We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Melbourne
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,818)
Filter reviews
2,819 results
Traveler rating
630
1,002
674
316
197
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
630
1,002
674
316
197
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool great location premier king lonsdale street close to china town small balcony buffet breakfast room service central location business trip car parking would stay again cbd mcg
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 2,819 reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2020

Need for better reception greetings and better working room cards. The staff were nice but need to be more friendly and welcoming to the guests as I had to make the initial greeting after a long trip to melbourne.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank irfan741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgcmelbourne, Hotel Operations Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear irfan741
Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad that you found our staff to be nice and we will certainly pass on your feedback to the team regarding your initial greeting - it is always our aim to be friendly and welcoming! We hope you enjoyed your stay and that we have the chance to welcome you back again soon to the Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne. Kindest regards, Tara Strickland, Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2020

Very disappointed. Not luxury accommodation at all. Over priced. Only good thing was delicious room service food but nothing for children and a little expensive. No change room near pool. Gym equipment old and it smelt .

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rach0062020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgcmelbourne, Hotel Operations Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear rach0062020
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your room service with us and trust that you did find something delicious for your children to eat from our very varied menu options. We pride ourselves on being a 4 star hotel, though we do not proclaim a luxury star rating, we do always aim to provide all our guests with services and facilities that are of the highest standards. We will certainly follow up your feedback regarding the equipment in our fitness centre, though we can assure you that it is still quite recently purchased and of commercial grade quality. We appreciate your feedback and we hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future to the Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne. Kindest regards, Tara Strickland, Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2020

Lovely room and great service on arrival and departure. The staff were extremely friendly and very helpful
Loved the roof top pool. Great spot to relax.
Close to restaurants and shops
The rooms was very spacious and clean, and the bathroom was refurbished and clean.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lewismargaret2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgcmelbourne, Hotel Operations Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear lewismargaret2008
Thank you so much for your 5 star review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon to the Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne! Kindest regards, Tara Strickland, Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2020

This hotel is in a prime position to take in China town and the inner city, as well as the theatre region of Melbourne, only walking distance to a number of parks. I was here because my wife was hospitalized and this hotel was the closet to the hospital in my price range

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rodneys280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgcmelbourne, Hotel Operations Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear rodneys280
Thank you so kindly for your 5 star review! We are very pleased that you chose to stay with us during this time and we wish your wife all the very best. We hope you can return again under more festive circumstances as we would love to welcome you back to the Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne. Kindest regards, Tara Strickland, Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2020 via mobile

This review must be read in line with the the fact that this is an incredibly reasonably priced hotel for the centre of Melbourne, especially one with a pool. However it is still a 4 star hotel.

When we arrived the outside facade was slightly off-putting. The reception area was fine and the reception staff were really good.

Our room was fine, although the balcony was really grim and there was a massive gap under the door. The bed was comfy though and the bathroom was decently appointed.

Another point to note was the house keeping staff were atrocious. Did not clean the room properly ie they did not hoover nor replace the toilet roll, could not fold a towel to save their lives and plonked things down in a haphazard fashion.

The pool area was nice. However there are a total of 7 sun beds for 17 floors of rooms. Ridiculous!

Another really irritating feature was that one of the lifts was out of order so we spent ages over the 3 days waiting for a lift to arrive!

But as I say it is very good value for money.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank RebeccaLuce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgcmelbourne, Hotel Operations Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear RebeccaLuce
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review. We are pleased that you found our hotel to be well priced and well located here in the heart of the Melbourne CBD. It's great to hear that you took advantage of our fantastic roof top pool during your stay and we appreciate your feedback about the sun lounges. We do aim to provide the most comfort for our valued guests and though we would be unable to supply lounges for our entire busy hotel in that one area, we will certainly look into your suggestion of acquiring more beds.

We apologise for the inconvenience of one of our lifts being out of service during your stay - rest assured, our team worked tirelessly to have things up and running as soon as possible and we greatly appreciate your patience. We will certainly be following up your feedback regarding housekeeping services, this is very disappointing to learn and not at all representative of our standards here.

We're happy that you had a good night's sleep in our comfy beds and we hope to be able to welcome you back in the future to the Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne. Kindest regards, Tara Strickland, Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews