We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments
Ranked #13 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Short stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The apartments are excellent. Spacious and clean. Very quiet and relaxing. Sensational Chinese across the street. Laundry facilities were useful. Great kitchen. Coles around the corner. Cleaning staff very efficient and friendly.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aaust3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear aaust3,
We are glad that you enjoyed your short stay at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments, as well as the apartment's facilities and the property's close proximity to restaurants and the supermarket. We would love to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    167
    22
    5
    4
See reviews for
95
215
25
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Thank you for the yummy chocolates and card for my Birthday - it was a lovely surprise and much appreciated.

We stayed in the Signature Suite - a stunning 5 rooms (kitchen/dining, lounge, study, bedroom, ensuite) with a comfy king size bed. All tastefully decorated.

It was lovely and quiet for a place in the centre of Melbourne’s CBD.

The Signature Suite has a deep bath (big enough for two) to relax in, the bathroom extras are lovely, although it would have been nice to dim the lights while relaxing in the bath and bathrobes to wear when you get out.

Our hire car was looked after well, and promptly bought up whenever we needed it.

Wish we could have stayed longer.........

Room Tip: The Signature Suite - very quiet, large deep bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mamely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Mamely,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments. We are glad you appreciated the birthday card and chocolates, together with the stunning, and tastefully decorated accommodation. We would love to welcome you back soon for a longer stay perhaps.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
178 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

The Sebel at Flinders is simply amazing. The suite had everything we needed, fully equipped kitchenette, super comfy beds, etc. Guest laundry on the 7th floor, and a lounge with free espressos while reading the morning papers, completed the stay. The location is superb, trams, trains, cafes, all within a short walk.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TADoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear TADoc,
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments, and thank you for taking the time to post your review. We would love to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New delhi, India
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Flinders lane is very centrally located and we could walk to many of the attractions of Melbourne. Bourke Street shopping area, south bank of the Yarra river with many restaurants, museums, opera/theater and the Botanical gardens are all nearby. But the street is very narrow and one cannot see any sunlight. The only view is into other office buildings. It is a serviced apartment and not a hotel the suites are well furnished and very comfortable but it has limited services for the residents. There is no housekeeping service and rooms are not cleaned and towels and sheets are changed once in 8 days. Residents have to clean the garbage, do their own washing at the common laundrette and have to ask for a vacuum cleaner if they want to clean up the crumbs that fall on the carpet because of kitchen activities. The air conditioner in the living area was not working properly and could not be fixed by the staff, who did not have the technical competence. A serviced apartment that charges so much is expected to provide such basic housekeeping services.

Room Tip: If someone is paying this type of tariff, he should stay at a property overlooking the Yarra river a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Abjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Abjee,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments. We are pleased that you enjoyed the property's location and the well furnished apartment. Our apologies for the inconvenience regarding the faulty air conditioner. We would love to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My husband and I have just had a holiday in Melbourne and stayed at the Sebel Apartments in Flinders Lane. What an amazing location. We were close to everything....shops, restaurants, transport, theatre and more. We have stayed there before when it was the Mercure and thought what a great location then. The apartment had everything, was quiet and the bed very comfortable. We went up to the Novotel one morning for breakfast as there was no restaurant. We will stay there again.

Room Tip: We were on the sixth floor and our room was facing Flinders Lane. It was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina1152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Christina1152,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments. We always enjoy welcoming back previous guests and glad you continue to enjoy the property and the amazing location. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment recently when we visited Melbourne for a milestone Wedding Anniversary. The apartments are in great location for walking to everything Melbourne has to offer. They are in excellent condition with quality fittings and extremely large. The bathroom with a freestanding bath and huge shower was great to come to after a day of walking. We had an apartment on the 8th floor to the rear of the building with a courtyard outlook. It was very quiet and made for a fabulous nights sleep. When making our booking through Accor we had indicated it was our 40th Wedding Anniversary celebration, but at no time did reception or management acknowledge the special weekend - the difference between 'very good' and 'excellent' service.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Sheryn M,
Congratulations on your 40th Wedding Anniversary! We apologise for the oversight on not acknowledging your special occasion at the time of your stay. We are pleased however, that you enjoyed the property's apartment, together with it's central location and thank you for taking the time to post your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

In April this year we stayed in a fully self contained executive suite with 2 adults and 2 children. The apartment was amazing, had everything we needed, roomy with an excellent location. Short walk to shops, restaurants, trams, train station, Southbank and many other places. Room was quiet and beds comfortable. I would highly recommend this for anyone wanting to stay in a fully self contained apartment in Melbourne, don't think you could find one much nicer.

Room Tip: Room with a window was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Belinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Belinda B,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments. We are pleased you enjoyed the fully self contained apartment and enjoyed many nearby attractions. We would love to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 4,609 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,368 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#9 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#19 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,323 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments

Property: The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments
Address: 321 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#37 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#41 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane was completely refurbished in September 2011, when it celebrated its 90th anniversary. The refurbishment design philosophy drew inspiration from the early "fashion house" days with a view of creating an expression of sophisticated elegance, through an individual design concept that would remain unique to The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane. The result has turned this "all suite" apartment building into a market leading boutique hotel. Presented is a contemporary range of sophisticated one bedroom suites that infuse modern design philosophies with the architectural and historical heritage of the building. Archival Melbourne scenes are displayed in the black and white artwork that adorn the corridors, evolving into a celebration of Melbourne's modern icons throughout the suites. With the retention of the original detailed cornice and architraves, blended with contemporary designer furniture and fittings and modern state of the art appliances, the change is exceptional. The sophisticated colour palette is the key design element, from charcoal European bathroom tiles, contrasted by the white, chrome and glass designer fixtures to the use of dark veneers, stainless steel, leather and stone throughout the design.New Guest Features include The Courtyard which is a European inspired inner city escape that provides guests with an intimate courtyard garden to share a drink with friends or to simply relax and escape the hustle and bustle of the city. While the days of fashion are well in the past at 321 Flinders Lane, those looking for a fashion experience will not be disappointed with The Sebel Melbourne's Flinders Lane location. Ideally located between Elizabeth and Queen Street, it is in close proximity to Melbourne's shopping, and entertainment district with the added benefit of having Melbourne's famous cafe culture and the iconic Flinders Street Station right around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Flinders Lane Apartments Hotel Melbourne
Mercure Hotel Melbourne
Accor Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing