We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our home in Melbourne ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane
Ranked #14 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Have just returned from our second stay at this top notch establishment.

We are Accor Premier Vacation Club owners and as such, have stayed at many good properties over recent years both throughout Australia, New Zealand and Europe.

We love it here! Wonderful, warm and helpful staff, a fabulous location - so central to everything AND beautiful decor throughout, together with stunning rooms.

This year we had a courtyard room with both our bedroom and living room opening onto the lovely "Parisian styled" courtyard.

The apartments have a fridge, toaster, microwave and cooktop, decent sized dining room and good crockery and glassware.

Being so well located with Coles and Liquorland just around the corner in Elizabeth Street means it is easy to do a quick grocery and alcohol shop and we usually have breakfast "at home" and even often one evening meal "in".

We invited friends who live in Melbourne to join us in the bar on Friday night. It was very quiet which was to our advantage as we were able to sit back in the sumptious leather couches and enjoy the friendly, service. We even ordered some tapas dishes which come from one of the many local cafes. They were good - and certainly inexpensive..

We will continue to recommend these apartments to anyone looking for quality apartment accommodation.

Despite having other choices available to us in Melbourne - we will return again and again to Grand Mercure Flinders Lane!!

Room Tip: Try to secure a room away from Flinders Lane as it can be a bit noisy on that side of the building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Car0bella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, General Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

"Dear Car0bella,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your second stay at Grand Mercure Melbourne Flinders Lane. It is always great to get feedback from our members, and we are delighted that you are enjoying utilising your points by staying at this fantastic property.

Here at Accor Vacation Club, we place a high degree of importance in keeping our members satisfied. Your feedback is greatly appreciated, as it assists us in the constant monitoring of quality and service.

Again, we would like to thank you and trust that you will continue to enjoy ""a lifetime of great holidays” with Accor Vacation Club.

"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (607)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

469 - 475 of 607 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I stayed in a Superior Flinders Suite for four nights and couldn't be happier. The location was outstanding, the staff helpful, the room spacious, clean, comfortable and beautifully decorated.

I will definitely be staying here again when I'm next in Melbourne.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Camhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2012

Dear Camill,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Melbourne Flinders Lane. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your apartment and the great location.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjljpl
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

I recently stayed here for two nights and I have to say the location is really fantastic, a little tricky to find if you don't know Melbourne very well, but well worth staying here. They've a small bar downstairs but the hotel is surrounded by fabulous bars and restaurants (try Coda, amazing) so you just have to step outside and walk around for everything you need. Only negative is $30 per day parking, ouch.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank victoriabitter67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 15, 2012

Dear victoriabitter67,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Melbourne Flinders Lane. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your apartment, and of course the great location in Melbourne's CBD. All feedback is extremely important to us as it assists with the constant monitoring of service and quality. Again, thank you for your review, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Unfortunately for myself I didn't have the great experience most ppl did. I wrote a letter in the comments folder but no one cared to get back to me and/or rectify the problem...very concerned about management,or lack their of...
I will begin with a high note and the ONLY reason I have put stars is because the front desk receptionists are top of the quality, friendly, professional...I can go on, they were all a delight and so very helpful.
The room was very black 1 bed basic and modern. I could hear the noise from outside but I was there when football was on so that could not be helped, a lot of drunk people hanging around outside until morning. The pantry was not stocked. Had OPEN packets of biscuits and only coffee. Obviously room service missed that but you don't have room service during your stay so we had to go to Coles. I left a maintenance report outside the door but again, no one cared to rectify.
We were there as Accor had called us and invited us to a presentation. On the morning of the presentation I had a shower using their shampoo and 10 minutes after I had a scary allergic reaction. My hands,knees,face, neck was red and swollen and I had difficulty breathing. We turned off the heater as we thought that might have been the issue due to the room not being properly serviced and maybe it was the dust as I had not eaten anything. I went to reception who said she would call the hospital. My partner mentioned the meeting and said he would zip down to the chemist first. I received a call from Accor and the lady was so rude & cold. Here I was with a severe allergic reaction and she told me I should have been prepared? And that if I do not go to the presentation I will be charged full cost which they stated was $499 a night (we were paying $150)...I had to hang up as I was panicked on several levels and she didn't help my anxiety. My partner came with antihistamines and I took a couple and 10 mins later everything was back to normal and I was just fatigued. We were forced to make our way downstairs to the 'presentation' which consisted of Accor sales people selling time shares...my partner tried to explain on what happened and showed photos but obviously they were just trained in sales and didnt know what to say/do except that they know the rude staff member as she is known for rudeness. i told them then I would not be involved in a company which has staff that are so money hungry they do not care for their consumers but sat through the presentation until we could go to a chemist. What I suffered was not small, it could have been life threatening and the Accor people didn't care and said I should have been prepared?? Anyway I will never stay at any of their hotels.
They are overpriced and the only thing going for them is location. You have bars directly across the road and in the midst of the CBD. All I can say is make sure the room is fully serviced prior your stay and get a high floor to avoid noise. ALSO take note I chose this hotel due to a gym being on premises... Its not and you are charged over $5 to use it next door which my partner did. Again the only good thing about the hotel, receptionist, rang in to see if I was OK which was really nice, I won't forget that in a hurry.

Room Tip: Higher the floor the better, make sure it is serviced prior your stay as they do not service it duri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TerrenceHardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Resolutions Officer - Member Services at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to speak to me last week. I am pleased to hear that you are well. I do hope that our conversation did help to restore some faith in Accor Vacation Club.
Kind regards, Sharon - Resolutions Officer, Accor Vacation Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerrgw
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#2 of 161 in Melbourne
833 reviews
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 161 in Melbourne
1,253 reviews
Central Business District
QT Melbourne
QT Melbourne
#5 of 161 in Melbourne
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#6 of 161 in Melbourne
6,065 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 161 in Melbourne
1,621 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#26 of 161 in Melbourne
8,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane

Address: 321 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#41 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $182 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane was completely refurbished in September 2011, when it celebrated its 90th anniversary. The refurbishment design philosophy drew inspiration from the early "fashion house" days with a view of creating an expression of sophisticated elegance, through an individual design concept that would remain unique to The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane. The result has turned this "all suite" apartment building into a market leading boutique hotel. Presented is a contemporary range of sophisticated one bedroom suites that infuse modern design philosophies with the architectural and historical heritage of the building. Archival Melbourne scenes are displayed in the black and white artwork that adorn the corridors, evolving into a celebration of Melbourne's modern icons throughout the suites. With the retention of the original detailed cornice and architraves, blended with contemporary designer furniture and fittings and modern state of the art appliances, the change is exceptional. The sophisticated colour palette is the key design element, from charcoal European bathroom tiles, contrasted by the white, chrome and glass designer fixtures to the use of dark veneers, stainless steel, leather and stone throughout the design.New Guest Features include The Courtyard which is a European inspired inner city escape that provides guests with an intimate courtyard garden to share a drink with friends or to simply relax and escape the hustle and bustle of the city. While the days of fashion are well in the past at 321 Flinders Lane, those looking for a fashion experience will not be disappointed with The Sebel Melbourne's Flinders Lane location. Ideally located between Elizabeth and Queen Street, it is in close proximity to Melbourne's shopping, and entertainment district with the added benefit of having Melbourne's famous cafe culture and the iconic Flinders Street Station right around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Accorhotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Flinders Lane Apartments Hotel Melbourne
Mercure Hotel Melbourne
Accor Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing