We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane
Ranked #19 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2011

This hotel was right in the heart of Melbourne's lanes and easy to get around from. Staff on the front desk were very helpful and enthusiastic. The rooms were a little tired and the air con seemed difficult to control but thoroughly comfortable for a couple of nights. Oh, there wasn't a hair dryer to be found which was a little annoying!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynds1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2011

Thank you for your comments, We recognised the need for a refurbishment and are pleased to inform you the Grand Mercure Flinders Lane has commenced a $4 million refurbishment We hope you take the opportunity to experience the soon to be fully refurbished Grand Mercure Melbourne Flinders Lane in the near future. (refurbishment completed by 30/08/2011).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (563)
There are newer reviews for The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

501 - 507 of 563 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
balranald
11
Reviewed April 13, 2011

great will stay here again rooms are very roomy not that we were in the room much as we only slept there for one night great location for most sporting avents easy to get to. great room s for familys beds very compfy. would love to a resturant somewere in the building

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Melbourne
12
Reviewed April 10, 2011

Booked online through Accor for up to 4 adults butwhen we arrived we had to pay extra for 2 adults even though the room stated up to 4 adults with price quoted. We were not told about renovations on check in or about breakfast which was at restuarant up the street or could be delivered. This hotel has great rooms but the staff need some training. I would still stay here again. Maybe I just got them on a bad night!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2011

We stayed at the upgraded room as we found the rates were quite reasonable and we were not disappointed.

The hotel location is perfect, just 2mins walk to Flinders station where you can catch the free city circle tram, busses & even trains if you wish to do day trips on your own. The deluxe rooms were very spacious with a fully functional kitchenette, a lounge/TV room and queen size bed. The website said great views but there were no views to be had as the building was surrounded with high-rise building on mostly all sides but this was not really an issue.

There are tons of restaurants nearby plus supermarkets & pharmacy etc plus the staff were mostly very friendly & helpful.

To summarise, if the price is right for you will be very satisfied with this hotel/serviced apartment.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shane1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2011

We stayed 3 nights. I was surprised to be told our room would be serviced after we left. We had to ask for towels, soap and extra toilet paper. This was supplied quickly. However the bins were not emptied until we left. The staff were very polite and dealt with any inquiry.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Campbell E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2011

Thank you for your comments, Grand Mercure Melbourne is an all suite limited service apartment style product, daily services can be arranged at a small fee through reception, however the team at the hotel are at your service should you need any additional amenities. We hope you take the opportunity to experience the soon to be fully refurbished Grand Mercure Melbourne Flinders Lane in the near future. (refurbishment completed by 30/08/2011).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Accor traveler
Perth
11
Reviewed March 29, 2011

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 23, 2011

The location of the hotel could not be better, a very short walk to the tram stop and to Flinders Railway Station. A supermarket is also just around the corner and also plenty of restaurants, you are right in the middle of the shopping areas too!
The hotel is old and grand but parts are in need of an upgrade but saying that very comfortable and the apartment we had was quite spacious. The bathroom needs to be renovated as it had large cracks in the walls, but part of the charm, I guess!
The apartments only get serviced every 3 days so had no new towels although they are available if you ask for them. The only staff we saw were the people on reception, so you get the feeling that the hotel is run with very little "effort".
The biggest disappointment was that if you pay by credit card you are charged an extra 1.5%, although I must admit we were told this on arrival. That would be the main reason we would look at other hotels before staying there again as this should be an expense of running a hotel and be included in the price (people generally do not carry that much cash around in their pockets). I have checked the website since and I cannot see it mentioned, so just be aware!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lind-Fran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2011

Thank you for your feedback, you will be please to know that the hotel is currently undergoing a full refurbishment program of all guest rooms and public areas. The refurbishment program encompasses all aspects of the room including new kitchenettes, bathrooms, living area, bedrooms, and all fixtures, fittings and furniture. The design elements of the room are in keeping with the architectural theme of the building while incorporating sophisticated contemporary elements that provides a unique design not seen in other Melbourne hotels. I hope you take the opportunity to experience the new look all suite Grand Mercure Flinders Lane in the near future. Thank you once again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,614 reviews
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#2 of 160 in Melbourne
1,097 reviews
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#7 of 160 in Melbourne
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 160 in Melbourne
1,542 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#13 of 160 in Melbourne
1,105 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#1 of 160 in Melbourne
2,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane

Address: 321 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#37 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#41 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $166 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane was completely refurbished in September 2011, when it celebrated its 90th anniversary. The refurbishment design philosophy drew inspiration from the early "fashion house" days with a view of creating an expression of sophisticated elegance, through an individual design concept that would remain unique to The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane. The result has turned this "all suite" apartment building into a market leading boutique hotel. Presented is a contemporary range of sophisticated one bedroom suites that infuse modern design philosophies with the architectural and historical heritage of the building. Archival Melbourne scenes are displayed in the black and white artwork that adorn the corridors, evolving into a celebration of Melbourne's modern icons throughout the suites. With the retention of the original detailed cornice and architraves, blended with contemporary designer furniture and fittings and modern state of the art appliances, the change is exceptional. The sophisticated colour palette is the key design element, from charcoal European bathroom tiles, contrasted by the white, chrome and glass designer fixtures to the use of dark veneers, stainless steel, leather and stone throughout the design.New Guest Features include The Courtyard which is a European inspired inner city escape that provides guests with an intimate courtyard garden to share a drink with friends or to simply relax and escape the hustle and bustle of the city. While the days of fashion are well in the past at 321 Flinders Lane, those looking for a fashion experience will not be disappointed with The Sebel Melbourne's Flinders Lane location. Ideally located between Elizabeth and Queen Street, it is in close proximity to Melbourne's shopping, and entertainment district with the added benefit of having Melbourne's famous cafe culture and the iconic Flinders Street Station right around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Flinders Lane Apartments Hotel Melbourne
Mercure Hotel Melbourne
Accor Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing