We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (372)
Filter reviews
372 results
Traveler rating
80
145
70
35
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
80
145
70
35
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main building crown casino great location tram stop huge apartment flinders street yarra river full kitchen double glazing one bedroom apartment a bit tired washer and dryer south bank beds were comfortable free trams early check etihad stadium
Filter
Updating list...
303 - 308 of 372 reviews
Reviewed December 21, 2012

This place is a little gem with the personal touch. The ladies at the front desk were always very friendly and a great help when my elderly mother and I came to Melbourne for a Christmas shopping trip.
The apartment was clean and modern with everything we needed.
When we left Mum forgot her reading glasses and camera and the manager called me to let us know they had been handed in by housekeeping and she would post them to us.
Definitely will recommend to my friends for a short city break

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Super987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Apartments Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Best Western Riverside Apartments.
I'm pleased to hear you and your mother both enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

The lift broke down and it was very noisy! What else can I say. If you were looking for a great place to stay in the Melbourne CBD this probably isn't it. The staff were really friendly, one redeeming feature I guess!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ricthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Apartments Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2012

Thank you for your review. Our apologies for the lift break down during your recent stay with us.
I'm pleased to say the lift is receiving a complete overhall in the new year. This will increase the convenience and comfort of our guests and make your stay in the future more enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

designer dress stolen from my room enough said. If you are in the annex its really noisy. Staff were nice enough until I tried to find out what happened to my dress. Cant recommend this place, after I rang to try and enquire about my dress the manager got very angry that I accussed her staff but it went from the locked room.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
Thank dougy766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Apartments Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2012

Thank you for your review. The dress you mention was not recalled by any of our staff. Reception was first advised of it missing after you and your friend had checked out. Our staff did a thorough check of the apartment but unfortunately the dress was not to be found. When you requested going back to the room to check for yourself you were given immediate access to the apartment but again the dress was not to be found. When our staff were accused of stealing the dress our manager advised you to go to the police and welcomed further investigation.
Our cleaning staff work in pairs and rarely have time alone. Hopefully your dress will be found at some stage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Ten of us stayed here (our book club!) in 2 rooms and it was ideal for us. We paid about $365 a night per suite. One suite had 2 bedrooms with king beds, a full kitchen, dining table and lounge area with TV. Upstairs in the suite was a loft with 2 more single beds and a lounge area (with TV). There was a washer/dryer in the bathroom. The other suite had 2 bedrooms (with 2 singles in each) and they popped a rollaway in the lounge. It had no loft, but a spectacular view. The hotel is the top 3 floors of a building, and while it doesn't have amenities such as a gym or restaurant, it looked and felt like a hotel and we were very happy with the accommodation and service. Despite being "serviced apartments", our bedding, towels etc were changed every day.

The location is very convenient--a few blocks down from Flinders Stn, right at Flinders St. The lobby area was small but comfortable with plenty of seating and a free internet station. Rooms didn't have free WiFi, but I picked up a 1Gb data SIM from a nearby 7-11 for $12, so that was a better deal than paying hotel WiFi.

Room Tip: Ask if you want a view--one of our 17th floor rooms looked only onto blank walls.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryMargaretNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Apartments Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at Best Western Riverside Apartments. We hope to see you all again soon on your next visit to Melbourne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Confirmed a week before that KS bed request was confirmed, replied all organised. Checked in for 6 days with 194cm husband to find a QS bed, not a great start! This was mentioned, all we received was a vacant look. Our room was not made up the first day, I phoned to get it done and they said staff had gone home and nothing they could do! Did a load of washing and put it into the dryer, checked an hour later and still sopping wet! Rang to report broken dryer and to get our clothes dried, they were taken away for drying and we were told they dryer had been repaired. Only 3 towels left in room, no bath mat, hand towel or flannel, had to ask for these the next day, only an extra towel was left. Shampoo dispenser broken reported that 3 times, never fixed, had to go and buy shampoo! Did another load of washing, put it in the dryer and it had not been fixed, rang again. Our wet clothes had to be taken away for drying AGAIN! The clothes airer was also broken, another one was eventually bought to the room. 2 screaming children checked in to the apartment next door, their TV was so loud we could hear the program they had on and they cried all night. Sound proofing non existent! The staff could not have cared less, including the manager, what sort of establishment is this?? Return...never!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toowelltravelled64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Apartments Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review Best Western Riverside Apartments.
The overwhelming number of reviews from guests staying with us are positive and we appreciate the time our guests take to tell others about their stay. Unfortunately despite the efforts of our staff we cannot please all guests.
The problematic dryer was checked by a number of our staff including our repair man and manager and was working each time when checked. I understand your frustration believing staff did not solve the problem but as it turned out the dryer had a periodic electrical fault. Our manager personally apologised and your clothes were immediately taken to a different dryer then folded and placed back in your apartment. A letter of apology and a complimentary bottle of wine accompanied the folded clothes.
Once again we are sorry your stay was not memorable for the right reasons.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews