. The jets in the spa could use a toothbrush scrub and the shower head needs replacing. The room itself was good and views were great but the rest was so so disappointing.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Moondogg05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Riverside Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Firstly thank you for your review of your recent stay.
My apologies for your expectations not being fulfilled. We do try our best but sometimes things get overlooked. I have spoken with our staff and pointed out your comments.
Once again thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (325)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

230 - 236 of 325 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

The apartment was not clean. When we arrived there was a hairpin from the previous occupant on the bathroom bench and a toothpick on the floor. The tiles in the bathroom and kitchen looked like they only get vacuumed, never washed. Our toilet stank of urine and only got properly cleaned after my second complaint. We watched a cleaner vacuum and it was a quick hit and miss effort and this was after our complaint about the floor not being clean. A glass in the cupboard was covered in dry toothpaste and required a scourer on our part. We had some double glazing in our apartment and it did reduce the noise from the nightclub across the lane so a good night's sleep was not a problem. Two pillows stank of body odour, but there were spares in the unit. The living area in the apartment is quite large. The large walk in wardrobe was great. I have stayed in many Melbourne hotels/apartments and this is the only place that I would not re-book.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Riverside Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Firstly let me apologise for the less than satisfactory cleaning of the apartment. We have spoken to the cleaners concerned and retraining in their job is being undertaken by management.

I'm glad you enjoyed the spaciousness of the apartment and I hope you will allow us the chance to prove your housekeeping experience is not typical of the positive experience enjoyed by the majority of our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I have been to this property numerous times and always I come out happy and contented as its near to my conference venue, provides me all the facilities and helps me conduct my business as if I was working out of my own office. All good eating joints, some key landmarks are at walking distance which makes the stay enjoyable. Highly recommend for family trips and lomg stays

Room Tip: Ask for room facing Crown Casino & Towers, gives great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank singhkjmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Riverside Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you for your returning custom and also for your review. I'm glad to know Best Western Riverside Apartments is in a convenient location for your conferences and that you feel it is a great base for your stays. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The room was a good size and comfortable, however at night it was so noisy I spent most of the night awake. This was mid week, I'd hate to see how bad it would be on a Friday or Saturday night.

The bathroom had not been properly cleaned, with marks all over the top of the vanity.

The remainder of the apartment and complex was reasonable.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
Thank Bellbirdweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Riverside Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Best Western Riverside Apartments. I'm glad you stay was comfortable overall. Next time you stay please ask reception for one of the apartments facing either the city or Highlander laneway.These are quieter apartments and may be more to your liking. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I booked the Annexe, around the corner from reception, where you enter through a dingy door and hallway. Staff were very friendly and accommodating when we dropped gear off early in the morning. Actual check-in at 6pm was a bit weird. No one at reception except an annoyed pizza delivery man and a couple of other people. We waited (and telephoned) for about 15 minutes before someone came to help us. The annexe may have been a little cheaper to stay in, and cheaper it was. Having seen the main building rooms by chance, ours did not compare. Though no serious complaints, the prison folding bed (we asked for a twin room) plonked in the lounge was uncomfortable with springs bulging out, the soap dispensers in the bath were lousy to say the least (not dispensing!). The rug had known better days and the TV was snowy. None of these things mattered to us as it was centrally located, we were exhausted each night and were comatosed the minute our heads hit the pillows. Room for improvement. Again, staff very pleasant and friendly, and checkout a breeze. Our bicycles were locked in the spacious and fairly secure garage for the three days. The zoo and the casino and a 711 store all really close too.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
Thank waltervp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Riverside Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our annex property, The Highlander.
I'm pleased we were able to offer you both a shower on your arrival before your check-in later in the day.
I'm sorry you were kept waiting on your return. Your check-in coincided with an extremely busy time for our reception staff who were assisting other guests at the same time.
Glad to hear you will be back and we look forward to wlcoming you to Best Western Riverside Apartments again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

These apartments are neither riverside nor perhaps the best in the West but they are good and are great value and fairly close to Southern Cross Station. We stayed twice (June and July) and found reception helpful and friendly. The apartment entered from Flinders Lane was somewhat noisy and had no windows in the bedroom - there is a glassed area above the wardrobes. The kitchen is small without an oven but the rest of the apartment quite large and comfortable.
The second apartment was in the main building in Highlander Lane - an upgrade to two bedrooms, it was larger and quieter with a full kitchen and washing machine and drier. The outlook was to an internal area and a little dark but represents great value and we would happily stay there again. We enjoyed walking around the city and rarely used a tram as we like wandering through unfamiliar areas searching for good coffee etc.

Room Tip: The Highlander Lane apartments are probably quieter than those in Flinders Lane.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrubbyJas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Riverside Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for your review of Best Western Riverside Apartments. Thank you also for explaining some of the differences between the two apartment types we have. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Pros: Great CBD location. Decent sized apartment. Fantastic price. Clean and modern enough.
Cons: Poor bed/bedding. Poor TV reception/channel selection. Very basic kitchen (not many cooking utensils, 2 small hotplates, no oven, small/simple microwave). Noise from traffic.

We stayed in an "annex" apartment, so despite the cons we were still very pleased due to the great price. No doubt other rooms would have been of a higher standard.
Found service at reception to be friendly and welcoming. Travelled with our 10mth old son and was pleased to have a cot with bedding setup prior to our arrival at no extra cost.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Riverside Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Best Western Riverside Apartments.
It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay and getting such a great rate is a bonus.

Please contact us again next time you want to stay in Melbourne and we will be pleased to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Metro Apartments on Bank Place
Metro Apartments on Bank Place
#105 of 161 in Melbourne
483 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
#38 of 161 in Melbourne
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#33 of 161 in Melbourne
1,104 reviews
Central Business District
The Great Southern Hotel
The Great Southern Hotel
#134 of 161 in Melbourne
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Riverside Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Riverside Apartments

Address: 474 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#106 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $92 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Riverside Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Year remodeled - 2008/9. Best Western Riverside Serviced Apartments are located in the CBD of Melbourne and offer two types of accommodations. Riverside annex apartments described as the annex rooms when booking are located on the corner of Flinders and Highlander Lane situated on the first, second and third floors, just near our reception in Highlander Lane. All apartments in this building are one bedroom. Both riverside and the annex rooms are conveniently located at the historic and entertainment end of the city, just minutes walk to crown casino, Melbourne exhibition and convention centers, aquarium, Southbank restaurants, observation deck and Etihad Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Riverside Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Riverside Apartments Hotel Melbourne
Best Western Melbourne
Best Western Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing