We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large apartment not the cleanest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Riverside Apartments
Ranked #130 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

The apartment was spacious and contained all the things needed however I just felt it was a bit tired and not so clean. The floorboards in the kitchen had lifted and there were stains on the bathroom vanity overall was a pleasant enough place to stay and a good location

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hmmarx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Riverside Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Best Western Riverside Apartments.
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and found the apartments spacious and well located in the heart of the city. We have an on going renovation progran for our apartments which includes a complete refurbish of our kitchens and bathrooms. While all of the apartments are 4 star rated some are scheduled for an up coming makeover. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Riverside Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

230 - 236 of 314 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed for four nights and had a large apartment with access to all the transport Melbourne had to offer. We were able to see metro trains, trams, and buses passing almost continuously fifteen stories below. Luckily our grandchildren were with us when we spotted helicopters landing on a landing strip on the Yarra (high rollers for the Crown casino just opposite us?). We had a king size bed and weren't aware of the traffic passing through the night as we slept. The staff were excellent and helped us with cheerful alacrity. Minor criticisms of the apartment were that although we were supplied with clean bathtowels, flannels etc on several occasions the old ones weren't taken away and our tea towel was never changed; lighting in the apartment was rather dim. Each night, chimneys outside the Crown Complex shot out huge flames presumably for entertainment. At A$255 a day pretty expensive accommodation but we were quite happy there and would go again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room opposite the Yarra.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank w0lves70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Riverside Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thank you fpr posting your views on your recent stay at Best Western Riverside Apartments.
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and looking forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed here on a Saturday night and couldn't hear anything which was a relief as there is a nightclub entrance right outside the entrance to the apartments. This place certainly isn't 5 star but it was cheap, clean and the staff were excellent. We arrived early and they let us into the room to get ready for a wedding. The apartment was huge and in pretty good condition.
I would happily stay here again.
The car park underneath was pretty tight for a big car but we managed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RiB_1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Riverside Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Glad to hear all went well on the day and that your stay was a comfortable one Hopefully we will see you sooner than later.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The apartment we had is a 2 bedroom apartment of a good size facing the Yarra River and Crown Casino! Melbourne Aquarium is just across the road and Crown Casino is not more than a 10 mins leisure walk. There are some small convenience shops or Asian supermarket nearby but i preferred Coles or Woolsworth which is like 15-20mins walk away (fast walk). Alternatively, you can catch the free city tram to Coles just in front of the apartment (only 2 tram stops away and the tram comes every 15-20 mins). There is a Korean eatery just before
you turn into Highlander Lane that opens from lunch time till 1 or 2am which serves pretty decent Korean food.

Apartment itself is pretty clean and spacious. We enjoyed having clean towels every day. They do provide pots and pans for cooking. If you find them not big enough, you can always call up reception to try to find one for you if they have it in the storeroom. I like the efficiency of the staff especially the Reception. Most requests you made will be attended to almost immediately.

One thing to note about is the carpark. If you are driving a big car, anything bigger than a camry, please highlight to the staff when making the booking as the carpark directly below the hotel cannot really accommodate big vehicles. In addition, there are not more than 10 parking lots directly below the apartment so tried to reserve one asap.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ESim2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Riverside Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Thank you for sharing your comments. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Best Western Riverside Apartments. The apartments are very well located and spacious making for a comfortable family stay. Please come and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Location:
Positive-close to the tram
Negative-nightclub just around the corner and young people still loitering around the streets and lining up for nightclubs at 9am! Very loud.

The room:
Positive-big and spacious.
Negative-smelt like smoke like you wouldn't believe. Must have been entrenched in all the furniture/curtains/carpet in the room. Was so bad we wanted to leave half way through the night because we couldn't even get to sleep. The walk from reception to our room was like walking through an unsafe lane way and then going through a secret side door then into some filthy lifts.

The room rate was $150, but not worth it at all. I stayed on stkilda road last week, same price, was smaller, but so much nicer and had a slight feel of luxury. No luxury at all at this one !!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimbomelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Riverside Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our annex property, The Highlander. I'm sorry the apartment felt smokey to you. We have a strict no smoking policy and would have gladly moved you to another apartment had we known you were uncomfortable.
Please come back again so we can give you a better experience for your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

First, do not drive to the stated address of the hotel (474 Flanders Street). We took our car into the carpark at that address, and found that it was not the hotel lot. We had to back ourselves onto Flinders St. (hairy experience!) and search for the hotel reception. We parked on a side street and finally found the reception office - on Highlander Lane, a narrow one-way street off Flinders. Had to block traffic, briefly, while registering. Better adfvance information could be provided to registered guests

Secondly, do not assume that a 5 night stay in a 16th floor apartment will give you a room with a great view- something other reviewers have noted as a plus for the hotel. Our apartment (1624) had a near-claustrophobic view of the flat side of another building. We unpacked without checking the view, and wished we had insisted upon a view.

The wifi did not work in our room (and in the rooms of some other guests, as we discovered in the lobby.) There is free internet access in the lobby, a bit inconvenient when you're 16 floors up! Staff person Karen spent considerable time trying to rectify the situation - rebooting the system, etc., but to no avail. We did appreciate her efforts.

On the positive side, secure parking was easy and, at $25 a night, reasonable for the area.

The location is great - close to Etihad Stadium, and right on a tram stop which includes the free City Circle tram which will take you close to just about everywhere in downtown Melbourne.

Coles supermarket/Liquorland are 4 blocks away and on a tram stop.

Our room was clean, well-equipped and well-maintained. Just a pity about the view and the wifi!

Room Tip: Make sure you formally request a view room, if you want one.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stamperbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Riverside Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Best Western Riverside Apartments. I'm pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay and I'm equally pleased to say guest wifi access has been comletely overhalled, so no more access problems.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We were impressed by the friendly staff here and what a terrific central location, we were able to walk everywhere though the tram and train services were so handy and easy to use we did the Melbourne tourist "thing" with ease.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Riverside Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you for your comments. I agree, Best Western Riverside Apartments is very centrally located and getting around Melbourne is very easy. Either get a tram at the door or take an 8 minute walk to either Southern Cross or Flinders Street stations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
#30 of 160 in Melbourne
191 reviews
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#33 of 160 in Melbourne
1,091 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Metro Apartments on Bank Place
Metro Apartments on Bank Place
#112 of 160 in Melbourne
443 reviews
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne
Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne
#58 of 160 in Melbourne
1,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Riverside Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Riverside Apartments

Address: 474 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#106 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $93 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Riverside Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Year remodeled - 2008/9. Best Western Riverside Serviced Apartments are located in the CBD of Melbourne and offer two types of accommodations. Riverside annex apartments described as the annex rooms when booking are located on the corner of Flinders and Highlander Lane situated on the first, second and third floors, just near our reception in Highlander Lane. All apartments in this building are one bedroom. Both riverside and the annex rooms are conveniently located at the historic and entertainment end of the city, just minutes walk to crown casino, Melbourne exhibition and convention centers, aquarium, Southbank restaurants, observation deck and Etihad Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Riverside Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Riverside Apartments Hotel Melbourne
Best Western Melbourne
Best Western Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing