We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Grand Mecure Melbourne” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments
Ranked #18 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    160
    22
    5
    4
See reviews for
95
204
24
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Luxurious and very quiet apartment located in the Centre of Melbourne! Extremely well appointed Kitchen, lounge and Bed room. One of the biggest elevator button in the world. Walking distance from the best of Melbourne.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Ferick197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Ferick197, Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Melbourne Flinders Lane. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

A great little hotel right in the heart of Melbourne. A short walk to the train station, buses and frames. A perfect place to rest after a day of sightseeing.
The staff were very friendly and accommodating, especially when one of our party was taken ill and they cheerfully offered extra linen etc

Room Tip: The room are all first class. No views but sound proof to traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank serendipityrotorua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. We are delighted to hear that our staff helped you out under the unfortunate circumstances of on of your party being ill. We hope that all is well with them now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Wow... This Apartment style hotel is amazing! Lobby is beautiful, rooms are gorgeous. We stayed for 1 week in a 1 bedroom and studio, on the courtyard side (not flinders lane side). When I walked in to the rooms I couldn't believe how stunning they were- it was all renovated last year and they have done a really great job!
The staff were very friendly and helpful, particularly Emma from the front desk who went above and beyond on multiple occasions. Not only that but she was happy to have a chat with us- just a very friendly lady! Thanks Emma!
The location was great too, right near a tram stop and flinders station, so you can go pretty much anywhere conveniently!
The rooms arent serviced daily, but you can choose to have them cleaned for about $40 if you so desire.
The GM also stopped and had a chat with us as we were waiting for our shuttle to the airport.

Overall a very memorable experience, and I certainly endeavour to return!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling-around-oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Travelling-around-oz, Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Flinders Lane. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. It makes all the hard work put into a refurbishment all the more worthwhile when we receive feedback like this from the guests. Again, we thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you back again the next time you are in Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Great facility for the rich and famous! Luxury living in a very central area of Melbourne. Easy parking for your car with a valet service which works well.
A very pleasant place to stay and the kitchen facilities are very good..
Pleasant lounge with gas flame fire where you can entertain guests after having dinner in Flinders Lane.
The bar, coffee bar and lounge area a great facility which would be expected for your fee.
A no hassle easy access pleasant staff facility and priced very well, particularly if sharing with friends.

Room Tip: Get the two room apartment if you are sharing with friends as the fold out bed is for very short peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Rod T,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Flinders Lane Melbourne. WE are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in particular the recently refurbished lounge area. So good to hear of it being used to entertain your guests, which was our exact intention.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
256 reviews
226 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 564 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This was our first trip to beautiful and laid back Melbourne. After a 7 hours flight, we took the Sky Bus to the Southern Cross station and arrived some 20 minutes later - easy & nice. But we had made the mistake of walking another 15-20 minutes from the station to the Hotel. Should have taken a cab instead ...so, be forewarned.

Arrived at the Grand Mercure but its entrance is somewhat small and nondescript. We had to double check and look again before realizing it is indeed the hotel that we have booked. Booked an Executive Suite and was allocated one on the highest floor, room 1007. The apartment at 58sqm was overly huge for two persons, maybe perfect for 3 or even 4 persons.

The entrance way was the kitchen and huge dinning table. Then the sitting area with very nice L-shaped leather sofa and facing directly the sitting area is the bed room, separated by un-lockable folding doors. The bathroom has a huge shower cubicle, no tubs. Lots of storage space, too.
Kitchen has everything to cook meals, so only buy your own cooking oil.

And as with the Meriton Apartments in Sydney, there was no bathrobes nor slippers here, normal for Australian apartments I guess. Since this was our first Australian hotel for this trip, we had to walk bare footed on the bed room's and sitting area's carpets, feels a little uneasy I must admit. Luckily, the dinning and kitchen areas are all tiled.

Location wise, this must be one of the BEST located apartments in Melbourne - 3 minutes walk to Flinder's station, also 3-5 minutes to The Block Arcade, Royal Arcade - very nice old shopping lanes! 5-7 minutes to the Immigration Museum and 9-10 minutes to Chinatown. A big supermarket is on the next road, Elizabeth Street, convenient and great!

Right opposite the Hotel are two Chinese eateries, tried the 'Bao Hao Chi' meaning Guaranteed nice to eat, its dumplings are quite a steal and reasonable in pricing, too. Avoid its skewered lamb sticks, though. After a two nights stay here, we even walked a few minutes to the Langham to celebrate my BIG birthday.

Overall, we thought this is a good place to stay while in Melbourne, new and classy, not too cheap nor too expensive, just about right. However, the Grand Mercure only offers free 30 minutes WI-fi in its lobby areas each day. We had made the mistake of using two hand phones and an Ipad in the room and incurred Aud$68 of Wi-fi charges over a 3 day period - our fault!

Later, while at the Langham, did we realize that they, too, do not provide free Wi-fi in their rooms. But their 24 hours surcharge is only Aud$4.95 each day, maybe the Grand Mercure could look up for the same service provider for the Langham Melbourne and thereby charging their clients, $4.95 each day for Wi-fi? If this could be done, we might be back, if no, we will certainly look else when in Melbourne next time.

Two final small quibbles of staying here - only one bottle of small body wash for two adults for two nights was left in our room, so we had to ask for an extra one from Reception; a strictly enforced 11 am check out time is simply too early when other hotels would only allow us to check in from 12noon or 1pm. Perhaps a 12noon check out time would be more agreeable.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor room facing the courtyard. Very quiet with some views of nearby buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JChua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Jchua,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Flinders Lane Melbourne. We agree -these apartments are in a fantastic location for exploring all that this great city has to offer. We are sorry to read that you were disappointed that there were no bathrobes or slippers, and that there was only one small body wash for the two of you. Our check out time of 1100 is enforced so that we can ensure that all apartments are cleaned to our high standards in time for people checking in after your departure.
We do hope that despite these disappointments you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 4,403 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,332 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#12 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#13 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,149 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers
Crown Towers
#1 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,835 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments

Property: The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments
Address: 321 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#37 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#41 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane was completely refurbished in September 2011, when it celebrated its 90th anniversary. The refurbishment design philosophy drew inspiration from the early "fashion house" days with a view of creating an expression of sophisticated elegance, through an individual design concept that would remain unique to The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane. The result has turned this "all suite" apartment building into a market leading boutique hotel. Presented is a contemporary range of sophisticated one bedroom suites that infuse modern design philosophies with the architectural and historical heritage of the building. Archival Melbourne scenes are displayed in the black and white artwork that adorn the corridors, evolving into a celebration of Melbourne’s modern icons throughout the suites. With the retention of the original detailed cornice and architraves, blended with contemporary designer furniture and fittings and modern state of the art appliances, the change is exceptional. The sophisticated colour palette is the key design element, from charcoal European bathroom tiles, contrasted by the white, chrome and glass designer fixtures to the use of dark veneers, stainless steel, leather and stone throughout the design.New Guest Features include Lounge 321 located on the ground floor of the hotel, which provides guests with complimentary internet access, newspapers, magazines, games, business and entertainment TV channels. The Courtyard is a European inspired inner city escape that provides guests with an intimate courtyard garden to share a drink with friends or to simply relax and escape the hustle and bustle of the city. While the days of fashion are well in the past at 321 Flinders Lane, those looking for a fashion experience will not be disappointed with The Sebel Melbourne’s Flinders Lane location. Ideally located between Elizabeth and Queen Street, it is in close proximity to Melbourne’s shopping, and entertainment district with the added benefit of having Melbourne’s famous cafe culture and the iconic Flinders Street Station right around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Flinders Lane Apartments Hotel Melbourne
Mercure Hotel Melbourne
Accor Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing